October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Three-Row Electric SUVs for 2025: What U.S. Buyers Should Know

A buyer-focused look at three-row electric SUVs relevant to the 2025 U.S. market, with reported price and range figures, seating trade-offs and charging considerations.
Entry265 Date Time5 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For U.S. shoppers considering a 2025 three-row electric SUV, the Kia EV9, Rivian R1S and Mercedes-Benz EQS SUV are among the options covered in a published buying comparison. Hyundai announced its three-row IONIQ 9 for a planned U.S. launch in the first half of 2025, but an announced launch window does not establish when every trim reached every market. The Volkswagen ID. Buzz is another spacious three-row electric family vehicle, but it is a minivan, not an SUV.

Which three-row electric SUVs were relevant to U.S. buyers in 2025?

The available comparison is a useful shortlist, not a complete registry of every vehicle a buyer could order or receive during calendar 2025. Its prices and ranges are reported figures for the specified model years and configurations; they should not be read as current dealer quotes or a guarantee of local inventory.

Vehicle Price reported for the model year Range reported Third-row and use notes
Kia EV9 $56,395 starting price for the 2025 model, including destination charges, as reported by Edmunds in the AP-hosted comparison 280 miles EPA-estimated for the Wind trim, per Edmunds Edmunds describes all rows as roomy and the vehicle as comfortable; maximum towing capacity reported as 5,000 pounds.
Rivian R1S $77,700 starting price for 2025, per Edmunds Up to 410 miles for certain 2025 configurations, per Edmunds Premium, capability-oriented option; range and performance vary by configuration. Certain performance versions are reported at 1,025 horsepower.
Mercedes-Benz EQS SUV $106,400 starting price for 2025, per Edmunds 323 miles EPA-estimated for the base 450+ model, per Edmunds Luxury comfort focus; the third row is optional and described as less roomy than alternatives in the comparison.
Hyundai IONIQ 9 Not stated in the cited launch reports for the 2025 buying period Not stated in the cited launch reports for the 2025 buying period Hyundai announced seating for up to seven and a planned U.S. and Canada launch in the first half of 2025; that timing alone does not establish nationwide trim availability.
Volkswagen ID. Buzz (minivan, not SUV) $61,545 starting price for 2025, per Edmunds 234 miles maximum range, per Edmunds Very spacious cabin; its shorter maximum range may matter more on long trips.

Figures and qualitative comparisons in the table come from the AP-hosted Edmunds comparison, which says it covers most, not all, electric three-row choices. For EV9 model-year details, consult Kia’s 2025 EV9 specifications and its 2025 EV9 pricing announcement.

Which electric SUV has a usable third row?

Kia EV9: the space-focused choice in this comparison

Edmunds characterizes the EV9 as comfortable and roomy in all three rows. That makes it a promising candidate for families who expect to use the rearmost seats regularly, but a general review description cannot guarantee a fit for every passenger. Bring the people who will ride there to a test drive, check access to the third row, and try the seating position before deciding.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Car Cup Holder Expander for Volvo Electric Three-Row SUV EX90 2025–Present, Adjustable Swivel Cupholder Extender with Detachable Food Tray, Road Trip Essential for Drivers
  • 🚗【APPLICABLE MODEL】Car Cup Holder for Volvo Electric Three-Row SUV EX90 2025–Present. Please carefully confirm whether this product is suitable for your vehicle before purchasing.
  • 🥤【ROAD TRIP ESSENTIAL】 Turn your center console into a more practical space for daily drives and long road trips. This car cup holder tray keeps drinks and everyday essentials conveniently within reach, making it easier to enjoy takeout, coffee or quick breaks on the road. A smart interior upgrade for commuting, traveling, camping and family drives.
  • 🔄【ADJUSTABLE SWIVEL DESIGN】 The flexible rotating structure lets you position the tray where it feels most comfortable. Easily swing it closer when needed or move it aside to free up space around the console. The adjustable design makes better use of limited vehicle space while giving the driver or passenger a convenient surface for everyday use.
  • 🧳【STABLE CUP HOLDER SUPPORT】 The cup holder base is designed to sit securely inside a compatible vehicle cup holder, helping provide dependable support for the upper tray during normal use. Its balanced structure keeps the tray conveniently positioned without taking up an extra seat, making it a practical solution for drivers who want more usable storage space.
  • 🛣️【DETACHABLE TRAY FOR EASY USE】 The removable tray gives you the flexibility to use the cup holder with or without the tabletop whenever you need. Attach the tray for meals, coffee breaks or travel stops, then remove it when you want a simpler setup. The detachable design also makes the tray easier to handle and clean after everyday use.

Rivian R1S: capability and configuration matter

The R1S is positioned as the more expensive, capability-oriented choice. Edmunds highlights adjustable air suspension and higher-range and performance configurations. Because the cited range and horsepower figures apply to specific configurations, compare the exact vehicle’s seating, equipment and range rather than treating the maximum figures as standard across the lineup.

Mercedes-Benz EQS SUV: luxury with a third-row trade-off

The EQS SUV is the luxury-leaning choice in the comparison, but its third row is optional and described as comparatively less roomy. If those seats will be used often, verify the option is fitted and assess the space in person instead of relying on the vehicle’s overall passenger count.

Hyundai IONIQ 9: announced for up to seven

Hyundai’s March 2025 newsroom release describes the IONIQ 9 as a three-row vehicle and confirms a planned U.S. and Canada launch timeframe in the first half of 2025. Its announced capacity is up to seven passengers. Neither the seat count nor the launch plan alone establishes comfort for adults or availability of each trim at a particular U.S. dealer. See Hyundai’s IONIQ 9 announcement.

How much range does a three-row electric SUV get?

Among the cited figures, the EV9 Wind is listed at 280 miles EPA-estimated, and the EQS SUV 450+ at 323 miles EPA-estimated. Edmunds reports up to 410 miles for certain R1S configurations, not every R1S. The ID. Buzz’s reported maximum is 234 miles. The cited IONIQ 9 launch reports do not establish a comparable range figure for the 2025 buying period.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
FH Group Three Row 7 Seater - Premium Modernistic Seat Covers - Fit Most Car, Truck, SUV, & Van Beige/Black
  • Package Includes: 4 front high backs bucket covers, 1 rear backrest cover, 1 rear bottom bench cover, and 8 separate headrest covers
  • Material: Polyester flat cloth with striped design; Cleaning tip: Machine washable, air dry.
  • Airbag Compatible: Special stitching technique enables side airbag deployment - officially tested!
  • Rear seat cover designed to accommodate 50/50, 40/60, 60/40, and 40/20/40 split benches
  • Buying tips: This product is compatible with removable headrests only. Please ensure your headrests can be detached before purchasing.

These numbers are not a controlled, same-day comparison test. They mix trim-specific EPA estimates and a maximum configuration figure as reported by Edmunds, so compare the exact trim and equipment you are considering. Also consider your own route, weather, passenger load and charging access; a headline maximum does not tell you how convenient a vehicle will be for a particular household.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Can a three-row electric SUV tow?

Edmunds reports towing capacity of up to 5,000 pounds for the EV9. Treat that as a vehicle capability ceiling, not proof that every trim or configuration has the same rating or that a particular loaded trailer is suitable. Before towing, check the exact vehicle’s official rating, hitch and equipment requirements, payload limits, and the effect of towing on practical driving range. The cited comparison does not establish comparable towing figures for the other vehicles listed here.

Rank #4
FH Group Flat Cloth Full Set Car Seat Covers Three Row 7 Seater - Universal Fit for Cars, Trucks & SUVs Mint
  • Package includes: 4 front low back bucket covers, 1 rear backrest cover, 1 rear bottom bench cover, 7 separate headrest covers and Hardware to install
  • Material: Flat Cloth / Polyester,Our classic polyester design. Cleaning tip: Machine washable, air dry.
  • Concealed Hook And Loop opening and adjustable straps make installation, removal, and reattachment a breeze.
  • Only compatible with removable headrests and armrests. Please check your vehicle before purchasing
  • Not Airbag compatible Solid bench will fit a split or non-split bench, cannot use features

How should you compare charging and home access?

Home charging is a practical part of choosing an EV, particularly for a family vehicle that may cover routine daily travel. In a November 2024 AP report, S&P Global Mobility associate director Stephanie Brinley said that with 250 to 300 miles of range, most people would not need to charge every day, while needing a charging station in a garage or another place to fill up. That is an analyst’s general observation from 2024, not a guarantee for every model, route or household. The report also does not establish compatibility with any specific home charger.

Before buying, confirm the vehicle’s connector and charging requirements, whether your parking location can support home charging, your electrical capacity and installation requirements, and any applicable local code. For public charging, compare the actual vehicle’s charging capability and route options; a station’s advertised peak power is not a guaranteed charging rate for your car. The AP report on Hyundai’s announcement and EV-market context is available at AP News.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What should you verify before choosing one?

  • Local availability: Confirm the model year, trim and delivery timing with a dealer. The cited material does not settle inventory across all U.S. markets throughout 2025.
  • Actual price: Treat the comparison’s starting prices as reported model-year figures, not a current offer or an out-the-door quote. Ask for destination, options, taxes and fees in writing.
  • Seats in real use: Check third-row entry, headroom, legroom and child-seat needs with your own passengers and equipment.
  • Range by trim: Match an EPA-estimated or configuration-specific figure to the precise vehicle being quoted, not a model-line maximum.
  • Cargo with seats occupied: Check luggage space with all three rows raised and with the rear row folded; the cited comparison does not provide a consistent set of cargo-volume figures.
  • Charging and towing: Validate home-charging feasibility and exact towing specifications against the vehicle’s official documentation.

Is the ID. Buzz a three-row electric SUV?

No. The Volkswagen ID. Buzz is a three-row electric minivan. It may suit shoppers prioritizing a spacious, boxy family cabin, but it should be compared as an adjacent alternative rather than counted as an SUV. The Edmunds figures reported for its 2025 model are a $61,545 starting price and 234 miles maximum range.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.