October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

How Curbside EV Chargers Work and Who Can Install Them

Curbside EV charging uses public street space, so installation depends on city authorization, utility service, eligible applicants, local permits, and a qualified electrical contractor.
Entry382 Date Time9 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Curbside EV chargers use public street space to provide charging where drivers may not have access to a driveway or garage. Because they occupy the public right-of-way and need an approved electrical connection, a resident generally cannot install one at the curb simply by buying a charger: the city must authorize the site, and local rules determine who can apply, what permits are required, and who may perform the electrical work.

The details vary by city. Vancouver, Portland, San Francisco, and New Orleans each use different applicant and permitting rules; Washington, DC’s cited permit status was temporary and should be checked directly. The examples below show how these projects work, not a universal permit recipe.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What a curbside EV charger is—and what it is not

A curbside charger is electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) installed at or near public street parking. It brings charging to a place where a driver parks on the street, rather than in a private garage or dedicated off-street lot. For people without off-street parking, that can make charging accessible without relying on a private driveway installation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

It is also a public-right-of-way project. The equipment, its electrical connection, and often the parking space itself fall under municipal rules. A household’s ability to buy or own charging equipment does not grant permission to occupy a public curb or make an electrical connection there. A private-property home charger is a different project with different approvals.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Many curbside stations are shared public infrastructure, not parking spaces reserved for one household. San Francisco’s curbside program, for example, describes its stations as first-come, first-served and requires a vehicle to be actively charging. Posted parking restrictions continue to apply; local signs and program terms determine whether a space is charging-only and whether parking or charging fees apply.

How the charger gets power

A proposed station needs a workable electrical supply as well as an approved location. The power may come from existing electrical service at a nearby building or facility—sometimes described as a “behind-the-meter” connection—or from a new, dedicated electric service. Which approach is possible depends on the site, utility service, available capacity, and the route for connecting equipment.

That makes utility coordination an early feasibility question, not a final installation detail. The local electric utility or service provider can help establish which utility serves the proposed location and what connection options are available. A city’s site review may also verify utility availability. San Francisco states that streetlight circuits are not available as a power source under its curbside program at present, so a nearby streetlight should not be assumed to provide a usable connection.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
Sale
Grasside 2026 New Level 1&2 EV Charger, 8-16Amp, 25FT Cord, J1772 EV/PHEVs
  • Universal J1772 Compatibility: Designed with a standard J1772 connector, this J1772 charger works with most J1772 electric vehicles and PHEVs, including BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, Rivian, Ford, Chevy, Volkswagen, Toyota and more. Note: Tesla vehicles require a J1772 to Tesla adapter (not included)
  • Flexible Outlet Compatibility: This portable EV charger comes with a NEMA 6-20 plug and a NEMA 5-15/5-20 to 6-20 adapter. Supports Level 1 (8–12A) and Level 2 (16A). Max 12A (1.44kW) on 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets, and full 16A (3.84kW) with a 240V NEMA 6-20 outlet. One charger is designed to cover home, garage, and travel charging needs with reliable performance
  • Adjustable Smart Charging Control: Customize charging safely with adjustable current settings (8A/10A/12A/16A) to match different circuits. The 0–12 hour delay timer helps schedule overnight charging during lower electricity rates. Integrated LCD display shows real-time voltage, current, power, and charging status for clear monitoring without apps. Note: Press 'A' or 'T' for 3s to set and confirm.
  • Home Charging & Travel Backup: For daily home use while remaining fully portable for travel. This level 1 ev charger includes a durable 25FT ev charging cord, providing flexible reach for garage or driveway charging. Charge overnight to take advantage of lower utility rates—potentially saving up to $500 annually on electricity costs. The included carrying case makes storage easy and keeps a dependable backup charger available in your trunk for road trips or visiting friends
  • Engineered For Safety & Durability: Built for dependable daily use, this electric car charger features an IP65 waterproof rating for all weather operation. Equipped with a UL-listed cable, fully rubberized connector, and advanced protection against overcurrent, overheating, and electrical faults. Designed to ensure safe, stable, and long-term charging performance in demanding environments

The cited programs do not establish one standard charger output or configuration for every curb. Boston describes its FLO curbside stations as having a maximum design output of 19.2 kW. That is a city-specific description of those stations, not a general specification for curbside EVSE. The city’s material does not make that figure a measured charging result for every vehicle or operating condition.

Who is allowed to apply or install one?

There is no single national applicant or installer rule established by these municipal programs. The first authority to contact is usually the city or agency that controls the street and sidewalk right-of-way. The utility must then be involved in determining whether the proposed location can be served. Local rules distinguish among the organization that applies, the operator responsible for the station, and the licensed electrical contractor that performs the work; those roles may not belong to the same party.

City or program Who may apply or operate Installation and approval requirements described
Vancouver Approved organizations apply through the city program. The applicant obtains city approval and a licence, secures electrical and street-utility permits, and uses a licensed electrical contractor to build to approved plans.
Portland Utilities and qualifying charging companies can use the right-of-way process. Private individuals, groups, and businesses are not permitted to install chargers in the right-of-way. The process includes a right-of-way utility licence, master lease, site licence agreement, street-opening permit, and temporary street-use permit.
San Francisco An operator needs the program’s Curbside Operator Permit. A site-specific Curbside Site Permit follows. Site review includes neighborhood outreach, utility verification, and a public hearing.
New Orleans The application must be filed by a city-licensed Class A electrician. The city also specifies minimum pedestrian clear-path and equipment-separation requirements.
Washington, DC The cited DDOT information said the permit was not available to individual applicants. That page reported the curbside permit closed on December 16, 2024 while DDOT developed guidelines. This is a dated status statement, not confirmation of the program’s status today; check with DDOT before relying on it.

These examples illustrate why “who can install it?” has two answers. One is who can legally sponsor or apply for use of the public right-of-way. The other is who can perform the electrical construction. In Vancouver, for example, an approved organization applies, but a licensed electrical contractor carries out installation. In New Orleans, the application itself must be filed by a locally licensed Class A electrician. Do not treat one city’s arrangement as a rule for another.

Rank #3
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))
  • Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
  • Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
  • Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
  • Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.

How a curbside charging project typically proceeds

The order and names of approvals differ, but most projects have to resolve site feasibility, right-of-way authorization, utility service, engineering, construction permits, and ongoing operation. Vancouver describes an eight-stage program from site selection through activation; Portland lists a sequence of company licensing and site-permit prerequisites. The following is a practical sequence for understanding the work, not a substitute for a city’s current checklist.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Identify a candidate curb location. Check whether the city’s program accepts proposals for that street and whether the space can accommodate equipment without conflicting with sidewalk access or other local restrictions. Do not assume that a curb outside a residence can be reserved for its occupants.
  2. Ask the city who is eligible to sponsor the project. Confirm whether applications are accepted from residents, utilities, approved organizations, or charging operators. Some programs exclude individuals and ordinary businesses from applying directly.
  3. Contact the serving utility or service provider. Establish which utility serves the site and ask about a connection from existing nearby service versus a new dedicated service. Confirm service availability and capacity for the specific proposed location.
  4. Develop the site proposal and technical documents. The city may require engineering drawings, equipment specifications, a proposed connection route, or other plans for review. The approved design—not an informal sketch or an independently chosen layout—governs construction.
  5. Complete agency and community review. Depending on the program, that can include utility verification, neighborhood outreach, and a public hearing. San Francisco includes all three in its site review.
  6. Secure the right-of-way agreement and permits. Depending on the project, approvals can include a right-of-way licence or lease, a site agreement, an electrical permit, an excavation or street-opening permit, and temporary street-use permission. Apply for the ones required by the local authority, in its prescribed order.
  7. Use the required qualified electrical contractor. The contractor must meet the applicable local licensing rules and install according to the approved plans. A permit or operator agreement may impose further construction conditions.
  8. Install, restore, activate, and operate the site. Construction may require work in the street or sidewalk and restoration of affected public space. The station is then activated under the program’s operating arrangements, which assign responsibility for maintenance and service.

Before committing money to a proposed site, get clear answers in writing on applicant eligibility, utility connection and capacity, required permits, pedestrian clear-path standards, parking and charging rules, insurance and indemnity, construction and restoration costs, and who owns, maintains, and eventually removes the equipment. These are practical questions raised by the municipal requirements; the relevant city’s current rules and written agreement control.

What makes a proposed curb location feasible?

A site can be attractive to nearby drivers and still fail the practical or regulatory checks. Feasibility is a combination of electrical service, street-space constraints, municipal approval, and a workable operating plan. The city and utility determine the applicable standards for a particular address.

Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
  • Electrical supply: Is nearby service usable, or is a new dedicated connection needed? Is capacity available, and can the connection be routed to the proposed equipment?
  • Public-space fit: Can the charger and any associated equipment be placed while meeting the city’s pedestrian clear-path and separation rules? New Orleans, for example, specifies minimum clear-path and equipment-separation requirements.
  • Right-of-way authority: Which city agency controls the curb, and does its program accept the proposed applicant and site?
  • Construction scope: Will work require excavation, a street opening, temporary occupation of the street, or restoration? The applicable permits and cost responsibilities should be known before work begins.
  • Access and parking: Is the space public, charging-only, or subject to other posted parking limits? What happens when a vehicle is parked there but not charging?
  • Operations: Who will set charging terms, collect revenue if applicable, handle faults, maintain the equipment, and decommission it when required?

Comparing local proposals is most useful when it is done on these same dimensions: power source and available capacity; equipment output and number of ports; accessibility and pedestrian clearance; public access and parking rules; utility and construction scope; permits and schedule; installation and restoration costs; ownership and maintenance; outage handling; and user fees. The cited city materials do not establish comparable prices, independent performance tests, or a universally best curbside configuration.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Ownership, charging revenue, fees, and maintenance

There is no single ownership model. Vancouver says its charge point operator collects charging revenue and takes ongoing operating and maintenance responsibility, while applicants are responsible for installation, maintenance, and eventual decommissioning costs. Those statements describe that program’s allocation of responsibilities; anyone proposing a site should read the applicable agreement for the exact division of costs and duties.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Boston describes both a private right-of-way operator model and separate city-owned installations, with vendors handling equipment, installation, and maintenance for the latter. These are distinct arrangements rather than evidence that one party always owns curbside EVSE. The local licence, permit, or operator agreement is where to verify ownership, who sets rates, how revenue is handled, maintenance duties, and removal obligations.

Best Value
Sale
2026 Upgraded Level 1&2 EV Charger for ALL J1772 EV, NEMA5-15/6-20Plug
  • [2026 INTELLIGENT CHARGING UPGRADE — PRECISION CONTROL MEETS SMART SCHEDULING] After surveying 100K+ U.S. EV owners, the Raylix R&D team found that nearly all drivers recognized the necessity of adjustable current and scheduled charging. Our upgraded J1772 charger features 4-level adjustable current (8A/10A/12A/16A) and a 1–12 hour smart delay timer. Whether you're charging overnight or during off-peak hours, enjoy smarter energy use, lower costs, and total convenience—on your schedule.
  • [ONE CHARGER, ALL J1772 EVs/PHEVs READY!] Compatible with all SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids—whether it’s Ford, GM, Nissan, Audi, BMW, Kia, Hyundai, Honda, Chevy, or more. Perfect for home or on-the-road charging, our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger ensures your EV is always powered and ready for any journey.
  • [CHARGE 4× FASTER — NO MORE WAITING] In a rush? Our 16A Level 1 & 2 charger delivers charging speeds up to 4× faster than standard 8A Charger Level 1. Whether it's an early commute, a spontaneous trip, or last-minute errands, your EV will be ready when you are.
  • [LEVEL 1 & 2 PORTABLE CHARGER — CHARGE ANYWHERE, ANYTIME] Designed for maximum flexibility, Raylix Level 1 & 2 EV charger features both 5-15 and 6-20 plug compatibility. Whether you're charging in your garage, at a friend's house, or at a roadside motel. NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 ev charging (240V, 16A, 3.68kW, 9-12 miles/hr) and a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 ev charging (120V, 12A, 1.44kW, 3-5 miles/hr) NOTE: In compliance with North American electrical safety standards, the charger automatically limits current to 12A when using a 5-15 outlet—protecting both your vehicle and your home’s electrical system.
  • [AT-A-GLANCE CHARGING COMMAND: TOTAL CONTROL, INSTANTLY] While most ev chargers solutions confine vital data to in-car screens, the Raylix tesla charger breaks free with its enhanced TFT color display. This Raylix-exclusive feature delivers crystal-clear, real-time updates—voltage, current, power load, AND critical charging temperature—directly on the unit. Just one glance gives you complete charging insight. It’s not just information; it's the empowering peace of mind and satisfying control that transforms every charge into a masterfully managed experience.

For drivers, the city’s signage and the operator’s terms are more reliable than assumptions based on a charger’s appearance. Check posted restrictions for the space, whether charging must be in progress, and any applicable parking or charging fee. San Francisco’s first-come, first-served and active-charging rules are examples for that program, not a citywide standard for other places.

What current city figures do—and do not—tell you

Municipal figures describe particular programs and dates; they should not be read as nationwide deployment totals or performance guarantees.

  • Boston: The City of Boston describes its FLO curbside stations as having a maximum design output of 19.2 kW. The page does not state a publication year. This is a design-output figure for the named stations, not an independent test or a general curbside-charger specification.
  • New York City: In an August 4, 2026 announcement, NYC DOT said it planned 600 new curbside charging points over three years, building on 88 existing Level 2 curbside points. These are announcement figures; deployment status may have changed since the announcement.
  • San Francisco: The San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency’s 2026 page refers to more than 1,300 public off-street chargers. The underlying count date is not specified, and the figure concerns off-street chargers, not curbside installations.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming a resident can claim the curb. Public right-of-way access is governed by the city. Owning a home or charging unit does not by itself create a right to install equipment in the street.
  • Hiring an electrician before confirming the project sponsor. A qualified contractor cannot substitute for an eligible applicant, operator authorization, or right-of-way licence.
  • Assuming the nearest pole or streetlight is a power source. Service arrangements are site-specific; San Francisco explicitly says streetlight circuits are unavailable under its program at present.
  • Applying under another city’s rules. Applicant categories, required agreements, licenses, permits, and pedestrian-clearance standards vary by jurisdiction.
  • Treating an old permit notice as current. Washington, DC’s cited December 16, 2024 closure notice may no longer describe the current program. Verify status with DDOT before planning around it.
  • Ignoring long-term responsibility. An installation plan is incomplete unless it identifies who operates and maintains the station, pays for restoration or decommissioning, and handles the public-facing parking and charging terms.

Where to start for a specific address

For a proposed location, start with the municipality’s current curbside-charging or right-of-way program, not with equipment shopping. Ask the city which agency owns the permitting decision, whether the program is open, and who is eligible to apply. Then confirm utility service and site capacity, identify required technical plans and permits, and obtain the written agreement that allocates installation, operating, maintenance, revenue, and removal responsibilities.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If the municipality has no active program or the applicant is not eligible, do not proceed with unpermitted curb construction. Ask the city whether it has a process for future proposals or whether another public charging location is appropriate. Rules, tariffs, utility availability, and program status can change; only the city and utility can confirm what applies at the address now.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.