DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Mercedes CLA EV Range and 10-Minute Charging: What the 500-Mile Claim Means

The CLA’s near-500-mile figure is a European WLTP maximum, while U.S. EPA range is up to 374 miles. Its 10-minute charging claim depends on version and compatible high-power charging.
Entry723 Date Time3 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The electric Mercedes-Benz CLA is advertised with nearly 500 miles of range in some European WLTP figures, but it is not a universal figure: Mercedes lists up to 374 miles for the U.S.-market CLA 250+ under EPA testing and up to 480 miles WLTP on its current UK page. Mercedes also claims the CLA 250+ can add up to 202 miles of WLTP range in 10 minutes, given suitable high-power charging conditions.

Does the Mercedes CLA EV really have a 500-mile range?

In the European launch announcement, Mercedes quoted up to 792 km (about 492 miles) WLTP for the CLA 250+, the source of the rounded “500-mile” description. That is a European test-cycle estimate, not a promise of 500 miles in every market or on every drive. The same release gave a range of 694–792 km WLTP for the CLA 250+ and 672–771 km for the CLA 350 4MATIC. Mercedes-Benz Media’s April 29, 2025 launch release says real energy use depends on driving style and other factors.

For comparison, Mercedes-Benz USA’s November 25, 2025 announcement gives the U.S.-market CLA 250+ up to 374 miles EPA. Mercedes UK’s current page lists up to 480 miles WLTP for the CLA 250+. WLTP and EPA are different test cycles, and the figures are market-specific manufacturer claims—not directly interchangeable measurements.

How much range can the CLA add in 10 minutes?

Mercedes says the CLA 250+ can add up to 325 km (about 202 miles) of WLTP range in 10 minutes. The European launch release specifies a 500 A DC fast-charging station; Mercedes’ U.S. announcement also states up to 202 miles in 10 minutes. These are maximum claims under qualifying conditions, not a guaranteed result at any charger or during every charging stop. See the European launch specifications and U.S. announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))
  • Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
  • Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
  • Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
  • Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.

The current German specifications give model-specific 10-minute WLTP range additions from 175 to 200 km for CLA 200, 225 to 270 km for CLA 250, 285 to 325 km for CLA 250+, and 275 to 315 km for CLA 350 4MATIC. Mercedes UK lists 175–200 km for the CLA 200 and 285–325 km for the CLA 250+. The range added therefore varies with version as well as charging conditions. Mercedes Germany’s specifications and Mercedes UK’s specifications provide the market-specific figures.

What charging equipment is needed for the maximum rate?

Mercedes UK lists up to 320 kW maximum DC charging for the CLA 250+, but says that rate requires a compatible quick charger supporting at least 800 V. IONITY is given as a European example. The UK page also describes a separate DC option for 400 V stations, up to 100 kW. A charger’s advertised peak alone does not establish that a particular session will deliver the car’s maximum rate. Mercedes UK’s charging specifications set out these compatibility details.

Rank #2
Lectron Level 1 EV Charger - ETL Certified, 120V, 15 Amp, 16 ft Extension Cord & J1772 Cable - Portable Electric Car Charger for J1772 EVs with NEMA 5-15 Plug
  • LEVEL 1 CHARGING - The Lectron Level 1 Charger lets you quickly charge your EV with a standard 120V outlet; You get 15 amps and 1.65 kW of power for the standard full-charge time for your car, at home or at wor
  • CONVENIENT OVERNIGHT CHARGING - The Lectron 15 Amp EV Charger is a more affordable and faster charging option compared to other Level 2 EV chargers, delivering an extra 40-50 miles of overnight charge at home — without breaking the bank
  • J1772 COMPATIBILITY - This J1772 charger is compatible with all electric vehicles that use the J1772 standard, including BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, and Chevy
  • SAFE AND RELIABLE - FCC and ETL certified (UL2594 standard) for safety with overvoltage, overcurrent, and short circuit protection; Energy Star certified for efficiency; IP65 rated for dust and water resistance
  • PORTABLE CONVENIENCE - Whether you're on a road trip or visiting a friend, you can easily plug in your EV and charge with our portable EV charger. Please refer to the included User Manual for complete operating instructions and compatibility requirements

AC charging is a separate limit. Mercedes UK lists up to 11 kW AC for the CLA 200 and CLA 250+. Its listed 7 m Type 2 cable is rated for up to 22 kW, but that cable rating does not mean the car accepts 22 kW AC. Check the cable supplied with the chosen vehicle and connector compatibility before buying another.

How do the CLA’s electric versions compare?

These are manufacturer specifications, not independent road-test results. The current German page lists four versions; the UK page lists two. Figures below retain each market’s stated WLTP basis where specified.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Variant and market WLTP range WLTP range added in 10 min 10–80% DC time Maximum DC Usable battery
CLA 200, Germany Not stated on the cited German specifications page 175–200 km 20 min 200 kW 58 kWh
CLA 250, Germany Not stated on the cited German specifications page 225–270 km 20 min 250 kW 71 kWh
CLA 250+, Germany Not stated on the cited German specifications page 285–325 km 22 min 320 kW 85 kWh
CLA 350 4MATIC, Germany Not stated on the cited German specifications page 275–315 km 22 min 320 kW 85 kWh
CLA 200, UK 328 miles 175–200 km 20 min 200 kW 58 kWh
CLA 250+, UK 480 miles 285–325 km 22 min 320 kW 85 kWh

Sources: Mercedes Germany and Mercedes UK. The April 2025 European launch release identifies the CLA 250+ as rear-wheel drive and the CLA 350 4MATIC as all-wheel drive; its launch battery figure for those variants was 85 kWh usable, with up to 320 kW DC and 11 kW AC. Mercedes-Benz Media.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the figures do—and do not—tell you

The published range and charging figures establish Mercedes’ test-cycle claims and stated vehicle capabilities. The cited manufacturer sources do not establish independent real-world range or charging results, so they cannot say how far a particular driver will travel or how much range a particular stop will add. For a purchase decision, compare the specification for the exact market and trim, and use the local Mercedes configurator for final availability and equipment.

Best Value
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Rank #4
Sale
2026 Upgraded Level 1&2 EV Charger for ALL J1772 EV, NEMA5-15/6-20Plug
  • [2026 INTELLIGENT CHARGING UPGRADE — PRECISION CONTROL MEETS SMART SCHEDULING] After surveying 100K+ U.S. EV owners, the Raylix R&D team found that nearly all drivers recognized the necessity of adjustable current and scheduled charging. Our upgraded J1772 charger features 4-level adjustable current (8A/10A/12A/16A) and a 1–12 hour smart delay timer. Whether you're charging overnight or during off-peak hours, enjoy smarter energy use, lower costs, and total convenience—on your schedule.
  • [ONE CHARGER, ALL J1772 EVs/PHEVs READY!] Compatible with all SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids—whether it’s Ford, GM, Nissan, Audi, BMW, Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Chevy, or more. Perfect for home or on-the-road charging, our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger ensures your EV is always powered and ready for any journey.
  • [CHARGE 4× FASTER — NO MORE WAITING] In a rush? Our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger delivers charging speeds up to 4× faster than standard 8A Charger Level 1. Whether it's an early commute, a spontaneous trip, or last-minute errands, your EV will be ready when you are.
  • [LEVEL 1 & 2 PORTABLE CHARGER — CHARGE ANYWHERE, ANYTIME] Designed for maximum flexibility, Raylix Level 1 & 2 EV charger features both 5-15 and 6-20 plug compatibility. Whether you're charging in your garage, at a friend's house, or at a roadside motel. NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 ev charging (240V, 16A, 3.68kW, 9-12 miles/hr) and a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 ev charging (120V, 12A, 1.44kW, 3-5 miles/hr) NOTE: In compliance with North American electrical safety standards, the charger automatically limits current to 12A when using a 5-15 outlet—protecting both your vehicle and your home’s electrical system.
  • [AT-A-GLANCE CHARGING COMMAND: TOTAL CONTROL, INSTANTLY] While most ev chargers solutions confine vital data to in-car screens, the Raylix tesla charger breaks free with its enhanced TFT color display. This Raylix-exclusive feature delivers crystal-clear, real-time updates—voltage, current, power load, AND critical charging temperature—directly on the unit. Just one glance gives you complete charging insight. It’s not just information; it's the empowering peace of mind and satisfying control that transforms every charge into a masterfully managed experience.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date04 OCT 26Time4 minWhy Electric Cars Can Cost Less to Maintain but More to Repair After a CrashSection: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.