DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Will Porsche EVs Have an 800-Mile Range and a 15-Minute Recharge?

The 15-minute Porsche charge claim belongs to a 2015 concept, not a production EV with an 800-mile range. Here are the current model-specific figures and their conditions.
Entry562 Date Time3 min MechanicCarCody Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No Porsche production EV is established as having an 800-mile range or a 15-minute full recharge. The 15-minute figure comes from Porsche’s 2015 Mission E concept announcement, which described more than 500 km of range and about 15 minutes to charge to 80 percent. Porsche’s later production-car figures describe shorter ranges and charging times tied to specific charge intervals and conditions.

Where the 15-minute Porsche claim came from

In 2015, Porsche described the Mission E as a concept with more than 500 km of range and an approximately 15-minute charge to 80 percent. That was a historical concept claim, not a specification for a current production car—and it did not promise 800 miles of range. Porsche AG’s Mission E announcement is the source for that original figure.

It is important to keep the two parts of the headline separate: Porsche’s concept announcement paired a range figure with a partial-charge time. It did not say the car could travel 800 miles or recharge from empty to full in 15 minutes.

What Porsche’s production EV figures say

Porsche’s production-car figures offer a more useful comparison. Range depends on the model and, where stated, its test cycle; charging time refers to a specific battery percentage interval rather than a complete recharge.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Vehicle or source Published range Published charging information
Macan, 2024 announcement Not stated in the cited battery-and-charging details Approximately 21 minutes from 10 to 80 percent under ideal conditions; approximately 100 kWh gross battery capacity and up to 95 kWh usable. Porsche AG, 2024
Taycan, press-kit page Up to 678 km WLTP, depending on body variant and engine Charging power up to 320 kW; the cited range figure does not specify a charge-time interval. Porsche Newsroom
Taycan, 2025 E-Performance feature Nearly 680 km WLTP 18 minutes from 10 to 80 percent under optimal conditions. Porsche Newsroom, 2025
Cayenne Electric, 2026 production announcement More than 600 km; the announcement does not identify a test cycle in the cited figure The announcement reports a 113 kWh gross battery. Porsche Newsroom, 2026
Cayenne Electric, technology information marked 02/2026 Up to 325 km of WLTP-based range added in 10 minutes under stated optimal conditions Up to 400 kW under specified conditions; the range-added figure is not a full-recharge time. Porsche AG, status 02/2026

The Macan’s charging figure and Porsche’s Taycan figures describe charging from 10 to 80 percent, not from empty to full. The Cayenne technology figure instead describes how much WLTP-based range can be added in ten minutes under optimal conditions. Those measurements are not interchangeable.

Why a fast-charging figure is not a full-recharge promise

Charging power is not constant throughout a session. Porsche’s E-Performance guide explains that the rate changes with the battery’s state of charge. Its published peak-power and range-added figures also depend on optimal conditions and compatible high-power DC equipment. Porsche’s E-Performance guide discusses these factors and notes that the Macan can add up to 155 miles in ten minutes under specified optimal DC fast-charging conditions.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
  • Charge interval: A time such as 18 or 21 minutes applies to the stated 10-to-80-percent interval, not a full recharge.
  • Charging station: Reaching a vehicle’s stated maximum charging power requires compatible high-power DC equipment.
  • Conditions: Battery temperature and state of charge affect charging performance; optimal-condition figures should not be read as a guarantee for every session.
  • Range added: Miles or kilometres added in a short stop are estimates tied to the vehicle’s range measure and stated conditions, not a direct measure of charge time to full.

What to expect from home charging

A home charging setup serves a different purpose from the high-power DC charging behind Porsche’s fastest published figures. Porsche’s guide covers the Porsche Mobile Charger and home-charging considerations. The cited home-charging material does not support treating a home charger as a way to achieve a 15-minute recharge or the headline’s alleged 800-mile range. Check the charger’s compatibility with the specific vehicle and market before purchasing or installing equipment.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the headline gets wrong

The 800-mile range claim is not supported by the Porsche figures cited here. The 15-minute number is traceable to a 2015 concept announcement about charging to 80 percent; it is not a current production-car promise of a full recharge. Porsche’s later production information instead gives model-specific range and charging results, with qualifications for test cycle, percentage interval and conditions.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
Sale
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V, UL 2594, ETL & Energy Star
  • UP TO 9X FASTER CHARGING SPEED: The IYILO electric vehicle charging station delivers up to 46 miles of range per hour at 48A (11.5kW) via hardwired installation (60A breaker & licensed electrician required). Current is adjustable in 1A increments from 6A to 48A. Charges up to 9 times faster than a standard Level 1 charger
  • AUTOMATIC CONNECTOR OVERHEAT PROTECTION: Worried about your charging connector overheating? The IYILO J1772 charger connector features a built-in NTC sensor that tracks real-time temperature and shows it in the App. If the connector overheats (above 221°F), the system automatically stops charging to protect your EV from damage
  • UTILITY CHARGING PROGRAM SUPPORT: IYILO is currently joining local utility EV charging programs and has been listed on several official portals, including but not limited to ComEd, PSEG (NJ), PSEG-LI, Seattle City Light, Salt River Project, Portland General Electric, Oregon DOT, and Georgia Power ect. Through these programs, you can take advantage of local policy support and incentives. Moving forward, we will continue expanding our partnerships with major utilities and public agencies.
  • INTELLIGENT APP & SMART CHARGING CONTROL: The IYILO App features a smart, intuitive interface to set Time-of-Use (TOU) rates, track energy usage and cost, and manage multiple user accounts. It supports multiple charging modes, such as Scheduled charging and RFID card, while also offering OTA remote upgrades, ensuring optimal performance and longer lifespan. Note: Supports 2.4GHz WiFi only; 5GHz not supported
  • MULTIPLE CERTIFICATIONS: IYILO’s charging products have undergone rigorous testing and certification by several international professional laboratories, including but not limited to UL 2594 test report, ETL, Energy Star, and CSA. Furthermore, they have been reviewed by multiple influential industry experts and have received overwhelmingly positive acclaim.
Rank #4
Sale
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Level 2 EV Charger
  • WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Rank #3
Upgraded 48 Amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired, 11.5kW J1772 Home Charging
  • Lightning-Fast 48A Level 2 Charging – Get the fast home charging experience with up to 48A / 240V of Level 2 charging power. Delivering up to 46 miles of range per hour—up to 9X faster than a standard Level 1 charger—our level 2 ev charger can recharge many EVs in as little as 5 hours. Simply plug in at night and wake up to a fully charged vehicle, ready for your commute, road trip, or wherever the day takes you!
  • Universal J1772 Compatibility & Professional Installation – Designed as a hardwired solution for maximum 48A Level 2 charging performance, level 2 charger works with all SAE J1772 EVs and plug-in hybrids sold in North America. Tesla vehicles are supported with a J1772-to-NACS adapter (not included). A dedicated 240V / 60A circuit and installation by a licensed electrician are required. Please verify your vehicle's charging connector and home electrical capacity before ordering.
  • Advanced Smart Charging Control – Take full advantage of your 48A charger with adjustable current from 10A to 48A in 1A increments, flexible scheduling, and convenient plug-and-charge operation. Monitor real-time charging data, including voltage, current, power, and energy usage, while tracking charging history and costs through the app. Remotely start or stop charging, check charger status anytime, manage multiple users, and create charging schedules that run seamlessly across midnight.
  • Safety Comes First – Certified to UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No.280 safety standards, and backed by ETL, FCC, and CSA compliance, this ev charger level 2 is engineered for safe and reliable charging. Multiple protection systems help defend against overcurrent, overvoltage, overheating, overcharging, and other electrical faults. The IP65-rated weatherproof enclosure is designed to perform in rain, dust, heat, and other outdoor conditions, giving you peace of mind wherever you charge.
  • Built to Last, Backed by Real Support – Designed for year-round indoor and outdoor use, this j1772 charger delivers reliable performance in rain, snow, heat, and cold. The durable 25ft charging cable provides added flexibility to reach your vehicle with ease, while the rugged charging connector is built to withstand everyday use. Built for years of dependable charging, it is backed by a 3-year warranty and a dedicated 24/7 support team ready to assist whenever you need help.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.