DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Roadchef and bp pulse: Ultra-Fast EV Charging Planned at More Than 30 Services From 2027

Roadchef and bp plan bp pulse ultra-fast charging at more than 30 motorway services from 2027, alongside a separate deal for Roadchef to operate 12 bp forecourts.
Entry765 Date Time2 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

bp pulse ultra-fast chargers are planned at more than 30 Roadchef motorway service areas from 2027, under a new UK agreement covering EV charging, fuel and convenience retail. The announcement does not give a site-by-site timetable, charger power ratings, prices or payment details, so drivers should check current charging locations before travelling.

What the Roadchef and bp agreement includes

The agreement brings together three parts of the companies’ UK motorway businesses: public EV charging, fuel supply and convenience retail. Transport & Energy reports that bp pulse charging is planned for more than 30 Roadchef motorway service areas from 2027. The same agreement provides for Roadchef to operate 12 bp forecourts, where bp-branded fuel and bp’s wildbean cafe offer are to continue. Transport & Energy

The charging rollout is prospective, not a confirmation that bp pulse chargers are already installed across Roadchef’s network. Roadchef’s website describes 31 UK locations and lists EV charging among its services, but that existing provision should not be confused with the planned bp pulse installations. Roadchef

What is known about the charging rollout

What What has been announced
Timing bp pulse deployment is planned to begin from 2027; no exact launch date is given. Transport & Energy
Footprint More than 30 Roadchef motorway service areas are included in the reported plan. Transport & Energy
Charging specification Described as ultra-fast; power ratings are not stated. Transport & Energy
Prices and payment Not stated in the announcement coverage. Transport & Energy
Location sequence Not stated in the announcement coverage. Transport & Energy

Roadchef chief executive Tim Gittins said the agreement supports the company’s commitment to deliver 1,000 charging bays by 2030. That is Roadchef’s stated ambition; it is not a report that the bays have already been delivered, nor a guarantee that bp pulse will operate every one. Transport & Energy

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Where to find motorway charging now

For present-day journeys, use the bp pulse UK location finder to check its listed charging locations. The finder is useful for current options, but it does not confirm future Roadchef installations or when individual sites will join the rollout. Check the chosen site’s status close to departure, especially for a long motorway trip.

Roadchef says its current UK network comprises 31 locations and lists EV charging as a service, but the available announcement details do not identify which Roadchef sites currently have which charging providers, nor the specifications or tariffs of existing chargers. Roadchef

Rank #2
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How the companies describe the deal

Jo Hayward, bp’s vice-president of UK mobility and convenience retail, said the companies were “bringing all our offers together” to serve drivers on their journeys. Gittins said motorway services will have a critical role in improving en-route charging availability as the UK transitions to zero-emission vehicles. His 1,000-bay-by-2030 commitment is Roadchef’s stated target. GREENFLEET, 29 September 2026

Best Value
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 40A / 9.6kW Fast Home EV Charging Station with NEMA 14-50 Plug, 25FT Cable, Adjustable Current & Delay Timer, Compatible with All Tesla Model 3/Y/S/X (NACS Plug)
  • ⚡【8X Faster Charging – Up to 40A / 9.6kWh】Charge smarter and faster with the EVDANCE Level 2 Tesla charger. Equipped with a NEMA 14-50 plug and 240V support, it delivers up to 40A current and 9.6kWh power — up to 8X faster than standard Level 1 chargers. Spend less time waiting, more time driving.
  • ✅【Adjustable Charging Current – 10A to 40A】Customize your charging speed with flexible current settings (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A/40A). Simply press the “A” button to match your charging needs and home circuit capacity, preventing overloads and ensuring safe, efficient charging every time.
  • ✅【Delayed Start – Save on Energy Costs】EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger includes a delayed charging function (1–12 hours). Schedule your sessions during off-peak hours to lower electricity bills and protect your vehicle battery from unnecessary strain — charging made smarter and more economical.
  • ✅【Universal NACS Compatibility – For All Tesla Models】Engineered with the official NACS connector, this 40A charger works seamlessly with all Tesla models (Model Y, 3, S, X) and any EV using the North American Charging Standard (NACS). For non-NACS vehicles, simply use a J1772 adapter. One charger for all your EVs.
  • ✅【Wireless Port Door Control – No Keys Needed】Our portable charger features a built-in wireless charging port door control. Just press the button on the connector to open your Tesla charging port automatically — no more fumbling with keys or buttons. Convenience at your fingertips.
Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.