October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Home EV Charging vs. Public Charging: Cost, Convenience, and Setup

Home charging is often the cheaper routine option when you have suitable parking and electrical access. Compare local rates, installation costs, charging speed, and public-station availability before deciding.
Entry555 Date Time9 min MechanicCarCody Team

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For routine charging, home is usually cheaper and more convenient if you have a reliable place to park and suitable electrical access. Public chargers are useful when you are away from home or need a faster stop on a trip, but public charging—especially DC fast charging—often costs more than residential electricity. The right choice depends on your local rates, the car’s efficiency and charging capability, parking access, and any cost to install home equipment.

This guide covers U.S. consumer considerations. The examples below are not a personalized quote or a current nationwide price comparison: utility rates, network fees, installation needs, and local requirements vary.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How home and public EV charging differ

Home charging uses electricity supplied at your residence, typically through a standard outlet or installed charging equipment. Public charging uses stations available at places such as destinations and highway corridors. Either setting can offer AC charging; public locations may also have DC fast charging (DCFC), which can add range more quickly when the vehicle supports it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

“Home versus public” is not simply a comparison of two electricity prices. Home charging can require equipment and electrical work, while public charging generally avoids a personal installation but may involve station fees, a paid parking space, or a detour and waiting time. The practical comparison is the total cost and effort of meeting your regular driving needs.

#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Consideration Home charging Public charging
Energy price Your residential tariff; an overnight or EV-specific utility plan may have a lower rate. The station network may bill by energy, session, time, or subscription. Some locations offer free charging.
Upfront expense Level 1 may require no additional equipment if an appropriate outlet is available. Level 2 can require equipment and installation or other electrical work. You generally avoid installing a personal station, though charging and parking fees may apply.
Charging options Level 1 or Level 2 AC charging; actual speed depends on the vehicle and electrical supply. Public Level 2 or DCFC, depending on the location and vehicle compatibility.
Convenience Charging can happen while the car is parked at home, including overnight, if you have dependable parking and suitable access. Useful at destinations and on routes, but requires finding a working, available compatible station and possibly making a charging stop.
Access constraints Depends on electrical capacity, parking rights, property permission, and installation requirements. Depends on location, availability, payment rules, posted price, and connector compatibility.

Is it cheaper to charge an EV at home or at a public charger?

Home charging is often less expensive per unit of energy, but the result is local. Compare the per-kWh rate on your electric bill—including any time-of-use schedule—with the station’s actual pricing structure. Then account for parking charges and any installation cost you would incur to charge at home. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center (DOE AFDC) says drivers can normally expect to pay more at public stations, especially DCFC stations, than for electricity used at home; some locations do offer free charging.

Compare the costs on a like-for-like basis

Start with the car’s energy use or range estimate, then compare the cost of supplying enough energy for the same driving distance. A useful calculation is:

Energy cost for a given distance = energy needed for that distance × the applicable price per kWh.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For home charging, use the rate that applies when you expect to charge, rather than assuming the bill’s average rate applies at every hour. For public charging, read the station’s displayed price and billing unit: a per-kWh price, session charge, time-based fee, or subscription is not directly comparable until you know how the station bills your use. Add any parking fee that is required to access the charger.

Rank #2
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

The DOE AFDC consumer page gives an illustrative U.S. calculation of 12.3 cents per kWh and $2.46 to add 100 miles of range. Its publication year is not stated on the retrieved page, and the figure is an example rather than a current universal price. Your result will differ with electricity rates and vehicle efficiency.

Why a charging session is not the whole cost comparison

A home Level 2 installation has an upfront cost that does not appear on the electricity bill. If you are deciding whether to install one, consider how often you will use it, what Level 1 can cover, and whether installation work is needed. Public charging may have a higher per-session cost but no personal charger installation to pay for. A driver who charges publicly only occasionally faces a different trade-off from someone who depends on public stations for most routine charging.

The DOE AFDC home-charging page gives a separate example: 10.7 cents per kWh and about $6 for a full 54 kWh charge. That example assumes a 200-mile-range EV with a fully depleted 54 kWh battery; it is not a current average or a quote for a typical charging session. DOE’s retrieved consumer pages do not establish a dated, apples-to-apples nationwide average for home versus public charging. Treat the examples as illustrations, not as a forecast of your bill.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How fast are Level 1, Level 2, and DC fast chargers?

Charging level affects how long the vehicle needs to be plugged in, but a charger’s label alone does not determine the result. The vehicle’s supported charging level and the available electrical supply both matter. DOE’s general estimates are:

Rank #3
Sale
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger 40Amp, 240V 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Stations with NEMA 14-50P, 25FT Cable Adjustable Current/Timing Delay Home Electric Car Charger for J1772 BEVs/PHEVs
  • ⚡ Fast, Flexible Charging You Control- Equipped with a NEMA 14-50 plug and adjustable current (10A to 40A), the EVDANCE EV Charger gives you total control over your charging speed. Whether you're topping off at work or doing an overnight charge at home, simply tap the control button to select your ideal amperage. It’s precision charging, made easy NOTE: It is necessary to use a J1772 to Tesla adapter(not including) when charging your Tesla vehicles
  • 8X Faster Charging: The EVDANCE ev charger level 2 comes with a NEMA 14-50 plug, charging at 240V and the maximum current can reach 40A, which can provide maximum 9.6kWh charging power. Experience unparalleled speed at approximately 8x faster than level 1 ev chargers
  • Adjustable Charging Current: EVDANCE Level 2 charger supports adjustable currents settings ranging from 10A to 40A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A/40A). Just touch the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs
  • Delayed Charging Function: With the delay start feature, you can set your charging time(delay 1-12 hrs), staggering the peak usage period and reducing your energy costs
  • Intelligent 2.4"" TFT Display & & LED Indicators: Our 40A electric car charger equipped with a large 2.4"" TFT screen, it provides clear and real-time charging information, including charging current/voltage/power kWh, charging time and work status, etc.The LED indicator on the control box provides real-time charging status
Charging type General DOE range estimate Where it fits
Level 1 2–5 miles of range per hour Overnight or longer parking periods when the driver’s daily needs can be met at this pace.
Level 2 10–30 miles of range per hour Home or public AC charging when more range per parking hour is useful.
DC fast charging 100–200+ miles of range in 30 minutes A faster public charging stop, particularly for trips, when the vehicle and station are compatible.

These are broad estimates, not guaranteed charging speeds for a particular car or station. Check the vehicle specifications and actual station details before relying on a speed estimate for a schedule. A faster charger is only useful if the car can accept that type of charging and the charging location is operating and available.

Do you need a Level 2 charger at home?

Not necessarily. Level 1 can be sufficient for some drivers if a suitable outlet is close to the parking space and the car can remain connected long enough to meet routine needs. DOE AFDC notes that Level 1 does not require special equipment and that most EVs come with a cordset. Follow the vehicle maker’s instructions and confirm the outlet is appropriate for vehicle charging; do not assume every convenient outlet is suitable.

Level 2 may make sense when Level 1 does not replenish the energy you need in the time the car is parked, or when you want faster home charging. It typically uses 240 V equipment. The decision should be based on your vehicle, parking arrangements, electrical capacity, and expected charging pattern—not on speed alone.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Questions to answer before buying equipment

  • What charging levels and connectors does your vehicle support?
  • Can the vehicle stay parked and connected long enough for Level 1 to meet your regular needs?
  • Is there an appropriate outlet near the parking space, and does the vehicle maker’s guidance allow the intended setup?
  • If considering Level 2, what electrical capacity is available, where would the equipment go, and what work or permits would the installation require?
  • Do you own the parking space and have permission to install equipment there?

How much does it cost to install a home EV charger?

There is no single installed price that applies to every home. Equipment cost is only part of the estimate: installation can depend on the distance from the electrical panel, required amperage, electrical capacity, circuit work, permits, or a panel or service upgrade. Get a current quote for the property rather than treating a national range as a promise.

Rank #4
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Source and scope Published guidance on the retrieved page How to interpret it
DOE AFDC consumer page: Level 2 equipment $500–$4,000, before installation and incentives Broad equipment guidance; the page’s publication year is not stated.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA): home charging setup $400–$1,000 for equipment and $300–$2,000 for installation The EPA identifies setup, distance from the panel, amperage, and upgrades as cost drivers; the page’s publication year is not stated.

These figures come from different official pages and do not establish one directly comparable installed-cost range. They may reflect different sources or scopes, and the DOE AFDC equipment range specifically excludes installation and incentives. Ask a licensed local electrical contractor to assess the site, identify any required work, and provide a current estimate. Check with your utility and local authorities about applicable plans, incentives, and permitting; availability and requirements depend on where you live.

How to set up home charging

  1. Check the car’s charging instructions. Confirm supported charging levels, connectors, and any vehicle-maker guidance for the cordset or charging equipment.
  2. Assess your parking and electrical access. Identify whether you have dependable access to the space, an appropriate outlet for Level 1, and the permission needed to use or alter the property.
  3. Decide whether Level 1 can meet your routine needs. Compare the car’s required charging with the time it is normally parked. If Level 1 is not enough, investigate Level 2 rather than assuming an outlet will suffice.
  4. For Level 2, obtain a site-specific assessment before purchasing. Ask the utility and a licensed electrical contractor about capacity, equipment location, circuit work, permits, and possible panel or service upgrades.
  5. Compare current local costs and plans. Get an installation estimate and check the utility’s rates, time-of-use schedules, and any available incentives in your service territory.
  6. Use the approved setup as instructed. Follow the vehicle maker’s instructions and the equipment and installation guidance provided for your particular setup.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Can you charge an EV if you live in an apartment?

Possibly, but access should be confirmed before you rely on home charging. A resident may need to coordinate with a landlord, building owner, condominium association, or parking operator. The practical questions include whether you have an assigned or dependable parking space, whether charging equipment can be installed or made available there, how electrical work and costs would be handled, and whether building rules permit the arrangement.

Multifamily charging is a distinct setup from installing equipment in a single-family home. The available national guidance does not settle building-specific access, cost allocation, or legal requirements. Ask the property decision-maker about the actual parking and electrical arrangement, and check local requirements rather than assuming that a general rule applies to your building.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

When does public charging make more sense?

Public charging is valuable when home charging is unavailable, when you are away from your regular parking location, or when a faster stop is useful for a trip. Public Level 2 can serve a destination stop; DCFC can add range more quickly on a route if both the car and station support the required charging. It can also be a practical bridge while you arrange a home setup or when your daily schedule does not allow enough time for slower charging.

Best Value
EVDANCE Level 2 EV Charger (32Amp, 240V, NEMA 14-50P), 7.68kW Fast Portable & Home Electric Car Charger with 25ft Cable, Adjustable Current/Delay Chargin for J1772 EVs
  • ✅【Fast & Adjustable Charging Power – Up to 7.68kWh, 16A–32A Output】This Level 2 portable EV charger delivers up to 32A and 7.68kWh for fast, efficient charging. Easily adjust current based on your home circuit: 32A for 40A, 24A for 30A, or 16A for 20A breakers. Simply long-press the “A” button to change amperage when pluged in,You can easily adjust the current (16A/24A/32A) to match your home circuit — no electrician required.
  • ✅【Wide Compatibility – J1772 Connector for All Non-Tesla EVs】Equipped with a standard SAE J1772 plug, this EV charger works with most North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including models from Ford, GM, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, BMW, and more. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter (not included).
  • ✅【Smart LED Screen】You Can View real-time charging data on the LED screen: amperage, voltage, speed, and delay settings. Stay fully informed with the built-in LED display that shows real-time charging data, including amperage, voltage, charging speed, and delay settings,Easily schedule your charging sessions during off-peak hours to save on electricity bills, set custom delays, It’s all about charging smarter, not just faster
  • ✅ 【Smart Charging for Long-Term EV Care】: EVDANCE Level 2 EV charger offers flexible amperage settings ranging from 10A to 32A (10A/16A/20A/24A/32A). With a simple touch of the "A" button, you can easily select the appropriate charging speed to suit your specific needs. Lower amperage charging can reduce heat and extend battery health over time. Choose the current that suits your car and charging scenario — fast when you need it, gentle when you don’t.
  • ✅【Built for Safety & Durability 】The EV charger is designed to handle tough environments with NEMA Type 4/IP66-grade protection against dust and water. While it’s not recommended for installation in direct sunlight or heavy rain, it performs reliably in garages, carports, and covered outdoor areas. The 25-foot military-grade charging cable features a drop-resistant plug tested to withstand over 10,000 insertions — built to last, wherever you charge.

Check a public station before depending on it

  • Confirm the connector and charging level are compatible with your vehicle.
  • Check the station’s reported status and availability, then confirm the posted price and billing method.
  • Verify the payment method and any account or subscription conditions that apply.
  • Read the parking rules and check whether parking costs are separate from charging.
  • For a trip, identify a suitable alternative rather than relying on a single station. DOE AFDC provides a Station Locator, and its consumer guidance advises calling ahead to confirm operation and availability.

A station listed on a map is not by itself a guarantee that it will be available when you arrive. Pricing, station status, payment rules, and parking terms are location-specific, so check the actual station information before setting out.

Choosing a charging mix for your routine

For drivers with dependable home parking and suitable electrical access, home charging can handle routine needs while public stations provide flexibility for destinations or longer journeys. If Level 1 covers the driving you do between parking periods, a Level 2 installation may not be necessary. If it does not, compare the cost and practicality of a Level 2 setup with the frequency and expense of public charging.

If home access is uncertain, first find out what charging your property can actually support. Then identify public options near your regular destinations and routes, including their compatibility, payment rules, prices, and reliability. That gives you a realistic picture of whether public charging can serve as a regular option or is better treated as backup and trip support.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Revisit the comparison if your utility rates, parking access, vehicle, or routine changes. Home equipment is a site-specific investment, while public charging depends on station locations and terms that can differ from one place to another.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date05 OCT 26Time4 minCan Kia's EVs Become Swiss Army Knives for Family Adventure?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.