For many U.S. EV owners, the cordset supplied with the car and a suitable 120-volt outlet are enough to cover daily driving with overnight charging. You may want 240-volt Level 2 equipment if you need more energy in the time the car is parked, but it requires compatible equipment and an electrical supply that can support it. Before buying or installing a charger, check the vehicle maker’s guidance, have a qualified electrician assess the home, and ask your local permitting authority what approvals apply.
What do you need to install a home EV charger?
Start with three questions: how much energy does your driving use, how long is the car usually parked at home, and what charging equipment and electrical supply does your vehicle support? Those answers determine whether the supplied Level 1 cordset is sufficient or whether it is worth investigating Level 2 equipment and installation.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Home charging equipment is often called an EV charger, but the car itself contains the equipment that manages charging its battery. The home unit—also called electric vehicle supply equipment, or EVSE—provides power to the vehicle through a compatible connection. The practical decision is not simply which unit to buy: it is whether the vehicle, equipment, circuit, home electrical service, installation location, and local requirements all fit together.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteThere is no single panel rating, breaker size, or installation plan that applies to every house. A qualified electrician needs to assess the specific home before recommending electrical work. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) provides an overview of home charging equipment and installation considerations.
#1 Best Overall
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Is the Level 1 cordset that came with the car enough?
Many EVs include a Level 1 cordset that can plug into a standard 120-volt household outlet. AFDC says many drivers can meet daily driving needs by charging overnight this way if a suitable outlet on a dedicated branch circuit is available near the parking space. Whether it works for you depends on your driving, the time the vehicle is plugged in, and the car’s charging capability—not just whether there is an outlet within reach.
AFDC’s general estimates are 2–5 miles of driving range per hour for Level 1 and 10–30 miles per hour for Level 2. These are broad estimates, not a promise of the rate any particular vehicle will achieve; actual charging varies with the car, equipment, battery state, and conditions. AFDC’s consumer information gives these ranges but does not state a publication year on the page. Check your vehicle maker’s specifications and guidance for what to expect from your model.
A plug-in hybrid may have different energy needs from a full battery-electric vehicle, and even two EV drivers with similar commutes may have different charging routines. Think about your normal driving as well as less predictable days: a longer trip, a late return, or two household vehicles sharing charging time may affect whether the available overnight window is enough.
Rank #2
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
If Level 1 meets your needs, installing Level 2 is not automatically necessary. If the car regularly needs more energy than the usual parking period can supply, or your schedule leaves little time to charge, Level 2 may be worth assessing.
Level 1 and Level 2: what changes?
| Option | Supply and setup | Typical fit | What to check |
|---|---|---|---|
| Level 1 cordset | Uses a 120-volt outlet; most EVs include a cordset. | Drivers whose daily needs can be met during overnight charging. | Whether the nearby outlet is on a suitable dedicated branch circuit, and whether the vehicle’s charge rate suits your routine. |
| Level 2 EVSE | Uses 240-volt supply; equipment may be portable or hardwired. It may need a new circuit or other electrical work. | Drivers with greater daily energy needs, less regular schedules, or limited parking time. | Vehicle compatibility, home electrical capacity, installation location, permits, and total site-specific cost. |
The charging rates in the comparison are AFDC’s general estimates, not guaranteed performance. A higher-power home unit does not ensure the vehicle can accept power at that rate: the vehicle’s own charging capability and compatible connector matter too. Consult the vehicle manufacturer’s guidance and connector specifications before selecting equipment. AFDC’s EV consumer guide covers home charging options and vehicle considerations.
How to decide which setup fits your household
- Check your vehicle’s requirements. Find the manufacturer’s information on compatible equipment, connector type, and charging capability. Do not assume that a unit will work with your vehicle solely because it is marketed for home EV charging.
- Estimate your real charging need. Consider typical daily driving and the number of hours the car is parked at home. Account for irregular schedules and other vehicles that may need the same charging time.
- Look at the parking-space setup. Note where the vehicle parks and whether an appropriate outlet is nearby. For a Level 2 installation, record a possible equipment location and the route to the parking space; the electrician can evaluate the actual circuit and installation requirements.
- Ask an electrician to assess capacity. For Level 1, confirm the suitability of the outlet and branch circuit. For Level 2, ask whether the home can support the equipment and what circuits or other electrical work may be required.
- Check local approvals before work. Contact the local building or permitting authority to learn whether a permit, inspection, or installation plan is required. Do this before scheduling installation or assuming a particular scope of work.
- Compare complete, written estimates. Separate the equipment price from electrical work and any permit or other site costs. Confirm what the estimate includes and whether the proposed equipment and location meet your vehicle and local requirements.
What electrical work might Level 2 require?
Residential Level 2 charging uses 240-volt equipment, supplied through a compatible electrical installation. An electrician should determine whether the existing service has adequate capacity and what installation is appropriate. Depending on the home and the proposed equipment, work may involve adding a circuit; a service upgrade is not required for every home.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Do not choose equipment based on a guessed panel capacity or copy a breaker specification from another installation. Electrical systems, charging equipment, vehicle limits, and local code requirements differ. The relevant assessment is specific to the home, the equipment, and the rest of the electrical load.
Recommended Free Tools
AFDC identifies EV charging as a continuous load under the National Electrical Code (NEC) and notes that NEC Article 625 covers much of the applicable charging-equipment information. Which code provisions and editions apply depends on local adoption. For broader guidance on code compliance and charging-station installation, see AFDC’s procurement and installation guidance.
Permits, contractors, and safety checks
Installation rules are local and may also depend on state requirements. A permit may be required, and some authorities require an installation plan for approval. Check with the relevant local authority before work begins rather than assuming that a particular installation is exempt.
Rank #4
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
AFDC’s installation guidance says charging-station installations must comply with applicable local and state codes and be completed by a licensed electrical contractor. Homeowner rules can differ by location, so ask the local authority what applies and use a qualified electrician familiar with the locally adopted electrical code. The assessment should address the proposed equipment and site, not just the nominal voltage.
Choose equipment with recognized safety certification. AFDC recommends checking for certified equipment, including products certified under ENERGY STAR, and using a certified electrical contractor. A certification is a product-screening consideration, not a substitute for checking compatibility, installation instructions, local requirements, or the home’s capacity.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The Department of Energy’s Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP) also publishes guidance on purchasing energy-efficient EVSE, updated in June 2023. Its modeled efficiency figures use federal-facility electricity assumptions and a modeled 10-year life; they are not a household savings estimate or installation quote. See the FEMP EVSE purchasing guidance for that federal procurement context.
Best Value
- WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Can a home EV charger be installed outdoors?
Yes, if the equipment is rated for outdoor installation and use. AFDC states: “Outdoor installations require outdoor-rated equipment.” That includes charging in rain when the equipment is suitable for outdoor use; follow the manufacturer’s installation and use instructions.
Consider the entire route from the equipment to the vehicle, not just the wall location. Position the unit and cord to reduce the chance of vehicle contact and avoid creating a trip hazard. Have the electrician assess the proposed location and installation method, especially where the vehicle parks outside.
How much do home charging equipment and installation cost?
AFDC’s consumer page gives a typical Level 2 equipment range of $500–$4,000 before installation and incentives. The page does not state a publication year for this broad range, so treat it as general guidance rather than a current quote for a particular model or market.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Separately, AFDC’s installation page cites approximately $1,300 per residential Level 2 connector for installation, excluding labor and permitting costs, from a National Laboratory of the Rockies and Idaho National Laboratory report. The AFDC page does not state the report’s publication year. This figure has a different scope from the equipment range and should not be treated as an all-in price or a quote for your property.
A household estimate can change with wiring needs, distance and route to the parking location, trenching, labor, permitting, location, and whether an electrical service change is needed. Incentives may also affect the amount paid, but availability varies; check current local and utility programs directly. Ask an electrician for a site-specific written estimate that identifies what is and is not included.
Quick Recap
Common mistakes to avoid
- Buying before checking compatibility: Verify the vehicle’s connector and charging guidance before choosing EVSE.
- Assuming every nearby outlet is suitable: Have the circuit and outlet assessed rather than relying on appearance or proximity.
- Assuming Level 2 always means a service upgrade: Capacity and required work are determined for the specific home; an electrician may find that a new circuit is sufficient, or that other work is needed.
- Confusing equipment price with installed cost: The EVSE price does not establish the cost of wiring, labor, permits, or site work.
- Starting without checking permits: Ask the local authority what approvals and inspections apply before installation.
- Using indoor-only equipment outside: Select equipment rated for the installation location and keep its cord route clear of traffic and walkways.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




