October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

What to Compare When Shopping for an Electric SUV: Range, Charging, Space, and Price

A practical U.S.-market checklist for comparing electric SUVs by the configuration you would actually buy: range, charging conditions, seating, cargo, and full price.
Entry464 Date Time10 min MechanicCarCody Team

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Compare electric SUVs by exact model year, trim, drivetrain, wheel configuration, and seating layout—not by model name alone. For each candidate, check its EPA-estimated range, a conditional 10–80% DC fast-charge time, usable cargo space with the seats arranged as your household needs them, and a written price for that configuration after required fees. Then judge those figures against your daily driving, road trips, passengers, and access to charging.

Which numbers matter when comparing electric SUVs?

A useful comparison is a side-by-side record of the configuration you would actually buy. A model’s advertised maximum range, fastest charging claim, largest cargo figure, or lowest starting price may describe a different version from the one on a dealer’s lot. Trim, drivetrain, wheels, and seating configuration can change what you get, so capture those details before comparing headline figures.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Use the same fields for every candidate. A U.S. Department of Energy Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) table for 2025 vehicles offers a common starting point, with model-level entries for range, charging rates, seats, and base MSRP. It was downloaded May 8, 2026; use it to scan the field, then confirm the exact current model-year configuration with its manufacturer. The table is a screening aid, not a substitute for trim-specific specifications or a purchase quote.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
What to record Why it matters What to verify
Model year, trim, drivetrain, wheels, seating layout These identify the vehicle the other numbers describe. That every figure and the quote match the same configuration.
EPA-estimated range It gives a consistent U.S. estimate for initial comparison. The estimate for the exact trim and drivetrain, not the lineup’s maximum.
10–80% DC fast-charge time It is more useful for comparing a charging stop than peak power alone. Charger output, temperature and other conditions stated with the claim.
Seats and cargo volume by row position Passenger capacity and luggage room depend on how the cabin is configured. Space behind the row you will keep in use, as well as maximum capacity if relevant.
Price for the exact configuration A base MSRP does not tell you the required out-the-door amount. Required fees and options, with incentives shown separately and eligibility checked.
Home and public charging access Charging availability affects whether the vehicle fits your routine. Home electrical suitability and dependable public charging for regular routes.

How much range do you need?

Compare the exact EPA estimate

Start with the EPA-estimated range for the precise trim and drivetrain you are considering. Do not assign a model’s longest-range figure to every version. The 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 5, for example, has different published estimates across trims and drivetrains. The 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 9 is listed with an EPA-estimated range of up to 335 miles, depending on trim; “up to” is a lineup ceiling, not a promise for every IONIQ 9 configuration.

#1 Best Overall
BDTCTK 1:32 Comapatible for X5 SUV Model Car Toy, Zinc Alloy Pull Back Toy car with Sound and Light for Kids Boy Girl Gift(Black)
  • 1.Product dimension: 6.29 * 2.5 * 3 inches, Package weight: 0.48 pounds,Suitable for playing
  • 2. High-Quality Materials and Strong Pull Back: Diecast automobile model, zinc alloy, plastic parts, rubber tires, detailed interior and exterior decoration. Install a strong pull-back device,Place the car on the ground, hold down the car body and pull it back, the model car will drive forward
  • 3. Function: Side doors, hood and tailgate can be opened movably; Then press the two wheels of the front vehicle or open the front door to trigger the sound of engine and lamp
  • 4. Best Gifts Toys: This 1 / 32 toy car is very suitable for children. The paint is fine and feels good. It's very heavy to carry. It is also very suitable for car model lovers as decoration
  • 5. Accessories and collections: This product is very suitable for static accessories and can be used as an accessory next to a computer. For those who are passionate about collecting model car models, this is a great art collection.

For a meaningful comparison, put the trim name and estimate together in your notes. If a listing or summary gives only one model-wide range figure, find the manufacturer’s detail for the configuration in the quote. A figure that cannot be matched to your chosen drivetrain and trim is not enough to rank two candidates confidently.

Match the estimate to your driving pattern

Range is useful only in relation to how and where you drive. Think separately about routine daily distance and the longest regular journey you expect to make. A vehicle that suits ordinary commuting may still require more planning on a road trip; one with a high headline range may not be the best fit if passenger space, cargo layout, charging access, or price is wrong for you.

EPA range is an estimate, not a guarantee of the distance any particular trip will cover. Weather, speed, terrain, vehicle load, and HVAC use can affect actual driving range. The official pages cited here do not establish a consistent independent real-world range comparison across these vehicles, so there is no sound basis in these figures alone for claiming that one will travel farther in matched road conditions.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Use a practical buffer rather than planning to arrive empty

When deciding whether a candidate’s range fits your life, avoid treating the EPA number as distance you can always use between charges. Consider your usual route, likely conditions, and where charging is available along it. The right question is not simply “Which electric SUV has the best range?” but “Does this exact configuration give me enough range for my regular driving and the trips I actually take, with charging options that work for those trips?”

How should you compare charging speed?

Prefer a qualified 10–80% time over a peak-kW headline

For road-trip comparisons, look for a stated DC fast-charge time from 10% to 80% and record the conditions alongside it. A peak charging-power rating by itself does not say how long a typical charging stop will take. The battery’s charge curve, starting state of charge, vehicle trim, battery temperature, and charger output all affect the result.

Rank #2
Sale
1/32 Toy Car, Collectible Pull Back Car Model with Light and Sound (Black)
  • Package size:7.09*3.43*3.55inch,package weight:0.68prounds,outer packing: exquisite color translucent packaging box.
  • Premium Quality & Safety:The Die-cast car model pull back Toy Cars is made of alloy materials, rubber tires, which is high quality and performance, which can be used safely by children.
  • Function: Engine sound and light. Press the two wheels of the front car to trigger the engine sound and lights, and open the door to trigger the lights of the front and rear lights.
  • Ideal gift: Metal car is very suitable as birthday,Christmas gift,party decoration and cake decoration.
  • Interesting pull back car: Put the car on the ground, press and hold the car body, then pull back, it will drive forward. Very funny.

The manufacturer claims available for two 2026 examples illustrate why the conditions belong with the number. Kia says the EV9 can charge from 10% to 80% in as little as 24 minutes on a 350 kW DC charger. Hyundai says the IONIQ 5 takes approximately 20 minutes for the same interval on a 350 kW charger. Hyundai also cautions that actual charging time varies with the current battery charge level, charging-unit output, vehicle and battery settings, battery temperature, and outside temperature. These are conditional manufacturer figures, not guaranteed stop times or a controlled comparison between the two vehicles.

When comparing other candidates, do not treat a missing 10–80% figure as equivalent to a slower or faster charge. Record it as not stated, along with any available charger-power condition, and seek a manufacturer specification for the exact trim. If you have only a peak-kW number, you have a power rating—not a complete time estimate.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Account for charging at home

Home charging can make routine charging convenient, but whether Level 2 charging works at a particular address depends on the home’s electrical setup. Before assuming that a charger can be installed or that a particular charging rate is available, check the circuit and electrical capacity and whether installation is needed. The available figures here do not establish what installation would cost at your home.

If you are considering a Level 2 charger, confirm connector and electrical compatibility before buying equipment. The useful comparison is not just the vehicle’s maximum charging capability: it is also whether the charging equipment and home setup can serve your routine. A vehicle that fits your daily use but cannot be conveniently charged where you park may require a different ownership plan.

For drivers who rely on public charging, assess dependable charging access on regular routes as part of the vehicle decision. A published fast-charge time assumes a suitable charger and relevant conditions; it does not establish that a compatible charger will be available where and when you need it.

Rank #3
Sale
Matchbox Tesla Model Y 1:64 Scale Die-Cast Car, Blue, 3/100
  • Miniature Collectible: Authentic 1:64 scale die-cast model of the Tesla Model Y, a compact electric SUV.
  • Detailed Design: Intricately crafted with opening doors and a removable chassis, showcasing the vehicle's distinct features.
  • Limited Edition: Part of the Matchbox series, numbered 3/100 in the collection.
  • Vibrant Color: Striking blue finish that captures the eye and adds a touch of vibrancy.
  • Compact Size: Measuring approximately 3 inches long, perfect for display or playtime.

How much passenger and cargo space should you compare?

Start with the seats your household needs

First decide how many people you need to carry and which seating configuration you would use. A stated seat count does not by itself tell you whether the cabin fits your passengers or child seats comfortably. The 2026 Hyundai IONIQ 9 is described as seating six or seven, depending on configuration, so the configuration—not just the model name—matters.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Check the actual seating arrangement in person when possible, especially if you regularly use child seats or need a particular row for passengers. The published material here establishes seat counts and selected cargo figures, not a consistent assessment of passenger comfort or child-seat fit across vehicles. Treat those as fit questions to verify in the cabin, rather than conclusions to draw from a specification sheet.

Compare cargo behind the row you will keep occupied

For a three-row SUV, maximum cargo volume can overstate the space available in everyday use. A vehicle may have a generous figure with the rear rows folded while offering much less luggage space with all seats occupied. Compare cargo behind the third row if you expect to carry passengers there, as well as behind the second or first row if those arrangements are relevant to your household.

Kia publishes the 2026 EV9’s cargo volume as 20.2 cubic feet behind the third row, 43.5 cubic feet behind the second row, and 81.7 cubic feet behind the first row. Those separate figures show why it is useful to record capacity by seat position rather than rank vehicles only by their maximum volume. For another candidate, check that the figure refers to the same row arrangement before comparing it.

Think about the objects you carry, not only the volume number. If your routine requires the third row to stay up, the behind-third-row capacity is the figure to inspect first. If you usually fold a row, compare the corresponding configuration. Specifications can narrow the shortlist, but they do not replace checking whether your typical luggage fits in the arrangement you will actually use.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
SAYGOGO SUV Air Mattress Camping Bed Cushion Pillow Inflatable Thickened Car Air Bed Mattress with Electric Air Pump Portable Sleeping Pad for Travel Camping Upgraded Version Black
  • 【FUNCTIONAL AIR MATTRESS】- 3 in 1 use air mattress with 6 air bags. For home(garden, yard, balcony). For SUV car(1. trunk, 2. back seat). For outdoor(camping, travel, beach), functional and convenient.
  • 【6 SEPARATE AIR CHAMBER DESIGN】- This SUV air mattress adopts 6 chambers design, which could improve the stability and could compatible for different model of the car better!
  • 【COMFORTABLE AND DURABLE MATERIAL】- Be made of thicked pvc material, can support 3 large people and no leak comfortable durable and stay inflated.
  • 【EASY TO INFLATE/DEFLATE】- Equipped a car air pump and 3 kinds of Inflate funnels, it takes around 6-10mins to finish inflating and 6-8mins to complete deflating. Easy to use/portable for everyone and there’s an instruction in the package, so you can get it!
  • 【WHAT YOU GET】- 1*Air mattress(inflated:175x130x15cm); 2*Pillow; 1*Long pier; 1*Air pump; 1*Carry bag; 1*Instruction; 1*colorful carton(packaging). And our after sale warranty, any unsatisfy you met please feel free to contact us, we are standing behind our product and will give you a satisfied answer.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What does an electric SUV really cost after fees?

Use starting MSRP only to screen candidates

A base MSRP is a useful starting point, not the final price of the vehicle you will buy. Once you have narrowed the shortlist, compare the same trim and drivetrain and ask for a written quote for that exact configuration. Make sure the quote identifies the vehicle and shows required charges and optional equipment rather than relying on a model’s lowest advertised starting price.

Account for destination and handling charges, options, taxes, title, registration, and dealer pricing. Show any incentives separately, then check eligibility and value at the time of purchase instead of assuming that a displayed incentive applies to you. The available information does not establish current transaction prices or incentives, so a current written, trim-specific quote is necessary to compare actual offers.

Keep uncertain or changing figures visible

Prices, availability, features, and specifications can change. Kia’s 2026 EV9 page states: “Features, specifications, and fees are subject to change.” Recheck the configuration and quote near the time of purchase, and make sure the written price has not silently switched to another trim or added equipment you did not request.

Do not compare one vehicle’s advertised base price with another vehicle’s quoted price after options and fees. Either use base MSRP consistently as an early screen or compare written prices on the same basis. If the quote does not say what is included, ask for the fees and options to be itemized before treating it as a meaningful comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do you make a fair shortlist?

Fill in one row per exact configuration

Use a single worksheet for every candidate. Leave an item marked “not stated” when the available material does not establish it; do not fill a gap with a model-wide maximum or an assumption. A compact worksheet can look like this:

Field Candidate A Candidate B Candidate C
Model year / trim / drivetrain / wheels Record exact configuration Record exact configuration Record exact configuration
Seating configuration Record seats and layout Record seats and layout Record seats and layout
EPA-estimated range Exact configuration Exact configuration Exact configuration
DC charge time, 10–80% Time, charger power, conditions Time, charger power, conditions Time, charger power, conditions
Level 2 / home fit Rate and compatibility to verify Rate and compatibility to verify Rate and compatibility to verify
Cargo volume by row position Record relevant rows Record relevant rows Record relevant rows
Written price Exact configuration, fees, options Exact configuration, fees, options Exact configuration, fees, options
Incentives Separate; verify eligibility Separate; verify eligibility Separate; verify eligibility

Use a repeatable shopping sequence

  1. Define your use. Write down typical daily distance, regular long trips, the number of passengers, which rows must remain in use, and where you can charge.
  2. Choose the exact configurations to check. Note model year, trim, drivetrain, wheel configuration, and seating layout before collecting range, charge-time, cargo, or price figures.
  3. Check U.S. range data. Use the AFDC 2025 vehicle table as a cross-model baseline, then confirm the exact model-year and trim estimate with the manufacturer. Do not carry a maximum range over to other versions.
  4. Record conditional DC charging claims. Look for a 10–80% time, charger output, and any temperature or vehicle-setting assumptions. Keep the qualifications attached to the figure.
  5. Test the space configuration. Compare cargo behind the row you will use and inspect the passenger layout in person, including child-seat fit if that applies to your household.
  6. Check charging access. Confirm that your home electrical setup can support the intended Level 2 arrangement or plan around public charging on your regular routes.
  7. Request comparable written quotes. Ask for the same type of price breakdown for each exact configuration. Separate incentives and confirm your eligibility before counting them.
  8. Decide based on fit, not a single winner metric. Eliminate candidates that do not meet a necessary range, space, charging-access, or price requirement; then weigh the remaining trade-offs against your actual driving.

What the published figures can—and cannot—tell you

The figures in this comparison are U.S.-market references. The AFDC table covers 2025 vehicles and was downloaded May 8, 2026; the cited Kia and Hyundai specifications are manufacturer pages for 2026 vehicles. Vehicle availability, specifications, pricing, and standards differ by market, and manufacturer information may change.

These sources provide a useful framework and selected vehicle examples, but not a consistent independent road test comparing range, charging, interior space, and transaction price across the same set of SUVs. Consequently, they do not establish a single best electric SUV, a real-world range winner under matched conditions, or what a buyer will pay in a particular transaction. Use specifications to screen and structure the comparison, and verify the exact vehicle, fit, charging setup, and written price before deciding.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.