October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

What the 745-Mile Solid-State Battery Claim Means for Toyota’s Future

Toyota's published target for its first all-solid-state BEV battery is about 621 miles, not 745, with commercial use aimed at 2027–28.
Entry596 Date Time5 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No Toyota document cited here states a 745-mile range for a solid-state battery. Toyota’s published target for its first all-solid-state battery electric vehicle (BEV) battery is about 1,000 km, or 621 miles, with commercial use aimed at 2027–28. That is a company target, not a tested vehicle rating, and Toyota has not tied it to a named model.

What Toyota has actually published

Toyota’s clearest statement is its battery roadmap, released by Toyota (GB) on 14 September 2023. It covers several separate battery programs, and only one of them is the all-solid-state BEV battery. The figures attached to each branch are easy to blur together, so the table keeps them apart.

Program (per the 2023 roadmap unless noted) Chemistry Range figure Charging target (10% to 80%) Timing
First all-solid-state BEV battery All-solid-state Target of about 1,000 km (621 miles), with 20% more range than the performance battery. Toyota says the figure includes vehicle-efficiency gains. 10 minutes or less Commercial use aimed at 2027/28
Higher-spec solid-state battery All-solid-state Under research, targeting 50% more cruising range than the performance battery. No final vehicle range published. Not stated Not stated
High-performance lithium-ion battery Liquid-electrolyte lithium-ion Above 1,000 km (621 miles) when combined with better aerodynamics and reduced weight 20 minutes or less Market introduction in 2027/28
Next-generation performance battery at PPES (Toyota METI announcement, 6 September 2024) Not stated Not stated Not stated Gradual production from 2026, 9 GWh/year

The last row is included only to show that a separate Toyota battery has a stated production date and volume. Those figures do not apply to the solid-state battery.

Where the 745-mile figure does not fit

Toyota’s documents do not say how 745 miles was derived, and the cited sources do not identify where the figure first appeared. One piece of arithmetic may explain the confusion. 745 miles is about 20% more than 621 miles (621 × 1.2 ≈ 745). Toyota’s 20% figure, however, compares the first solid-state battery with the performance battery. It is not a multiplier applied to the 621-mile target. The coincidence is a plausible route for a headline error, but it is not confirmation of any 745-mile specification.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
TORRAS MiniMag Pro iPhone 18 Pro Max Portable Charger Power Bank, 10000mAh
  • Semi-Solid-State Battery for Safer Travel Power: Semi-solid-state battery design helps deliver safer, more stable charging in hot, cold, and everyday travel conditions. This portable charger power bank is built for road trips, flights, camping, commuting, and daily carry when reliable backup power matters.
  • 10,000mAh Power Bank, Slim Enough for Every Day: Get 10,000mAh power in an ultra-slim 0.57-inch body that weighs only 6.9 oz. This small portable charger slips easily into a pocket, purse, backpack, or carry-on, giving you dependable power without the bulky brick feel.
  • 15W Wireless + 30W USB-C Fast Charging: Snap on for up to 15W magnetic wireless charging, or plug in for up to 30W USB-C fast charging when you need power fast. A flexible magnetic portable charger and power bank for iPhone 16, 15, 14, 13, and 12 series.
  • Built for Flights, Hotels, Road Trips, and Long Days Out: TSA-friendly capacity makes this battery pack charger portable for air travel, vacations, theme parks, work trips, and power outages. Pass-through charging lets you charge your phone and power bank together overnight with one USB-C cable.
  • Smart Display, Low-Current Mode & TORRASCare Support: The digital display shows remaining battery at a glance before you head out. Low-current mode supports earbuds, AirPods, and other small devices, while 18-month TORRASCare support gives you added confidence for daily use and travel.

What the range target includes

Toyota’s footnote says the 1,000 km target includes vehicle-efficiency improvements such as better aerodynamics and reduced weight. The 621-mile figure is therefore a vehicle-level estimate, not a measure of battery capacity alone. A different body design or weight target would move the number, which makes it unsafe to compare directly with a battery-only figure from another manufacturer.

The higher-spec solid-state entry works differently. Toyota gives it only as a relative goal of 50% more cruising range than the performance battery. Converting that into miles would require a baseline and a vehicle configuration that Toyota has not published, so any mileage for that version is an invention.

The charging target

Toyota’s aim for the first solid-state battery is 10 minutes or less to charge from 10% to 80% state of charge. That is a target stated in the 2023 roadmap. The cited sources do not show it demonstrated in a production car, and they do not specify the charger power or test conditions behind it. Until Toyota publishes a vehicle with measured charging figures, treat it as a design goal.

What Toyota has said about timing

Toyota has held to the same launch window across several disclosures. The most recent of them cited here is from October 2025, and none of the sources names a retail model, a price, or a delivery date.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
SolidSafe BMX 10K Semi-Solid MagSafe Magnetic Power Bank, 10000mAh (Blue)
  • SEMI-SOLID-STATE SAFETY, BUILT FOR TRAVEL: Semi-solid-state cells hold a fraction of the flammable liquid in ordinary lithium-ion and resist thermal failure. In internal testing, the cells were puncture, cut and drill tested with no fire. The aluminum housing is highly thermally conductive, helping draw heat away from the cells and dissipate it during charging. Under 100Wh, it's airline carry-on ready.
  • ALL-DAY POWER, STILL POCKETABLE: A full 10,000mAh gives a typical iPhone roughly 1.5 to 2 charges - plenty for long travel days, events and back-to-back workdays without chasing an outlet. The dense semi-solid state design (a paired 5,000mAh + 5,000mAh layout) keeps the pack slim enough to slip into a jacket pocket or bag. The built-in lanyard doubles as a USB-C cable, so a charging cord is always attached - nothing extra to pack or lose.
  • QI2-CERTIFIED 15W MAGNETIC CHARGING: A strong, precisely aligned magnet snaps onto iPhone 17, 16, 15, 14, 13 and 12 with precise alignment and a strong hold, so you can keep using your phone while it charges. As a Qi2-certified, MagSafe-compatible charger, the magnetic connection keeps the charger aligned while you scroll, text, or move.
  • DUAL USB-C, UP TO 30W OUTPUT: Two USB-C ports let you charge several devices at once and deliver up to 30W of fast wired power for phones, earbuds and tablets. The same port also refills the 10K itself quickly, so it's ready for the next day. (Large tablets and laptops draw more and may only charge partially.)
  • FULL-COLOR LCD DISPLAY: A crisp color screen shows exact battery percentage plus live input and output wattage, so you always know how much power is left and how fast each device is charging - no blinking LEDs to decode. It stays easy to read at a glance, whether you're commuting, at an event, on a shoot or working late.
  1. 14 September 2023, battery roadmap. Toyota stated: “The aim is for the batteries to be ready for commercial use by 2027/28.”
  2. 12 October 2023, Idemitsu cooperation. Toyota and Idemitsu Kosan announced work toward mass production of sulfide solid-electrolyte batteries. Koji Sato, Toyota’s President and CEO, said: “First, between 2027 and 2028, we will start to produce solid-state batteries for use in battery electric vehicles.”
  3. 6 September 2024, METI certification. The Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry certified Toyota’s battery development and production plan. It lists all-solid-state batteries under Toyota R&D and production, with the 2026 start date applying to the separate performance battery.
  4. 2025, Integrated Report. Toyota’s report continues to describe the 2027–28 commercialization target alongside ongoing product and mass-production work.
  5. 8 October 2025, Sumitomo Metal Mining cathode work. Toyota and Sumitomo Metal Mining announced joint development of cathode materials. The joint announcement states: “Toyota is aiming for a market launch of BEVs with all-solid-state batteries in 2027-28.”

All of these are company statements about targets. None shows that a production line for the solid-state battery is running.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What still has to work

A cell that meets the roadmap figures is only one part of a production car. Toyota’s own disclosures point to three problems that remain in development.

Cracking at the electrolyte interface

Toyota’s October 2023 announcement explains that repeated charging and discharging can create cracks at interfaces and degrade performance. The companies say their work includes a flexible, adhesive, crack-resistant electrolyte. That is a description of development work, not an independently validated result.

Cathode durability and cost

In the October 2025 Sumitomo Metal Mining announcement, the companies describe cathode durability during repeated charge and discharge cycles as a challenge. They say further work will address performance, quality, safety, and mass-production cost. Cost is named as an open item, so no price or cost target should be read into the 2027–28 window.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
SolidSafe BMX Air Semi-Solid Power Bank, 5000mAh Qi2 (Silver)
  • WORLD'S THINNEST SEMI-SOLID-STATE 5,000MAH: At just 6.8mm at its thinnest point, the Air is the slimmest semi-solid-state Qi2 power bank you can buy — the semi-solid-state design supports this slim form factor while helping the cells stay stable and reducing fire risk. It sits flush against your iPhone and slips into a pocket, slim bag or clutch. TechRadar Pro CES 2026 Picks Award Winner.
  • SEMI-SOLID-STATE SAFETY, BUILT FOR TRAVEL: Unlike conventional lithium-ion banks with a flammable liquid electrolyte, SolidSafe Air's semi-solid-state cells sharply cut the liquid component — lowering risk at the cell level and staying stable under heat, stress and impact. It's not a circuit-only fix but a fundamental change in chemistry. At 18.5Wh, it's airline carry-on ready.
  • 15W QI2 MAGNETIC + 20W USB-C: Qi2-certified, MagSafe-compatible magnetic charging snaps onto iPhone 17, 16, 15, 14, 13 and 12 with precise, secure alignment, while the USB-C port delivers up to 20W when you're in a hurry. The 5,000mAh cell gives a modern iPhone roughly one full top-up, and you can charge wired and wireless at the same time.
  • TITANIUM SHELL, BUILT TO LAST: A titanium-reinforced shell resists dents and drops, and titanium's high thermal conductivity helps draw heat away from the cells and dissipate it at the surface during charging. It's premium protection that keeps the Air tough and travel-ready in a remarkably slim form.
  • CCC CERTIFIED FOR TRAVEL: CCC certified for battery compliance and travel in China, with FCC, CE and UKCA listings for other regions. Built-in circuit safeguards cover overcharge, over-discharge, overcurrent and short circuits. Magnetic charging suits MagSafe iPhones or a thin compatible case; for Pixel and other Android phones, use a magnetic case or the 20W USB-C port.

Scaling the supply chain

Toyota and Idemitsu describe pilot-facility preparation and a mass-production demonstration as steps toward the 2027–28 target. The sources do not give a production volume for the solid-state battery. The 9 GWh/year figure belongs to the separate performance battery and should not be used as a proxy.

What this means for Toyota’s future

Toyota is not betting its battery plans on one chemistry. The roadmap runs liquid-electrolyte lithium-ion programs for performance and mass-market use alongside the solid-state branch. The solid-state battery matters because its targets combine higher range with faster charging, which would address two common EV complaints at once. But it is the least certain branch on the roadmap. Its launch depends on sulfide electrolyte, cathode and manufacturing work that the companies still describe as ongoing.

The practical reading is that Toyota’s published commitment is a 2027–28 launch window for BEVs with all-solid-state batteries, with a target of about 621 miles and a 10-minute 10–80% charge. A 745-mile production Toyota is not established, and nothing in Toyota’s documents supports a range claim beyond the 1,000 km target until a vehicle is rated under published conditions.

How to check future range headlines

  • Confirm whether the figure is for the all-solid-state battery or another chemistry, and whether it is a target or a measured result.
  • Check whether the number is battery-only or includes vehicle-efficiency gains.
  • Trace the figure to Toyota’s own newsroom or a named vehicle announcement.
  • Look for a model name, a delivery date, and a test or rating method before treating a range as a production specification.

Toyota’s roadmap is at media.toyota.co.uk, and the company’s newsroom announcements on the Idemitsu cooperation and Sumitomo Metal Mining cathode work are the primary sources for the development claims above. Toyota’s 2025 Integrated Report carries the continuing 2027–28 target, and the METI certification announcement covers the separate performance battery plan.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.