DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Get listed

electric trucks11 MIN

2025 Ford F-150 Lightning vs. Rivian R1T: Which Electric Truck Fits Your Needs?

The 2025 Ford F-150 Lightning offers documented 240–320-mile EPA range, a 5.5-foot bed and up to 10,000 pounds of towing with the required package. Rivian R1T figures vary by configuration, so verify the exact build before deciding.

By CarCody Team

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

There is no universal winner. The 2025 Ford F-150 Lightning is the more clearly documented choice for buyers who need a conventional four-door pickup layout, a 5.5-foot bed, worksite power and a published towing ceiling of 10,000 pounds on eligible configurations. The Rivian R1T may suit drivers who prefer choosing among several adventure-oriented configurations and want features such as NACS charging, but its exact range, towing and payload numbers must be verified for the specific truck shown in the current configurator. Your trailer, payload, charging access, route and budget should decide the purchase—not the badge.

What is being compared?

This comparison uses Ford’s detailed specifications for the 2025 F-150 Lightning and Rivian’s current online R1T configuration and comparison tools. They are not guaranteed to be matching model-year or trim comparisons. Ford publishes a complete 2025 battery and range breakdown; Rivian’s live materials expose configuration fields for range, towing, payload, NACS charging and a Rivian Wall Charger, but a stable, complete numerical table for every current R1T configuration is not established here.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Model availability and pricing can change quickly. Check the manufacturer configurators, current inventory and local delivery or dealer terms immediately before placing an order.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

At-a-glance specifications

Decision point 2025 Ford F-150 Lightning Rivian R1T
Body and bed Four-door SuperCrew cab with a 5.5-foot bed. Configuration details must be confirmed for the exact vehicle in the current configurator.
Battery choices documented in the cited 2025 Ford material 98 kWh standard-range, 123 kWh extended-range and 131 kWh configurations. Battery and pack details vary by configuration; a complete current numerical table is not stated in the available official page material.
EPA-estimated range 240 miles (98 kWh), 300 miles (identified 123 kWh configurations) or up to 320 miles (selected 131 kWh configurations). The official pages provide an EPA-range field, but the exact comparable figure depends on the selected configuration and must be checked live.
Maximum published towing figure Up to 10,000 pounds with the available Max Trailer Tow Package on eligible configurations; other versions are rated lower. The official comparison tool includes towing by configuration; verify the exact rating, hitch limit and payload for the vehicle you select.
Charging information Ford publishes Level 2 and DC-fast-charging estimates by battery and describes home-charging choices and its charging network. Current official material identifies NACS charging and a Rivian Wall Charger; charging speed depends on the vehicle, battery, station and charge window.
Worksite power Pro Power Onboard can supply plugs for tools and devices; package and installation requirements apply. Confirm the exact electrical-outlet and accessory equipment on the selected configuration; no equivalent capability is assumed here.
Current price and availability Not stated here; verify live. Not stated here; verify live.

Range: which electric truck goes farther?

What Ford’s numbers actually mean

For the 2025 Lightning, Ford lists three EPA-estimated range outcomes tied to battery and configuration: 240 miles from the 98 kWh standard-range battery, 300 miles from identified 123 kWh extended-range configurations, and up to 320 miles from selected 131 kWh configurations. “Up to” applies only to the configurations that earn that rating; it is not a guarantee for every Lightning.

#1 Best Overall
Jada Toys Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-cast Car, toys for kids and adults, Red (99574)
  • As seen in The Fast & The Furious, Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning has been taken directly from the big screen and brought to you in a 1:24 scale die - cast model.
  • Crafted from durable materials such as 100% die - cast metal and premium rubber tires.
  • Our high - end casting method allows for feature rich details, such As an opening hood, doors , detailed interior, and trunk.
  • This premium die-cast model is a must have for any Fast & Furious collection.

EPA estimates are laboratory-based comparison figures. They do not promise the distance you will cover between charges. Cold temperatures, high speed, headwinds, hills, payload, trailer frontal area, tire choice and frequent acceleration all reduce usable travel distance. A route that is comfortable in mild weather without a trailer may require a charging stop when the truck is loaded or towing.

How to interpret the R1T range display

Rivian’s official configurator and comparison pages expose EPA-range information, but the value changes with configuration. Wheels, tires, battery selection and equipment can affect the rating. Because a single stable current R1T number is not established in the available official material, do not use an unverified figure from an older listing or a different configuration.

Estimate the range you need

  1. Write down the longest distance between reliable charging locations on your usual route.
  2. Add the trailer, passengers, tools and seasonal equipment you normally carry.
  3. Plan a reserve for weather, detours and charger outages rather than treating the EPA number as a target arrival state of charge.
  4. Check the exact truck’s wheel-and-tire option and battery in the live configurator.
  5. For frequent towing, ask the dealer or manufacturer for a route estimate using your trailer’s weight and frontal profile; an unloaded estimate is not a towing promise.

Towing: start with the trailer, not the headline number

Lightning’s 10,000-pound limit is conditional

Ford’s maximum published figure is 10,000 pounds, but it requires the available Max Trailer Tow Package and applies only to eligible 2025 configurations. Ford’s trim information also lists lower ratings for other versions. Therefore, a Lightning without the required package—or a trim outside the eligible set—should not be treated as a 10,000-pound tow vehicle.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The rating is only one part of a safe combination. The truck’s payload rating must cover the trailer’s tongue weight, passengers, tools, cargo and accessories. Hitch limits, axle ratings, tire ratings, trailer-brake requirements and the installed receiver all matter. Read the door-jamb certification label and the exact owner information for the vehicle you are buying.

R1T towing must be matched to the selected configuration

Rivian’s official comparison experience includes towing fields and lets shoppers choose among configurations. It does not establish one universal R1T towing figure. Confirm the rating for the exact battery, motor, wheel and equipment combination, then check the hitch and payload limits separately.

Rank #2
Jada Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-Cast Truck Toys, Color Brush Finish, Collector Vehicle with Opening Features
  • 1:24 scale die-cast truck with authentic graphics from The Racer’s Edge shop
  • Brian’s Ford F-150 SVT Lightning from The Fast and the Furious, recreated with a striking Color Brush Finish
  • Opening doors, hood, and tailgate for detailed play and display
  • Realistic body lines and paint treatment inspired by the original 2001 movie truck
  • A must-have collectible for Fast & Furious fans and die-cast vehicle enthusiasts

Why towing range is a separate question

No EPA number should be presented as a guaranteed towing range. A tall enclosed trailer can create much more aerodynamic drag than its scale weight suggests. Speed, elevation, wind, temperature and road grade compound the effect. Use the vehicle’s trip computer and a conservative charging plan on a real route, and leave enough energy to reach an alternate charger if the first one is occupied or unavailable.

Pre-purchase towing checklist

  • Bring the trailer’s loaded weight, tongue weight and dimensions to the salesperson.
  • Confirm the exact truck’s tow rating, payload, receiver rating and axle limits.
  • Check that the trailer has compatible brakes, lighting and safety equipment.
  • Map charging stops that can accommodate a truck and trailer without requiring a difficult unhooking maneuver.
  • Ask how the selected truck’s charging plan changes in winter or on steep routes.

Truck utility: bed, cab and daily work

Lightning’s familiar pickup layout

Ford specifies a four-door SuperCrew body and a 5.5-foot bed for the 2025 Lightning. That gives shoppers a clear starting point for comparing child seats, rear passengers, bed covers, toolboxes and common cargo. Measure the items you actually haul: a 5.5-foot bed may require a rack, a tailgate-down carry position or a trailer for long materials.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ford also describes Pro Power Onboard for plugging in tools and devices. Treat it as an onboard power feature, not automatically as whole-home backup. The required equipment, installation and transfer arrangements must be confirmed before relying on it during an outage.

R1T configuration and cargo questions

The R1T is offered in multiple configurations, and the official comparison pages organize choices around range, towing, payload and charging. Those choices can materially change the truck’s usefulness. Before comparing it with a Lightning, record the exact bed length, under-bed storage, passenger-seat arrangement, payload and accessory package shown for the vehicle you intend to buy.

Match dimensions to your routine

  • Work materials: Measure lumber, ladders, job boxes and generators rather than assuming a bed will fit them.
  • Passengers: Install the child seats or booster seats you use and check front-seat travel with them in place.
  • Parking: Measure your garage opening, charging-wall location and turning space.
  • Payload: Add every occupant, toolbox, hitch accessory and tongue load to the truck’s payload calculation.
  • Weather protection: Decide whether you need a tonneau cover, rack or enclosed trailer for valuable equipment.

Charging at home and on the road

Can you charge either truck at home?

Home charging is practical only after the electrical installation is assessed. A 48-amp home EV charger is a relevant category for a truck with a suitable onboard charger, but the vehicle’s connector, maximum AC input, circuit capacity, wiring distance, local code and installation location determine what you can actually use. Have a qualified electrician verify the service and breaker requirements before buying equipment.

Rank #3
Sale
1:36 Scale Compatible with 2022 F-150 EV Lightning Platinum Pickup Truck SUV Model Toy Car Metal Diecast Toy Vehicle, Doors Open Light Sound Pull Back, Toys for Boys Kids Gifts Men Collection, Blue
  • [Product Specification] Dimension: L6.5" x W2.3" x H2.2"; Weight: 0.74lb / 335g; Color: blue.
  • [Material] This F-150 Lightning toy truck is made primarily from diecast metal with plastic parts and rubber tires, ensuring durability and making it a robust toy vehicle or a collectible item.
  • [Interactive Functions] Equipped with a pull-back mechanism, opening doors and trunk, as well as light and sound effects, this 1/36 F-150 EV model car offers immersive and engaging fun.
  • [Detailed Design] This F-150 Lightning toy car displays a detailed design that mimics the actual F 150, complete with a rugged bumper, openable doors, realistic tires, and a detailed interior. These elements make the toy car not only fun to play with but also a great display piece.
  • [Perfect for Collectors and Kids] It’s a great addition to any model car collectors or as a gift for kids (Birthday and Christmas Gifts Choice).Whether you’re a dedicated model car collector or looking for a memorable gift for a child, this F-150 diecast model car is always a perfect choice.

Ford’s 2025 technical information provides Level 2 and DC-fast-charging estimates by battery, while Ford’s product material describes home-charging choices. Rivian’s current official pages identify NACS charging and a Rivian Wall Charger. Neither statement alone proves that one truck is faster overall: a fair comparison requires the same battery state of charge, the same charge window, the same station power and comparable ambient conditions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Choose a home setup

  1. Check overnight mileage: If your daily driving is modest, even a lower-power Level 2 installation may replenish the energy used each day.
  2. Inspect the electrical panel: Confirm spare capacity, service size, grounding and the route to the parking space.
  3. Match connector and amperage: Verify the truck’s inlet and the charger’s output; do not assume a plug or adapter supports the full advertised rate.
  4. Set a charging schedule: Time charging for your utility’s lower-rate period where available.
  5. Plan a backup: Identify public fast chargers for travel, outages or an unexpectedly heavy driving day.

Road-trip charging questions

  • Can the station accommodate a long truck and trailer without blocking adjacent spaces?
  • What happens if the charger is occupied, derated or offline?
  • Will a trailer need to be disconnected to reach the plug?
  • Does the route include steep grades, extreme temperatures or long gaps between stations?
  • Does your planned charge stop leave enough energy to reach the next reliable location?

Which truck is better for work?

Choose the Lightning when your work depends on a clearly documented 5.5-foot bed, SuperCrew passenger space, available Pro Power Onboard and a towing plan that can be built around Ford’s published package and configuration requirements. The important word is “built”: the 10,000-pound figure is not available on every trim.

Choose the R1T for work only after documenting the exact configuration’s payload, towing, bed and charging characteristics. Its official tools present multiple configurations, so the right R1T may fit a specialized use better than a generic model-level comparison suggests. Do not approve it for a job fleet from a model name alone; record the VIN-specific or build-specific limits.

For either truck, calculate operating downtime. A vehicle that can carry the load but cannot reach your next charging stop during a shift may be less useful than one with a lower headline capability and a better route fit.

Which truck suits travel and outdoor use?

Travel buyers should prioritize route coverage, charging access and payload over acceleration claims. The Lightning’s documented 240-to-320-mile EPA range spread means battery and trim selection matter. An R1T buyer must likewise compare the live configuration’s EPA range, towing and payload fields rather than relying on a single R1T label.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Matchbox 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning Black, 1:64 Scale Diecast Model
  • Precision-Crafted: Maychbox's 1:64 scale model captures the sleek design of the 2022 Ford F-150 Lightning with meticulous attention to detail.
  • Realistic Replica: Featuring authentic styling cues and a striking black finish, this die-cast model accurately represents the iconic electric pickup truck.
  • Collectible Piece: With a production run of just 28/100 units, this limited-edition model is a must-have for avid collectors and Ford enthusiasts alike.
  • Compact Size: Measuring approximately 3 inches in length, this 1:64 scale model is a perfect desktop display or addition to any collection.
  • Authentic Branding: Officially licensed by Ford, this model showcases the automaker's branding and emblem for an authentic representation.

For camping or remote work, list every load: occupants, coolers, recovery gear, roof equipment, bikes, water and a trailer’s tongue weight. Then check how that total affects payload and how much reserve you need between chargers. A truck that fits the driveway but requires an impractical charging detour is the wrong travel tool.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Price, availability and ownership planning

Current comparable prices and order availability are not established in the information used for this article. Both can vary by configuration, incentives, inventory and region. Check the live manufacturer configurators and local delivery terms immediately before comparing payments.

Build a total-cost worksheet that includes the vehicle price, destination charges, taxes, home electrical work, charger hardware, installation, insurance, tires, registration and any trailer equipment. Ask whether an advertised incentive is regional, income-limited, inventory-specific or temporary. Keep the worksheet tied to the exact battery, wheels, tow package and accessories; changing any of those can change the vehicle’s range, payload or price.

A practical decision framework

Pick the Lightning first when these statements are true

  • You need a documented SuperCrew cab and 5.5-foot bed.
  • Your trailer plan can be satisfied by an eligible configuration with the required Max Trailer Tow Package.
  • You want Pro Power Onboard for tools or devices and will verify its installation requirements.
  • You prefer a published 2025 range table with 240-, 300- and 320-mile EPA estimates tied to specific battery configurations.

Investigate the R1T first when these statements are true

  • You are willing to choose the truck from a live configuration rather than a single model-level specification.
  • NACS charging and the available Rivian Wall Charger fit your home and travel plans.
  • Your use case benefits from the R1T configuration’s combination of range, towing, payload and equipment.
  • You will verify every numerical limit before signing, because the exact current figures are configuration-dependent.

Pause before either purchase when these statements are true

  • You have not weighed the trailer when loaded for its real trip.
  • Your home panel has not been evaluated for Level 2 charging.
  • Your regular route has long charger gaps or no practical truck-and-trailer access.
  • You are comparing a base truck with a heavily equipped truck and treating their range or payload as identical.

Common mistakes and how to avoid them

Using the maximum tow rating as a default

Correct it by checking the trim, tow package and payload label for the exact Lightning, or the exact R1T configuration. Maximum ratings are conditional engineering limits, not a recommendation for every buyer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Planning from EPA range alone

Correct it by adding a reserve for load, weather, speed and terrain, then testing the route with realistic charging stops.

Best Value
Hot Wheels Ford F-150 Lightning Supertruck Diecast Toy Vehicle, Blue, 1:64 Scale, Truckin' Along 5/5, 151/250
  • NEW FOR 2026: Fresh addition to the Hot Wheels lineup, this Ford F-150 Lightning Supertruck is a must-have for collectors and fans
  • 1:64 SCALE DIECAST: Precisely crafted diecast metal construction captures the bold look of the Ford F-150 Lightning Supertruck in miniature detail
  • COLLECTOR SERIES: Part of the Truckin' Along series, numbered 5/5 and 151/250, making it a uniquely numbered piece for any collection
  • STRIKING BLUE FINISH: Features a vibrant blue color deco that highlights the aggressive styling of the F-150 Lightning Supertruck
  • VERSATILE USE: Suitable as a display piece or a fun toy vehicle for imaginative play and racing adventures

Assuming a charger’s advertised amperage equals vehicle charging speed

Correct it by matching the home circuit, charger output, vehicle onboard limit and installation rules. A larger circuit cannot force a vehicle to accept more power than it supports.

Ignoring trailer access at charging stations

Correct it by inspecting station layouts in advance and allowing time to disconnect and reconnect if necessary.

Comparing prices before matching equipment

Correct it by comparing trucks with equivalent battery, wheels, tow hardware, charger equipment and destination costs, using live regional pricing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bottom line for different buyers

For a conventional work pickup with clearly documented 2025 specifications, start with the F-150 Lightning. Its SuperCrew cab, 5.5-foot bed, published battery choices, EPA range spread and conditional 10,000-pound towing maximum make the decision process unusually concrete—as long as you select an eligible configuration and account for payload.

For an R1T purchase, start with the exact build rather than the model name. Rivian’s official tools expose the configuration choices that matter, including range, towing, payload, NACS charging and a Wall Charger, but you must verify the current values and availability for the vehicle you can actually obtain.

The best electric truck is the one that carries your real people and cargo, reaches your real destinations with a reserve, charges where you live and fits the budget shown on today’s build sheet.

Quick Recap

Bestseller No. 1
Jada Toys Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-cast Car, toys for kids and adults, Red (99574)
Jada Toys Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-cast Car, toys for kids and adults, Red (99574)
Crafted from durable materials such as 100% die - cast metal and premium rubber tires.; This premium die-cast model is a must have for any Fast & Furious collection.
$30.08
Bestseller No. 2
Jada Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-Cast Truck Toys, Color Brush Finish, Collector Vehicle with Opening Features
Jada Fast & Furious 1:24 Brian's Ford F-150 SVT Lightning Die-Cast Truck Toys, Color Brush Finish, Collector Vehicle with Opening Features
1:24 scale die-cast truck with authentic graphics from The Racer’s Edge shop; Opening doors, hood, and tailgate for detailed play and display
$40.41

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

electric trucksEV chargingEV towingFord F-150 LightningRivian R1Ttruck buying guide

Read next

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.