Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Toyota bZ4X or Subaru Solterra? 10 Key Differences for 2025

The 2025 Toyota bZ4X wins on FWD value, maximum range, and behind-seat cargo space. The 2025 Subaru Solterra wins with standard AWD, 8.3 inches of clearance, X-MODE, and more cargo room with the seats folded.
Entry098 Date Time13 min MechanicCarCody Team

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For the 2025 Toyota bZ4X or Subaru Solterra, choose the bZ4X for a lower FWD starting price, higher maximum EPA range, and more cargo space behind the rear seats; choose the Solterra for standard all-wheel drive, 8.3 inches of ground clearance, X-MODE, and more maximum cargo room with the seats folded.

The model year is essential: Toyota renamed the 2026 bZ4X successor bZ, while the 2026 Toyota bZ and Subaru Solterra add native NACS charging and significant range and charging updates. This comparison keeps 2025 specifications separate from the 2026 revisions.

Key takeaways

  • The 2025 Toyota bZ4X offers FWD or AWD, while the 2025 Subaru Solterra includes standard all-wheel drive.
  • According to Toyota (2024), the 2025 bZ4X reaches 252 miles of EPA-estimated range in XLE FWD form; Subaru (2025) lists up to 227 miles for the AWD Solterra.
  • The Solterra has 8.3 inches of ground clearance and standard X-MODE, making it the stronger choice for snow, gravel, and uneven access roads.
  • According to Toyota (2024), the bZ4X has 27.7 cubic feet behind the second row; Subaru (2025) lists 63.5 cubic feet with the Solterra rear seats folded.
  • 2025 bZ4X and Solterra vehicles use the older CCS1 charging arrangement and need an adapter for Tesla Supercharger access; native NACS arrives with the 2026 revisions.
  • Toyota renamed the 2026 bZ4X successor bZ, so a current new-car search should distinguish 2025 bZ4X inventory from 2026 bZ inventory.

What is the difference between the 2025 Toyota bZ4X and Subaru Solterra?

The Toyota bZ4X and Subaru Solterra are closely related electric SUVs with nearly identical published exterior dimensions and cabin measurements, but their priorities differ. Toyota gives buyers a lower-priced FWD version and more maximum range, while Subaru makes AWD, 8.3 inches of clearance, and X-MODE standard. Neither is a dedicated off-road vehicle.

The model year matters before comparing listings. The 2025 Toyota is officially called bZ4X, but Toyota renamed its substantially updated 2026 successor bZ. Subaru continues to use the Solterra name for 2026, and both 2026 vehicles gain native NACS charging and major range and charging updates. The 2025 specifications below should not be mixed with 2026 trim names or equipment; see the 2026 update near the end.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
VEVOR 4-Wheel Enclosed Mobility Scooter for Seniors Adults, 660lbs Capacity, 3-Seater 2000W Electric Recreational Mobility Scooter 45 Miles Long Range, Remote Unlock, All-Terrain for Touring Shopping
  • All-Weather Protection: With electric windows, a sunroof, rear windows, and a built-in heater system — this VEVOR 4-wheel fully enclosed mobility scooter keeps you comfy, rain or shine. Integrated with a reverse camera, dual rearview mirrors, LCD dashboard, radio, and Bluetooth, every ride is smoother and more enjoyable
  • All-Terrain Smooth Ride: Powered by a 2000W brushless DC motor, this enclosed mobility scooter reaches a top speed of 15 mph and conquers slopes up to 15°. 60V 58Ah high-capacity battery powers up to 45 miles trips per charge, perfect for daily commutes, shopping, and short-distance travel
  • Comprehensive Safety Protection: Front and rear disc brakes plus a parking handbrake for responsive and stable stopping. Seat belts, reinforced steel safety bars, windshield wiper, defogger, and a complete lighting system ensure all-around protection on every journey
  • Comfort on Every Journey: Elevate your ride with remote unlocking, one-touch start, and an anti-theft alarm. With a 63.8-inch wheelbase, 4.7-inch ground clearance, and a 23 ft max braking distance at top speed, plus slow start and automatic downhill speed reduction for maximum safety
  • Roomy for Family & Friends: Spacious double-row leather seats comfortably accommodate up to 3 seaters. Measuring 90.6" x 43.3" x 65" and supporting up to 660 lbs, this electric enclosed mobility vehicle delivers a stable and comfortable riding experience for family or friends

1. Which vehicle has the clearer model-year identity?

The 2025 Toyota is the bZ4X, and the 2026 Toyota successor is the bZ; the 2025 and 2026 Subaru vehicles are both called Solterra. A used 2025 dealer listing that says bZ4X is using the correct name, while a new Toyota listing that says bZ may refer to the redesigned 2026 model.

Toyota announced the 2025 Nightshade grade in its 2025 bZ4X model release, while the later 2026 Toyota bZ announcement establishes the name change and the newer vehicle’s updates. Searchers comparing dealer inventory should confirm the model year from the vehicle identification number, window sticker, or official listing rather than relying on the shortened name alone.

2. Is the bZ4X cheaper than the Solterra?

The bZ4X is the lower-cost entry because Toyota offers a front-wheel-drive version; Subaru makes AWD standard on every 2025 Solterra. This is therefore a drivetrain comparison as much as a price comparison, not a simple equivalent-trim price contest.

2025 U.S. starting-price and drivetrain comparison
Vehicle or grade Starting MSRP Drivetrain Best interpretation
2025 Toyota bZ4X XLE FWD Toyota (2024): $37,070 FWD Lowest-cost route into the comparison
2025 Toyota bZ4X XLE AWD Toyota (2024): $39,150 AWD Closer mechanical comparison with the Solterra
2025 Toyota bZ4X Limited FWD Toyota (2024): $41,800 FWD Higher equipment with the range-oriented drivetrain
2025 Toyota bZ4X Nightshade Not specified in the cited dossier AWD only Appearance-focused grade with standard AWD
2025 Subaru Solterra Not specified in the cited dossier Standard AWD Every vehicle includes Subaru’s AWD hardware and capability features

Toyota lists the 2025 bZ4X XLE FWD from $37,070, XLE AWD from $39,150, and Limited FWD from $41,800 in its official release. Local destination charges, dealer pricing, incentives, taxes, and state programs can change the amount a buyer actually pays. Subaru’s advantage is that the standard equipment does not require stepping up from a base FWD version to an AWD model.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

3. Which has better range, the bZ4X or Solterra?

The bZ4X has the higher maximum 2025 range, but the advantage belongs to the FWD configuration. According to Toyota (2024), the 2025 bZ4X XLE FWD is EPA-estimated at 252 miles; according to Subaru (2025), the Solterra reaches up to 227 miles with standard AWD.

Published 2025 range figures
Configuration Published range What the figure means
Toyota bZ4X XLE FWD Toyota (2024): 252 miles Highest maximum range in this comparison
Toyota bZ4X XLE AWD Toyota (2024): 228 miles Only one mile above the Solterra’s published maximum
Toyota bZ4X Limited FWD Toyota (2024): 236 miles FWD remains the range-oriented choice
Toyota bZ4X Limited or Nightshade AWD Toyota (2024): 222 miles Lower published range than the FWD versions
Subaru Solterra Subaru (2025): up to 227 miles One AWD configuration family rather than a lower-range FWD alternative

The useful comparison depends on the drivetrain a buyer would actually choose. The bZ4X XLE FWD has a 25-mile maximum advantage over the Solterra, but the bZ4X XLE AWD is only one mile higher on the cited specifications. Weather, speed, temperature, terrain, passengers, cargo, and climate-control use can reduce real-world range, so EPA estimates should be used for planning rather than treated as a guaranteed trip distance.

4. Is the Solterra better in snow and on rough roads?

The Solterra is the better fit for buyers who regularly encounter snow, gravel, uneven access roads, or light-duty forest-road approaches because AWD is standard and Subaru lists 8.3 inches of ground clearance and dual-function X-MODE with Grip Control. X-MODE settings address conditions including snow, dirt, deep snow, and mud.

The bZ4X offers AWD on selected grades, so a bZ4X AWD is not limited to dry pavement. Toyota’s advantage is choice: a buyer can select FWD for lower cost and higher range or AWD for additional traction. Subaru’s advantage is that the capability-oriented hardware and software are part of the standard Solterra formula, rather than an option-dependent decision.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Neither vehicle should be described as a dedicated off-road SUV. Clearance and traction can help on light-duty routes, but tires, weather, road condition, driver judgment, and the vehicle’s limits still matter. For ordinary winter commuting, compare the specific tires and AWD configuration rather than assuming the badge alone determines performance.

Rank #2
Sale
Segway Ninebot S2 Electric Self-Balancing Scooter, UL Certified
  • Speed & Range: Experience exhilarating rides with the Ninebot S2's impressive top speed of 11.2 mph and range of 21.7 miles.
  • Beginner-Friendly: Perfect for riders aged 16-50, the Segway S2 features a user-friendly learning mode, providing a smooth and gradual introduction.
  • Adjustable & Supportive: Enjoy a customized fit tailored to your needs, as the Segway S2 accommodates heights ranging from 4'3" to 6'6" and supports weights of up to 220 lbs, ensuring comfort and stability for every rider.
  • Hill Conqueror: Conquer inclines with confidence as the Segway S2 effortlessly navigates 15° slopes.
  • Efficient Charging: Featuring a Smart Battery Management System (BMS) and a high-capacity 335 Wh battery that fully charges in just 4.5 hours.

5. How do 2025 bZ4X and Solterra charging compare?

The 2025 Solterra has the more clearly stated DC-fast-charging specification, while Toyota’s cited 2025 material provides a home Level 2 charging estimate rather than a directly comparable DC charging test. Subaru lists a 35-minute 10%–80% DC fast-charge time under its stated conditions and a 6.6-kW onboard AC charger. Toyota says the bZ4X can charge from the low-battery warning to full in about 9.5 hours on a 240-volt Level 2 source.

2025 charging information in the cited manufacturer material
Charging question Toyota bZ4X Subaru Solterra
Home AC reference Toyota (2024): about 9.5 hours from low-battery warning to full on 240-volt Level 2 Subaru (2025): 6.6-kW onboard AC charger
DC fast-charge reference No directly matched 2025 figure in the cited Toyota material Subaru (2025): 35 minutes from 10% to 80% under stated conditions
Factory connector generation CCS1 for 2025 Pre-native-NACS generation for 2025
Road-trip implication Plan around CCS1 or an approved adapter Plan around the pre-native-NACS setup and compatible charging locations

The manufacturer figures are not measured under perfectly matched conditions, so the dossier does not establish a definitive 2025 DC charging-speed winner. Both vehicles can support road trips, but route planning and charger availability matter more than a single unpaired time. A 240-volt home circuit and an appropriate Level 2 charger can make routine charging more convenient than depending on public fast charging.

Toyota identifies ChargePoint Home Flex as an available home-charging option for bZ4X customers and Qmerit as an installation resource. A buyer considering a ChargePoint Home Flex should confirm current product, installation, electrical-panel, and partner-program details before purchase; the vehicle comparison does not establish that every home can support the installation without additional electrical work.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

6. Can the 2025 bZ4X or Solterra use Tesla Superchargers?

The 2025 bZ4X and Solterra do not have the native NACS port used by the 2026 revisions, so buyers should plan on an adapter and verify charging-network approval. Toyota’s current charging guidance states that “2023-2025 bZ4X require the use of a charging adapter to charge using a Tesla Supercharger,” according to Toyota USA’s charging guidance.

Toyota later announced complimentary NACS adapters through Toyota dealers for 2023–2025 bZ4X owners. Adapter distribution, eligibility, and network access are separate questions, however. A used-car buyer should ask whether the adapter is included, whether the vehicle qualifies for the relevant access program, and whether the adapter is the manufacturer-supplied or otherwise approved unit.

The 2025 Solterra is also part of the pre-native-NACS generation. Subaru’s 2026 Solterra brochure describes the all-new NACS port and expanded charging access as 2026 equipment, so a 2025 Solterra listing should not be assumed to include that port.

When shopping for a CCS1-to-NACS adapter for the bZ4X or Solterra, verify the vehicle model year, connector type, manufacturer or network compatibility, safety certification, and return policy. A generic adapter listing should not be treated as automatically approved for high-power DC charging.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

7. Which has more cargo space, the bZ4X or Solterra?

The bZ4X has more published cargo space behind the second row, while the Solterra has more published maximum cargo space when the rear seats are folded. According to Toyota (2024), the bZ4X provides 27.7 cubic feet behind the second row and 56.9 cubic feet with the rear seats folded; Subaru lists 23.8 cubic feet behind the rear seats and 63.5 cubic feet with the seatback lowered.

Published 2025 cargo figures
Loading condition Toyota bZ4X Subaru Solterra Practical advantage
Behind the second row Toyota (2024): 27.7 cu. ft. Subaru (2025): 23.8 cu. ft. bZ4X for groceries, strollers, and normal five-seat use
Rear seats folded Toyota (2024): 56.9 cu. ft. Subaru (2025): 63.5 cu. ft. Solterra for bulky gear with the rear seats down

Neither number should be treated as an absolute packaging victory because manufacturers can use different cargo-measurement methods. The decision is straightforward for the common use cases: the bZ4X’s larger behind-seat figure favors regular family loading, while the Solterra’s larger folded-seat figure favors occasional hauling of long or bulky equipment.

Rank #3
Winado 12V Licensed Mercedes Benz AMG GTR Kids Ride on Electric Car, Black
  • 2 Modes of Operation: There are two ways to operate the 12V electric stroller, which can be operated by the child himself by manipulating the steering wheel and foot pedal. If the child can not drive, the parents can control the direction and speed by remote control
  • 3-Speed & Smooth Start: The remote control provides 3-speed adjustment and manual operation provides 2-speed adjustment to ensure the safety of children, while equipped with a smooth start design to ensure the safety of your kids. The maximum speed can reach 3Mph
  • Realistic Experience: The power wheel car comes with bright headlights and realistic taillights that look like real models, built-in music, voltage display, USB and AUX connectors, volume control, TF card slot and speakers, along with a widened seat and adjustable seat belt design to ensure a safe and comfortable experience for children
  • Rechargeable & Durable: The battery type is 12V, the time required for charging is 8-12 hours, and it can run for 1-2 hours when fully charged, suitable for both indoor and outdoor use
  • Age and Weight Capacity: This children's car has a maximum weight capacity of 55Lbs, suitable for children from 3 to 5 years old, with excellent reliability of use

Subaru’s official features page makes the maximum figure explicit: “The 2025 Subaru Solterra electric all-wheel drive vehicle gives you up to 63.5 cubic feet of cargo space.” The quoted figure applies to the rear-seat-lowered configuration, not to the normal five-seat cargo area.

8. Are the bZ4X and Solterra the same size inside and outside?

The 2025 bZ4X and Solterra have nearly identical published exterior dimensions and matching published front and rear legroom, which is why the vehicles feel like close relatives rather than unrelated competitors.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Published 2025 dimensions
Measurement Toyota bZ4X Subaru Solterra
Overall length Toyota (2024): 184.6 in. Subaru (2025): 184.6 in.
Overall width Toyota (2024): 73.2 in. Subaru (2025): 73.2 in.
Overall height Toyota (2024): 65.0 in. Subaru (2025): 65.0 in.
Wheelbase Toyota (2024): 112.2 in. Subaru (2025): 112.2 in.
Front legroom Toyota (2024): 42.1 in. Subaru (2025): 42.1 in.
Rear legroom Toyota (2024): 35.3 in. Subaru (2025): 35.3 in.

The cited Toyota dimensions appear in the 2025 bZ4X newsroom specifications, while Subaru’s measurements appear in its 2025 Solterra brochure. The meaningful differences are therefore drivetrain packaging, standard equipment, styling, software, charging access, and brand-specific ownership benefits—not basic footprint or published legroom.

9. How do the 2025 trims and features differ?

Toyota organizes the 2025 bZ4X around XLE, Limited, and Nightshade grades, while Subaru emphasizes standard AWD, EyeSight driver assistance, X-MODE, roof-rail utility, and adventure-oriented trim packaging. Buyers should compare equipment line by line because the two brands use different trim strategies.

Important 2025 equipment distinctions
Area Toyota bZ4X Subaru Solterra What to prioritize
Trim lineup XLE, Limited, and Nightshade Solterra trim range built around standard AWD Compare actual equipment rather than grade names
Drivetrain availability XLE and Limited offer FWD or AWD; Nightshade is AWD-only AWD is standard Choose bZ4X FWD for cost/range or Subaru for standard traction hardware
Appearance Nightshade adds black styling elements Adventure-oriented exterior and roof-rail packaging depending on trim Personal styling and carrying needs
Driver assistance Limited adds standard Traffic Jam Assist, Lane Change Assist, and Front Cross Traffic Alert Subaru EyeSight suite Check the exact window sticker for included functions
Interior utility Trim-dependent equipment StarTex upholstery availability depends on trim Compare the specific vehicle, not only the model name

Toyota describes the Nightshade as a styling-focused addition; Toyota USA Newsroom said, “The 2025 bZ4X also adds a Nightshade grade to the lineup.” Nightshade is not the range leader because the grade is AWD-only. Subaru’s value proposition is more consistent across the lineup because every 2025 Solterra includes AWD and X-MODE, although upholstery and other comfort features remain trim-dependent.

10. Which has the better warranty and ownership package?

Toyota and Subaru both provide an eight-year/100,000-mile battery and electric-drive warranty in the cited 2025 materials, but Toyota adds ToyotaCare scheduled maintenance and a documented EVgo benefit for qualifying new purchases or leases.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
2025 warranty and ownership items
Item Toyota bZ4X Subaru Solterra
Battery and electric-drive coverage Toyota (2024): 8 years or 100,000 miles Subaru (2025): 8 years or 100,000 miles
New-vehicle warranty Not summarized in the cited dossier beyond EV-component coverage Subaru (2025): 3 years or 36,000 miles
Powertrain warranty Not summarized in the cited dossier Subaru (2025): 5 years or 60,000 miles
Scheduled maintenance ToyotaCare: 2 years or 25,000 miles Not specified in the cited dossier
Roadside assistance Not specified in the cited dossier Subaru (2025): 3 years or 36,000 miles
Charging promotion One year of complimentary EVgo charging for qualifying new 2025 purchases or leases Not specified in the cited dossier

Toyota documents the bZ4X’s EV-component warranty, ToyotaCare maintenance, and qualifying-new-buyer EVgo promotion in its 2025 bZ4X announcement. The EVgo offer is not automatically a used-car benefit: eligibility can depend on purchase or lease status, offer terms, dealer processing, and the model year. Confirm current terms before assigning monetary value to the promotion.

Subaru’s warranty, battery, electric-drive-unit, and roadside-assistance figures come from the 2025 Solterra brochure. Warranty coverage can have exclusions, transfer conditions, and regional details, so a used buyer should review the original in-service date and the applicable warranty booklet.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is the Toyota bZ4X better than the Subaru Solterra?

The 2025 bZ4X is better for a buyer who values the lowest entry price, maximum range, or more everyday cargo space behind the second row. The bZ4X XLE FWD is the key version for that buyer; choosing AWD narrows the range difference substantially.

Rank #4
Gotrax A5 12" Electric Scooter with Seat for Adults & Teens, 15.5-Mi Range
  • 【Excellent 550w Peak Motor】Gotrax A5 electric scooter powered by a 550W peak motor, this scooter hits 15.5 mph with ease. serves up 16 miles of juice—perfect for adults or teens crushing daily commutes, school runs. (NOTE: Actual range may vary based on rider weight and weather conditions.)
  • 【Smooth and Comfortable Ride】Featuring a comfortable seat, 12-inch air-filled tires, wide 9-inch pedals, and an efficient dual suspension, it effectively absorbs road bumps for a smooth ride, reducing fatigue on journeys.
  • 【Comprehensive Safety Guarantee】The dual-drum braking system is lightning-fast—hitting the brakes stops you on a dime, no matter the speed. The bright headlight and rear brake light provide all-around protection for nighttime riding. This seated escooter has passed UL2272 Certified, please feel free to ride it.
  • 【Suitable for Daily Commuting】Its foldable handlebar ensures easy carrying and storage. The rear basket handles 40+ lbs, and the handlebar hook holds 11 lbs of essentials (think coffee, shopping bags, or a gym bag). Whether you’re dashing to work, hitting the store, or running errands, this scooter’s got the cargo versatility to keep up with your real life.
  • 【Total Newb Approved】No tech skills needed here! The handlebar throttle is plug-and-play—just twist and go, easy for up to 13+ year olds. The LED display shows the power level in real time. With 90% pre-assembly and clear instructions plus tools included, just a few simple steps remain for final assembly.

The 2025 Solterra is better for a buyer who wants AWD without selecting an option package, drives regularly in snow, values 8.3 inches of ground clearance and X-MODE, or carries bulky equipment with the rear seats folded. The Solterra’s advantage is capability-oriented standard equipment, not a dramatically different cabin footprint.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Which 2025 vehicle fits each priority?
Buyer priority Better match Reason
Lowest listed starting price bZ4X XLE FWD Toyota lists a $37,070 starting MSRP
Highest maximum range bZ4X XLE FWD Toyota lists 252 miles, versus Subaru’s 227-mile maximum
Standard AWD Solterra Every 2025 Solterra includes AWD
Snow and uneven access roads Solterra Standard AWD, 8.3-inch clearance, and X-MODE
Normal cargo behind the second row bZ4X 27.7 published cubic feet versus 23.8 for Solterra
Maximum cargo with seats folded Solterra 63.5 published cubic feet versus 56.9 for bZ4X
Native NACS charging Neither 2025 model Native NACS arrives with the 2026 revisions

What should you check before buying a used 2025 bZ4X or Solterra?

A used-vehicle shopper should verify the exact model year, trim, drivetrain, charging equipment, and remaining warranty instead of applying the best number from the model range to every listing.

  1. Confirm the year and name. A 2025 Toyota should be identified as bZ4X. A 2026 Toyota may be identified as bZ and has different charging and range specifications.
  2. Confirm the drivetrain. A bZ4X can be FWD or AWD, while a Solterra is AWD. The bZ4X’s 252-mile maximum applies to XLE FWD, not every bZ4X.
  3. Check charging hardware. A 2025 vehicle should not be assumed to have a native NACS port. Ask whether an approved adapter is included and confirm its compatibility with the intended charging network.
  4. Verify remaining coverage. Use the original in-service date and mileage to estimate remaining battery, electric-drive, vehicle, powertrain, and roadside coverage under the applicable warranty terms.
  5. Do not count the EVgo promotion automatically. Toyota’s one-year complimentary EVgo benefit is tied to qualifying new 2025 bZ4X purchases or leases and should not be promised with a used vehicle.
  6. Match cargo measurements to your use. Test the stroller, sports equipment, pet crate, or other item that matters because behind-seat and folded-seat figures favor different vehicles.
  7. Inspect the actual tires and equipment. Winter traction depends on tires and condition as well as AWD, ground clearance, and drive-mode software.

What changed for the 2026 Toyota bZ and Subaru Solterra?

The 2026 Toyota bZ and 2026 Subaru Solterra are substantially updated vehicles, so a 2026 shopper should not use the 2025 comparison as if the specifications carried over unchanged.

2025 versus 2026 model-year distinction
Model year Toyota Subaru Charging and range warning
2025 bZ4X; up to 252 miles in XLE FWD; CCS1 factory setup Solterra; up to 227 miles; pre-native-NACS generation Use 2025 specifications and plan for an adapter for NACS/Tesla Supercharger access
2026 bZ; Toyota lists $34,900 starting MSRP and up to 314 miles in XLE FWD Plus Solterra; five trims, standard AWD, up to 288 miles, and approximately 28 minutes for 10%–80% fast charging Both revisions add native NACS charging

Toyota’s 2026 announcement lists up to 314 miles for the XLE FWD Plus configuration and native NACS charging; Toyota’s official offer page lists a $34,900 starting MSRP. Subaru’s 2026 Solterra product information and 2026 Solterra brochure describe five trims, standard AWD, up to 288 miles, approximately 28 minutes for a 10%–80% fast charge, native NACS compatibility, and more than 25,000 additional charging plugs.

The practical rule is simple: compare a used 2025 bZ4X with a used 2025 Solterra, and compare a new 2026 bZ with a new 2026 Solterra. Do not use the 2026 bZ’s 314-mile figure to describe a 2025 bZ4X, and do not assume a 2025 Solterra has the native NACS port described for 2026.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Toyota bZ4X better than the Subaru Solterra?

The 2025 Toyota bZ4X is the better choice for a lower starting price, higher maximum EPA-estimated range, and more cargo space behind the second row. The 2025 Subaru Solterra is the better choice for standard AWD, 8.3 inches of ground clearance, X-MODE, and greater maximum cargo volume with the rear seats folded.

Which has better range, the bZ4X or Solterra?

The 2025 bZ4X has a maximum EPA-estimated range of 252 miles in XLE FWD form, while the 2025 Solterra reaches up to 227 miles with standard AWD. The bZ4X AWD figure is 228 miles, so the range difference is only one mile when comparing the two AWD configurations cited here.

Can a 2025 bZ4X or Solterra use Tesla Superchargers?

A 2025 bZ4X or Solterra does not have native NACS charging and requires a compatible adapter for Tesla Supercharger access. Native NACS charging arrives with the 2026 Toyota bZ and 2026 Subaru Solterra, so used buyers should verify the adapter and network eligibility before purchase.

Which has more cargo space, the bZ4X or Solterra?

The bZ4X has more published cargo space behind the second row, at 27.7 cubic feet, while the Solterra has more published maximum cargo space with the rear seats folded, at 63.5 cubic feet. The best choice depends on whether normal five-seat loading or maximum bulky-item capacity matters more.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Pick the 2025 Toyota bZ4X for FWD value, maximum range, or more normal behind-seat cargo space. Pick the 2025 Subaru Solterra for standard AWD, 8.3-inch ground clearance, X-MODE, and more folded-seat cargo capacity. If charging convenience is the deciding factor, remember that native NACS belongs to the 2026 bZ and 2026 Solterra, not the 2025 vehicles.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.