October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Is Toyota Really Planning a 900-Mile Solid-State EV? What Its Roadmap Says

Toyota’s roadmap targets up to 50% more range than a planned performance battery, but it does not confirm a 900-mile production EV.
Entry012 Date Time4 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

No official Toyota source cited here confirms a 900-mile solid-state EV. Toyota’s published figures describe development targets—not a production-car specification—including 20% more range than a planned next-generation performance battery and a 10-minute-or-less charge from 10% to 80%. Toyota’s latest stated target is to launch battery-electric vehicles (BEVs) using all-solid-state batteries in 2027–28.

Where the 900-mile claim stands

Toyota’s June 2023 battery roadmap and October 2025 update establish that the company is developing all-solid-state batteries for BEVs. Neither confirms a 900-mile vehicle, a battery with that rated range, or a named production model. Toyota’s published range figures are relative targets tied to another planned battery, not an independently measured 900-mile result. The exact origin of the 900-mile headline figure is not established by those company materials.

That distinction matters: a range target for a battery program is not the same as a certified range rating for a particular car. Toyota has not provided a final vehicle, test cycle, or retail specification in the cited announcements.

What Toyota actually targeted for solid-state batteries

In its June 2023 roadmap, Toyota said it was developing a mass-production method for all-solid-state batteries and striving for commercialization in 2027–28. The company set two range targets, both measured against its planned next-generation performance-version battery—not today’s EV fleet:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
Sale
FOCSPROD J1772 to Tesla Charger Adapter, Max 80A 250V Fast Charging J1772 to NACS Adapter for Tesla Model 3/Y/X/S/Cybertruck Charging Adapter, Compatible with J1772 EV Charge to Tesla Adapter -UL 2252
  • COMPATIBILITY -FOCSPROD J1772 to Tesla charger adapter is compatible with Tesla Model 3, Y, X, S, Cybertruck (A clean Inspect charging port helps charging). Compatible with Tesla Model 3 vehicles manufactured after 2020
  • MULTIPLE CHARGING OPTIONS -This J1772 to Tesla adapter supports Level 1 and Level 2 charging. Charge at home, at work, or on the go, giving another option to charge for Tesla owners
  • SAFE CHARGING -for Tesla charging adapter is made of PC material and has silver-plated pins. This J1772 to NACS adapter is SGS certified to comply with the UL 2252 standard for safety
  • FUNCTIONALITY -J1772 adapter Up to 80A of power at 110V-250V, for Tesla adapter standard charging in any condition across temperatures from -22°F to 122°F (-30°C to 50°C)
  • EASY TO USE - for Tesla charge adapter is compact and portable. Simply plug it into compatible J1772 charger, then connect to your Tesla to start charging
  • All-solid-state battery: 20% more cruising range than the next-generation performance-version battery.
  • Higher-level specification: 50% more cruising range than that same performance battery; Toyota described this version as still under research and development.

Toyota’s roadmap footnote says its range calculation includes vehicle-efficiency improvements such as aerodynamics and weight reduction. That means these percentages should not be read as a battery-only gain or converted directly into a confirmed mileage figure. The roadmap does not translate either target into 900 miles.

Toyota also set a charging target of 10 minutes or less to go from 10% to 80% state of charge for the all-solid-state battery. The announcement does not establish a final production-car charging result or specify the conditions under which a production vehicle would achieve it.

Rank #2
Lectron Tesla to J1772 EV Charging Adapter – NACS Converter, 48 Amp & 240V, Compatible with Tesla High Powered Connectors, Destination Chargers & Mobile Connectors for J1772 Electric Vehicles (Black)
  • INCREASED CHARGING OPTIONS - Access Tesla or North American Charging Standard (NACS) chargers to charge your electric vehicle, the Tesla to J1772 Adapter supports up to 48A charging and is designed to connect J1772 vehicles to Tesla chargers.
  • COMPATIBILITY - Compatible with the Tesla High Powered Wall Connectors, all generation of Destination Chargers, and Mobile Connectors; With our adapter you can access over 15,000 more charging stations for your J1772 vehicle.
  • QUICK CHARGING - The J1772 charging adapter is the only adapter on the market that supports 48 Amps of maximum current and 240V of maximum voltage.
  • PORTABLE - The Tesla Adapter is compact and durable, making it ideal for charging on the go; Keep it conveniently in your car to charge your electric vehicle quickly and easily.
  • SAFETY & PERFORMANCE - This electric vehicle charging adapter has been SGS certified under the UL 2251 standard, meeting the highest safety guidelines.

Do not confuse solid-state targets with Toyota’s other battery plans

Toyota’s roadmap covers several distinct battery technologies. In particular, its 1,000-kilometer figure—about 620 miles—is associated with a planned BEV using a next-generation performance battery, not the all-solid-state battery. Toyota also said that range calculation includes vehicle-efficiency improvements.

Battery program in Toyota’s June 2023 roadmap Range or cost target Charging target Timing described
Next-generation performance battery 1,000 km (about 620 miles) of range; 20% lower cost than the then-current bZ4X 10–80% in 20 minutes or less BEV planned for 2026
Popularization version 20% more range and 40% lower cost than the then-current bZ4X 10–80% in 30 minutes or less Practical use planned for 2026–27
All-solid-state battery 20% more cruising range than the planned next-generation performance-version battery 10–80% in 10 minutes or less Commercialization target of 2027–28
Higher-level solid-state specification 50% more cruising range than the planned next-generation performance-version battery Not stated in Toyota’s June 2023 roadmap Under research and development
High-performance bipolar lithium-ion battery Not stated in Toyota’s June 2023 roadmap Not stated in Toyota’s June 2023 roadmap Targeted for 2027–28

These are Toyota’s company targets and plans as stated in June 2023, not independent test results. The different technologies, comparison batteries, and timelines should remain separate when interpreting the figures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
FOCSPROD for Tesla to J1772 Charger Adapter, Max 60A 250V for NACS to J1772 Electric Vehicles Charging Adapter Compatible with Tesla Mobile/Wall Connectors, Destination Chargers -UL 2252
  • Compatible with J1772 EVs Charging Adapter -for Tesla charger adapter supports up to 60A charging, compatible with Tesla Mobile Connectors, High Powered Wall Connectors, Destination Chargers
  • More Charging Options -FOCSPROD for Tesla to J1772 adapter, enabling your J1772 electric vehicle to charge at over 15,000+ charging stations. Let your EVs have multiple options for charging more conveniently
  • Fast Charging – Supports Level 2 charging up to 60A/250V, delivering stable power transfer with maintained charging speeds(Note: Not compatible with Tesla Superchargers or DC Fast Charge)
  • Safe Charging -This J1772 charging adapter is SGS certified to comply with the UL 2252 standard for safety.Also with security lock features
  • Compact & Portable -for Tesla charger adapter is designed with lightweight, compact, and easy to carry. You can put it anywhere in the electric vehicle, so you can fully charge it quickly and easily on the go

Why the 2027–28 target is not a promise of a finished 900-mile car

Toyota and Idemitsu announced a collaboration in October 2023 focused on mass-production technology for sulfide solid electrolytes, productivity, and supply-chain preparation. Their staged program covered electrolyte development and preparation for a large pilot facility, mass-production work using that facility, and later study of full-scale production. The companies said they aimed for commercialization in 2027–28 followed by full-scale mass production.

Toyota has identified durability as a technical challenge. In the collaboration announcement, Toyota CEO Koji Sato said repeated charging and discharging can cause cracks between the cathodes, anodes, and solid electrolytes, degrading battery performance. The announcement described sulfide electrolytes as promising for high capacity and output, and noted their softness and adhesiveness as traits suited to mass production.

Rank #4
Lectron NACS to CCS Electric Vehicle Adapter with Interlock - (500A/1,000V) - Compatible with Tesla Superchargers - CCS1 EV Fast Charging with Vortex Plus [Check Automaker for Compatibility] - UL 2252
  • ACCESS TESLA SUPERCHARGERS NATIONWIDE - Unlock 25,000+ V3 and V4 Tesla Superchargers. This NACS to CCS adapter enables non-Tesla EVs with Supercharger access to easily connect to the Tesla fast charging network
  • FIRST UL 2252 CERTIFIED ADAPTER - The Vortex Plus is the first publicly available NACS to CCS adapter certified under UL 2252 by SGS (NRTL). Market-leading safety, thermal and mechanical performance.
  • SECURE INTERLOCK DESIGN - Features a built-in interlock mechanism to help ensure a secure connection during high-voltage DC fast charging. Our SAE J3400 (NACS/Tesla) to CCS adapter is built to last for safe high-speed charging.
  • UP TO 150 MILES IN 15 MINUTES – 500A / 1000V RATED - Lightning-fast charging performance. Charge up to 150 miles in as little as 15 minutes with the Lectron Vortex Plus. Charging rates vary based on the Tesla Supercharger generation and your vehicle’s specifications
  • COMPATIBLE WITH SUPPORTED CCS1 EVs - Our NACS to CCS Adapter is designed exclusively for CCS1 EVs that have Supercharger access through their automaker. Not compatible with Tesla vehicles or AC charging stations. Please refer to the included User Manual for complete operating instructions and compatibility requirements.

In October 2025, Toyota and Sumitomo Metal Mining announced a joint development agreement focused on mass-producing cathode materials. They said they had developed a “highly durable cathode material” to address degradation during repeated charging and discharging, while further work remained on performance, quality, safety, and cost reduction for mass production. Toyota retained a 2027–28 target for the market launch of BEVs equipped with all-solid-state batteries.

Toyota Motor Europe had earlier described a first market introduction in 2027–28, targeting 10–80% charging in 10 minutes and capacity of several tens of thousands of vehicles per year. That December 2023 regional statement is an ambition, not evidence that this production capacity has been achieved or that final specifications are settled.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
FOCSPROD for NACS to CCS Adapter with Interlock, Max 500A 1000V Fast Charge for Tesla Supercharger Adapter, CCS1 Electric Vehicle Charger Compatible with Tesla Superchargers -UL 2252
  • NOTE: Verify Compatibility Before Purchase -PLEASE CONFIRM your CCS electric vehicle manufacturer has enabled access to the respective charging network for Tesla Supercharger Protocol(Check Automaker for Compatibility)
  • Currently not compatible with Audi, BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Kia, Mazda, MINI, Nissan, Porsche, STELLANTIS, Toyota, Volkswagen, and Honda. NOT compatible with Level 1 or Level 2 AC chargers
  • NACS to CCS Adapter with Interlock -This NACS dc adapter is SGS certified to comply with the UL 2252 standard for safety. Heavy-duty design with interlock structure for added stability
  • Fast Charging -Compatible with Tesla Supercharger charger adapter rated for 500 amps and 1,000 volts, charge up to 150 miles of range in just 15 minutes(Actual charging speed is determined by the charger's output, your vehicle's battery management system, and environmental conditions)
  • Expand Your Charging Options -This CCS charging adapter charges at 25,000+ V3 and V4 Superchargers DC fast charging stations, providing Multiple Charging Options. Designed for daily commuting, road trips charging needs for more convenient charging flexibility
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What would verify a 900-mile range claim?

A meaningful production-car range claim needs a named vehicle and a defined test basis. When Toyota publishes further specifications, compare the claim against these details rather than treating a development target as a finished result:

  • Vehicle and test: the production model, the range-test cycle, and whether the figure is a certified rating or a company estimate.
  • Comparison point: which battery or vehicle the improvement is measured against.
  • Efficiency assumptions: whether aerodynamics, vehicle weight, or other efficiency changes are included.
  • Charging conditions: the state-of-charge window, charging power, and conditions for any advertised charging time.
  • Production evidence: whether the battery has moved beyond development and pilot work into demonstrated, scaled production.
  • Durability and cost: whether performance over repeated charging, safety, quality, and mass-production cost have been established.

The cited Toyota announcements do not provide a final vehicle model, independent range-test result, or confirmed retail specification. They support describing the technology as under development, with a market-launch target, rather than as a commercially proven 900-mile battery.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.