Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Samson Switchblade: First flight for fold-out flying car

The Samson Switchblade prototype really flew, but the fold-out flying car remains a pilot-operated experimental aircraft in development—not a road-launching autonomous taxi or a finished production vehicle.
Entry777 Date Time12 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“Samson Switchblade: First flight for fold-out flying car” describes a real prototype flight, not a production launch: Samson says its official first flight was November 5, 2023, while AOPA reported the publicized test on November 9, 2023; the pilot-operated aircraft flew from an airport and remained in development as of August 14, 2026.

The date discrepancy matters because the two sources describe the event differently. Samson Sky calls November 5, 2023, the official first flight, while AOPA’s November 17, 2023, report identifies November 9, 2023, as the first test flight it covered. Both accounts support the conclusion that the prototype genuinely flew.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The Switchblade is not an autonomous air taxi or a conventional production automobile. It is a three-wheel, two-seat roadable experimental aircraft that must use an airport runway, requires a pilot certificate, and still has changing specifications and unfinished production work.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Key takeaways

  • The Samson Switchblade prototype genuinely flew, but Samson identifies November 5, 2023, as its official first flight while AOPA reported the publicized test flight on November 9, 2023.
  • The Switchblade is a pilot-operated, three-wheel, two-seat roadable experimental aircraft that uses an airport runway rather than taking off from a street, driveway, or parking lot.
  • The first flight demonstrated controllability, stability, level flight, control balance, and flap effectiveness, but it did not establish production readiness or conventional type certification.
  • Samson Sky’s current 2026 estimate is $200,000 for a VFR kit, while earlier 2023 reporting described different engine, price, speed, range, and distance figures.
  • As of August 14, 2026, Samson’s own updates still describe production-facility preparation, radiator testing, tail-assembly work, hiring, and other development activities.
  • Flying the Switchblade requires a private pilot certificate, while road registration, insurance, storage, maintenance, and airport access create separate ownership requirements.

Did the Samson Switchblade actually fly?

Yes. The Samson Switchblade prototype made a genuine, pilot-controlled flight at Grant County International Airport in Moses Lake, Washington. The flight showed that the aircraft could take off, fly a pattern, remain controllable, and land, but the evidence does not show that a finished production vehicle is available for ordinary customers.

Samson Sky’s official FAQ says, “The Switchblade Flying Car had its official First Flight on November 5th, 2023, at Grant County International Airport in Moses Lake, WA.” Samson says the aircraft departed runway 32R, flew a wide pattern, and returned for a light landing.

The Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association reported on November 17, 2023, that the first test flight occurred on November 9, 2023. AOPA reported that the aircraft flew for approximately six minutes and reached about 500 feet.

Source Date identified as the first-flight event Reported flight details How readers should interpret it
Samson Sky, 2026 FAQ November 5, 2023 Runway 32R departure, wide pattern, light landing, and manufacturer-listed control checks Samson’s official first-flight date
AOPA, 2023 report November 9, 2023 Approximately six minutes in the air and about 500 feet of altitude AOPA’s account of the publicized first test flight

The sources do not resolve why the dates differ. One possible explanation is that “official first flight” and the flight publicized in the press referred to different events or reporting milestones, but that explanation is an inference rather than an established fact. The safest account is to preserve both attributed dates.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What did the first flight prove—and what did it not prove?

The first flight proved that the flying prototype could operate as an aircraft under test conditions. Samson says the flight established control authority, stability in all three axes, level-flight capability, control balance, and flap effectiveness for descent and landing.

Those are important early flight-test results, but a successful maiden flight is not the same as a completed certification campaign. The first flight did not prove that the Switchblade had entered mass production, completed every production-validation test, received a conventional FAA type certificate, or become a turn-key vehicle that an untrained driver could fly.

The Federal Aviation Administration explains that an experimental airworthiness certificate applies to an aircraft without a type certificate or to an aircraft that does not conform to its type certificate, provided the aircraft is in a condition for safe operation. The FAA lists amateur-built and kit-built aircraft among the eligible experimental purposes. An experimental certificate therefore supports lawful test and operating activity under its limitations; it does not mean the aircraft has completed the same approval path as a conventional mass-produced airplane.

What kind of vehicle is the Switchblade?

The Switchblade is best described as a three-wheel, two-seat roadable experimental aircraft, not as a normal automobile with an optional flight mode. Its wings and tail boom fold or retract for ground travel, allowing the vehicle to be driven to an airport, prepared for flight, flown, and driven after landing.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Samson says the transition from road configuration to flight configuration can be completed in about three minutes. AOPA reported that estimate but noted that the first-flight video did not show the complete folding transition, so the three-minute figure should be treated as a company-related development claim rather than an independently timed production result.

Question What the Switchblade is designed to do What the Switchblade is not shown to do
How does it travel on the road? Drive as a folded three-wheel road vehicle between permitted roads and an airport Operate as an ordinary mass-market car with universal road approval in every jurisdiction
How does it take off? Use an airport runway under aircraft operating rules Take off from a street, freeway, driveway, or parking lot for a non-emergency flight
How does it transition? Fold or retract its wings and tail boom; Samson estimates about three minutes Prove a fully demonstrated three-minute transition in the first-flight video
Who controls it? A qualified pilot operating an experimental aircraft An autonomous air-taxi system or a vehicle that a regular driver can automatically fly

Samson says FAA rules prohibit non-emergency takeoffs from streets, freeways, and parking lots. The airport requirement is the central practical distinction between the Switchblade and a vertical-takeoff eVTOL concept: the Switchblade is a roadable, runway-using aircraft.

Can you drive the Switchblade on normal roads?

You may be able to drive the folded vehicle on public roads where the vehicle satisfies the applicable state or local requirements, but road legality is separate from permission to fly. Samson says the ground vehicle will generally be registered as a custom motorcycle or kit car, depending on the jurisdiction.

  1. Road registration: The owner must meet the registration, equipment, inspection, and insurance requirements of the relevant jurisdiction.
  2. Airport access: The vehicle must be taken to an appropriate airport before a non-emergency flight. A driveway or roadside location is not a substitute for a runway.
  3. Flight configuration: The wings and tail boom must be prepared for flight according to the aircraft’s operating procedures.
  4. Aircraft operation: A qualified pilot must conduct the flight within the aircraft’s applicable operating limitations.
  5. Return trip: After landing, the vehicle must be converted back to its road configuration before it can be driven away.

A driver’s license, even where sufficient for the ground vehicle, does not confer flight privileges. The aircraft and road portions involve different legal systems, registrations, and risk-management requirements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do you need a pilot’s license to fly the Switchblade?

Yes. AOPA reported that a private pilot certificate is required to fly the Switchblade. A normal driver’s license may cover the road portion where state law allows, but driving authorization is not a substitute for a pilot certificate.

Prospective owners should plan for more than a written exam. They would need flight training, aircraft-specific familiarity, and a clear understanding of experimental-aircraft operating limitations. A private pilot test prep book can help with knowledge-test preparation, but a book cannot replace an instructor, flight training, practical testing, medical eligibility requirements, or aircraft-specific transition instruction.

Is the Samson Switchblade FAA certified?

The available evidence supports describing the Switchblade as an experimental-category aircraft under development, not as a conventionally type-certified production airplane. Samson says the Switchblade will be registered as an Experimental category aircraft for flight.

The FAA’s experimental-airworthiness framework is different from a conventional type certificate. An experimental certificate can authorize an aircraft for a defined purpose when the aircraft is safe to operate under its certificate and operating limitations, but the certificate does not automatically establish unrestricted passenger operations, universal commercial availability, or production conformity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Experimental amateur-built aircraft can also begin with Phase I flight-test limitations. FAA operating-limitation guidance describes flight-test-area operations until the aircraft has been shown controllable throughout its normal operating range and free of hazardous operating characteristics; the aircraft’s specific operating limitations determine the exact requirements.

The FAA’s Modernization of Special Airworthiness Certification, or MOSAIC, is relevant background but does not automatically make the Switchblade a light-sport aircraft. The FAA says MOSAIC was published on July 24, 2025; sport-pilot, repairman, and maintenance provisions became effective on October 22, 2025, while light-sport certification provisions became effective on July 24, 2026. Whether a particular Switchblade configuration qualifies under any future or current category depends on its actual design, certification basis, and applicable FAA determinations.

How much does the Samson Switchblade cost?

Samson Sky’s 2026 FAQ lists an estimated VFR-kit price of $200,000. The figure is an estimate for an experimental kit and Builder Assist arrangement, not a verified final delivered price for a completed, road-registered, flight-ready vehicle.

Price information Amount What the amount means
Current VFR kit estimate $200,000 Samson Sky’s 2026 manufacturer-published estimate for the VFR kit
Earlier VFR estimate $170,000 AOPA’s 2023 historical report; superseded by the newer published estimate
Earlier IFR estimate $195,000 AOPA’s 2023 historical report for an earlier configuration
Delivery-position deposit $500 non-refundable Samson’s June 2026 update says this provides a fixed delivery position
Reservation without deposit $0 down Samson says a reservation can be made without money down

The $200,000 estimate should not be treated as an all-in ownership price. A buyer may also need to budget for taxes, road registration, aircraft registration, flight training, testing, insurance, airport charges, hangar or storage, maintenance, tools, and any required Builder Assist work. Samson’s deposit and reservation language is commercial information that may change before production or delivery.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What are the Switchblade’s current engine and performance specifications?

The Switchblade’s specifications have changed during development, so the version and date must accompany every figure. Samson’s current FAQ describes a two-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine rated at 300 horsepower, while AOPA’s 2023 report described an earlier three-cylinder, 190-horsepower configuration.

Specification Current manufacturer description Earlier reported configuration
Source and date Samson Sky FAQ, 2026 AOPA, 2023
Engine Two-liter turbocharged four-cylinder engine, modified for aircraft use and branded Samson-4 Three-cylinder liquid-cooled engine
Power 300 horsepower 190 horsepower
Reported air range Not stated in the cited current FAQ Expected 450 miles
Maximum airspeed Not stated in the cited current FAQ 200 mph
Cruise speed Not stated in the cited current FAQ 160 mph
Takeoff distance Not stated in the cited current FAQ 1,100 feet
Landing distance Not stated in the cited current FAQ 700 feet
Ground speed Not stated in the cited current FAQ Above 125 mph

The current powertrain description includes Samson’s Skybrid hybrid-electric drive system. Samson says the internal-combustion engine drives a starter-generator while electric motors provide ground propulsion. Samson also says the aircraft uses premium unleaded automotive gasoline in flight and regular unleaded automotive gasoline in drive mode.

The differences between the current and earlier descriptions are not a minor editing detail. Samson says the wing, body, engine, and hybrid system have continued to change during development, and the company says flight testing led to a larger main wing intended to support higher gross weight and slower landing speed. Older range and speed figures should therefore be labeled as 2023 configuration estimates rather than presented as final production specifications.

How much testing and engineering work has been completed?

Samson reports a broad development program, but the reported work is manufacturer evidence rather than an independent certification audit. The company says it has conducted:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • Wind-tunnel testing at the University of Washington.
  • Structural testing of the wings, tail, tail boom, steering, flight controls, and suspension.
  • Road testing, acceleration and braking tests, and slalom testing using Road & Track parameters.
  • Simulator testing in X-Plane.
  • Flight testing, including the November 2023 prototype flight.

Samson says its wind-tunnel data can come within 3% of actual results. That is Samson’s engineering claim, not a universal accuracy guarantee or an independently validated performance statistic.

Samson also says severe engine testing is planned with three production prototypes expected approximately at the end of 2026 or the beginning of 2027. That is a future testing plan, not completed evidence that the production engine has passed those tests.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Is the Switchblade in production and available to buy?

As of August 14, 2026, the Switchblade remains in development and production preparation rather than being established as a normally delivered production vehicle. The prototype has flown, but Samson’s latest cited updates still describe facility, tooling, component, staffing, and validation work.

In a May 20, 2026 update, Samson said it was talking with contractors for its first production facility and hiring personnel for supply chain, regulatory documentation, and assembly. Samson founder and CEO Sam Bousfield wrote, “We are talking to contractors for the first production facility. It is a dream that is becoming reality.”

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

In a June 30, 2026 update, Samson said a third round of radiator testing had been completed using the flight-test prototype that flew in November 2023. The company said the test was intended to simulate the heat generated during a full-power takeoff and that it was preparing a fourth test. The same update described ongoing tail-boom and tail-assembly production work.

Program area Status reported by Samson What the status does not establish
Prototype flight Completed in November 2023 It does not establish completed production certification
Production facility Contractor discussions reported in May 2026 It does not establish that a factory is operating
Radiator validation Third round completed and fourth test being prepared in June 2026 It does not establish that thermal validation is finished
Tail assembly Production work reported as ongoing in June 2026 It does not establish completed customer aircraft
Engine testing Severe testing planned with three production prototypes around late 2026 or early 2027 It does not establish that the planned tests have been completed

Samson’s reservation and deposit language indicates that the company is accepting commercial interest, but interest or a delivery-position deposit is not the same as a completed customer delivery. Readers should not describe the Switchblade as ready for mass production unless a newer, independently verifiable source confirms that status.

What would ownership actually require?

Ownership would combine the obligations of a road vehicle and an experimental aircraft. A buyer would need to solve the legal, operational, financial, and maintenance requirements for both modes rather than simply purchase a car with an extra feature.

  • Pilot qualification: A private pilot certificate is required to fly it, according to AOPA’s report.
  • Flight-test limitations: An experimental aircraft may operate under Phase I or other operating limitations that define where and how testing can occur.
  • Road registration: Samson says the ground vehicle may be registered as a custom motorcycle or kit car, depending on the jurisdiction.
  • Airport logistics: The aircraft needs runway access, and the owner must arrange suitable storage or hangar space rather than relying on a driveway for flight operations.
  • Annual inspection: Samson says the Switchblade will require an annual inspection to remain airworthy and that it plans to train mechanics through Builder Assist Centers.
  • Repairman eligibility: The FAA says the primary builder of an experimental amateur-built aircraft may qualify for a repairman certificate that allows the builder to perform the annual condition inspection on that specific aircraft, subject to the applicable requirements and limitations. The FAA repairman guidance explains the qualification path.
  • Separate insurance: Samson says there is currently no dedicated flying-car insurance program, so owners will initially need separate air and ground policies.

Before committing money, a prospective owner would need to price private pilot training, experimental aircraft insurance, aircraft hangar rental, and an experimental aircraft mechanic or inspection arrangement. Those are practical category-level needs, not evidence that a particular provider or referral program is available.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is the practical verdict on the Samson Switchblade?

The Switchblade is real in the narrow but important sense that its prototype has flown successfully. Its strongest differentiator is the attempt to combine road travel with conventional runway-based general aviation, not autonomous urban flight or vertical takeoff.

The more complete verdict is that the Switchblade remains a pilot-operated experimental roadable aircraft in development. The first flight supports claims about basic controllability and stability; it does not support claims that the aircraft is a finished production car, a fully type-certified airplane, an autonomous air taxi, or a vehicle that can launch from ordinary roads.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: The Samson Switchblade really flew, but the aircraft remains an experimental, runway-dependent, pilot-operated kit under development. Samson’s current estimated VFR-kit price is $200,000, yet production preparation, testing, certification work, training, insurance, and ownership logistics are still part of the story.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.