For 2026, several hybrid SUVs pair useful fuel economy with enough power for confident everyday driving. The best fit depends on whether you prioritize quick acceleration, maximum MPG, all-wheel drive, or electric-only range. The comparisons below use published 2026 MPG figures where available and separate those ratings from instrumented acceleration tests; the evidence supports a useful shortlist, not a definitive ranking of ten equally tested SUVs.
How to compare fuel economy and performance
Combined MPG ratings describe fuel economy, not acceleration. Horsepower indicates system output on hybrids, while a 0–60 mph time offers a more direct acceleration comparison when the same publication tested both vehicles. Trim and drivetrain matter: the most efficient version may differ from an AWD or higher-output configuration.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
SportRack Vista XL Rear Opening Cargo Box,Black | $399.99 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 |
|
Thule Pulse 2 L Roof Mounted Box, 16 Cubic Ft, Dual-Side Opening | $749.95 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 |
|
Thule Force 3 XL US | $929.95 | Buy on Amazon |
Cars.com’s 2026 hybrid SUV table provides a broad set of combined-MPG figures, but those figures are not all directly comparable with instrumented acceleration tests. Edmunds comparisons republished by the Associated Press provide useful matched tests for the RAV4 and Tucson hybrids in 2025 and the RAV4 and CR-V in 2026.
2026 hybrid SUVs: efficiency figures and what they tell you
Cars.com’s 2026 table reports the following combined fuel economy for the specified configurations. These are MPG ratings, not results from one shared road test.
#1 Best Overall
- 18 cubic foot (510 L) internal cargo capacity
- Made from durable UV-resistant ABS material
- Rear opening for easy access away from traffic
- Tool-free mounting hardware for easy installation and removal
- Includes key and lock to secure contents in the box, and the box to your rack
| 2026 model and configuration | Combined MPG | What to consider |
|---|---|---|
| Kia Niro hybrid | 53 | Highest figure in this table; comparable acceleration-test data is not stated in the cited table. |
| Lexus UX 300h | 44 | Comparable acceleration-test data is not stated in the cited table. |
| Toyota RAV4 Hybrid AWD SE/LE | 43 | Edmunds’ separate 2026 comparison reports up to 44 mpg combined for the RAV4, attributing that figure to Toyota’s estimate; confirm the exact trim and rating for the vehicle you are considering. |
| Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid AWD | 42 | Comparable acceleration-test data is not stated in the cited table. |
| Kia Sportage Hybrid FWD | 42 | FWD rating; do not assume an AWD version has the same economy. |
| Honda CR-V Hybrid FWD | 40 | FWD rating; Edmunds’ separate 2026 comparison reports up to 40 mpg combined for the CR-V, based on its EPA estimate. |
| Lexus NX 350h | 40 | Comparable acceleration-test data is not stated in the cited table. |
| Ford Escape AWD HEV | 39 | AWD hybrid configuration. |
| Mazda CX-50 4WD hybrid | 38 | Cars.com labels this configuration 4WD; comparable acceleration-test data is not stated in the cited table. |
| Hyundai Tucson Hybrid Blue | 38 | Blue trim; other Tucson Hybrid trims have a lower combined rating in the cited 2025 test. |
Source for the table: Cars.com, 2026 hybrid SUV fuel-economy table. The source table’s MPG figures should be checked against the exact drivetrain and trim before purchase.
Hybrids with published acceleration comparisons
2026 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid
Edmunds’ 2026 comparison, republished by the Associated Press, reports a 7.5-second 0–60 mph time for the RAV4 in its test. It cites up to 44 mpg combined as Toyota’s estimate. That combination makes the RAV4 a strong choice for shoppers who want brisk acceleration without giving up high rated economy. The exact MPG depends on configuration, so match the rating to the trim and drivetrain on the window sticker.
2026 Honda CR-V Hybrid
In the same Edmunds comparison, the CR-V took 8 seconds to reach 60 mph, while its EPA estimate was reported as up to 40 mpg combined. Edmunds describes the CR-V as athletic through corners, a handling impression distinct from the acceleration result. Hybrid availability begins at more expensive CR-V trims, while the 2026 RAV4 is hybrid-only; compare the actual purchase price and equipment of the trims you would buy rather than treating the nameplates as equivalent.
2025 Toyota RAV4 Hybrid versus Hyundai Tucson Hybrid
Edmunds’ 2025 comparison offers a direct illustration of the efficiency-performance trade-off. The RAV4 Hybrid makes 219 hp and recorded 7.8 seconds from 0–60 mph. Its combined rating was 39 mpg, or 37 mpg for Woodland. The Tucson Hybrid makes 231 hp and recorded 7.7 seconds. Its Blue trim is rated at 38 mpg combined, while other trims are rated at 35 mpg combined.
Rank #2
- A simple, durable roof box built for commuting, day trips, and weekend escapes
- 450 litres of cargo space and a 75 kg load capacity for luggage, gear, skis and snowboards. Secure, tool-free system with a torque indicator that clicks when safely attached. Confirms closure for added peace of mind. Access your gear easily from either side of the vehicle
- Streamlined shape designed to suit a wide variety of modern vehicles
- Made from hardwearing ASA-ABS plastic that resists sun, scratches, and weather
- Full trunk access with minimal risk of contact with the cargo box, thanks to its forward position on the vehicle roof
On Edmunds’ mixed-route drive, the RAV4 returned 35 mpg and the Tucson 34 mpg. Those are results from that drive, not replacements for the EPA combined ratings. The Tucson’s extra horsepower and one-tenth-second quicker test time came alongside a small efficiency disadvantage in the tested comparison; buyers should also consider their preferred trim and equipment.
Other hybrids on the 2026 efficiency list
The Cars.com table includes the Kia Niro, Lexus UX 300h, Toyota Corolla Cross Hybrid, Kia Sportage Hybrid, Lexus NX 350h, Ford Escape Hybrid, and Mazda CX-50 Hybrid among its efficient options. Its figures identify useful configurations—such as the Sportage Hybrid FWD and Escape AWD HEV—but the cited material does not provide comparable power and acceleration-test results for each one. Their MPG figures can help narrow a shortlist, but do not by themselves establish which is the strongest performer.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Plug-in hybrids: compare electric range and charge-depleted MPG separately
A plug-in hybrid can reduce gasoline use when it is charged regularly and many trips fit within its electric range. Its electric range and its fuel economy after the battery is depleted answer different questions; a driver who rarely charges should not expect the same gasoline savings as a driver who plugs in consistently.
2026 Toyota RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid
Cars.com reports up to 324 hp across 2026 RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid trims. Edmunds’ 2026 comparison reports up to 54 miles of electric range on the main trims and 48 miles for GR Sport, with up to 40 mpg combined after the battery is depleted. Those figures make it important to identify the exact trim: GR Sport has less reported electric range than the main trims.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Rank #3
- Offers durability and maintains a sleek appearance, designed to handle daily use and the demands of active lifestyles
- A quick, secure, and intuitive mounting system that indicates when the cargo box is safely attached with a simple click
- Provides easy access to your cargo from both sides of the vehicle, enhancing convenience and efficiency
- Extensively tested for road safety and durability in the Thule Test Center, ensuring top-notch quality and reliability
- SlideLock system with separate locking and opening functions, automatically locks the lid in place and indicates when the box is closed securely
2026 Hyundai Tucson Plug-in Hybrid
In the same Edmunds comparison, the Tucson Plug-in Hybrid is reported with 32 miles of electric range and 35 mpg combined after battery depletion. Edmunds notes that it offers more rear legroom than the RAV4 Plug-in Hybrid and a comfortable ride. For households that carry rear-seat passengers often, those practical advantages may matter more than the RAV4’s longer reported electric range.
2026 Ford Escape Plug-in Hybrid
Cars.com reports 37 miles of electric range for the 2026 Escape Plug-in Hybrid, which is front-wheel drive only. That makes it a potential fit for buyers who can charge regularly and do not require AWD. The cited material does not provide a comparable acceleration result or charge-depleted MPG figure for this model.
Choose by your driving pattern
- For high rated MPG in a conventional hybrid: start with the configuration-specific Cars.com table, then check power and acceleration evidence for the models that remain on your list.
- For a measured acceleration comparison: the 2026 RAV4 was quicker than the CR-V in Edmunds’ test; in the 2025 comparison, the Tucson was one-tenth of a second quicker than the RAV4.
- For AWD: verify the exact trim. The 2026 table labels the RAV4 SE/LE as AWD and the Escape HEV as AWD; the Sportage figure is specifically for FWD.
- For electric commuting: choose a plug-in only if routine charging is practical, and compare its range with your typical daily distance as well as its battery-depleted MPG.
- For cabin priorities: the cited Tucson Plug-in Hybrid comparison notes more rear legroom and a comfortable ride, while the 2026 CR-V comparison highlights athletic cornering.
Ratings and equipment can vary with trim, drivetrain, and market. Before buying, confirm the exact model year, configuration, and EPA label for the vehicle you plan to drive.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




