Tesla’s U.S. recall history includes both physical-component problems and software remedies. Among its largest campaigns was a 2023 Autosteer recall affecting more than two million vehicles dating to 2012, while other recalls addressed airbag compatibility and battery-pack contactors. These are selected, documented examples—not a complete list of Tesla recalls worldwide or a lifetime count. To find out whether a particular car is affected, check its VIN with Tesla or NHTSA.
Selected milestones in Tesla’s U.S. recall history
The examples below show different kinds of safety issues and how recall information can change. A vehicle population in one campaign is not the same thing as a count of unique cars repaired, owners notified, or separate incidents.
| Recall or development | Vehicles or population | Issue identified | Remedy or status established here |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 Autosteer driver-monitoring recall | More than two million vehicles dating to 2012, according to the Associated Press’s December 2023 report | NHTSA said the driver-monitoring system could lead to “foreseeable misuse.” Tesla disagreed with that conclusion. | Tesla chose a software update that strengthened driver monitoring, according to the Associated Press. The quoted characterization is NHTSA’s, as reported by AP. |
| 2023 driver-airbag retrofit recall, NHTSA 23V-743 | Selected 2021–2023 Model S and Model X vehicles | A steering-wheel retrofit could leave a vehicle with a driver-airbag variant intended for the other wheel type. NHTSA said the mismatch could reduce airbag performance in a deployment and increase collision injury risk. | The NHTSA summary described here does not state the remedy details or completion status. |
| 2025 amendment to the airbag recall | Tesla’s chronology identified 35 additional potentially affected U.S. vehicles | Review of records changed the affected population. | The amendment is documented by Tesla; the current completion status is not established here. |
| Battery-pack contactor recall | Certain vehicles; the model years and population are not stated in Tesla’s description summarized here | A poor coil-termination connection may cause certain contactors to open, potentially resulting in sudden loss of propulsion. | Tesla describes a no-charge replacement remedy and directs owners to check their VIN. |
What these recalls show—and what the totals mean
Recalls can involve software as well as parts
The Autosteer campaign used a software update, while the airbag and contactor examples concern physical components. Tesla’s support information also lists recall subjects involving steering, seat belts, cameras, accelerator pedals, and airbags. A recall is therefore not necessarily a workshop parts replacement; the remedy depends on the specific campaign.
Campaign populations can change
Tesla’s 2025 amendment adding 35 potentially affected U.S. vehicles illustrates that a recall population may be revised after records are reviewed. A figure reported for one point in a campaign’s history should not automatically be treated as its final population.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems#1 Best Overall
- Boy's model toy car: The body is made of alloy material, with exquisite paint craftsmanship and good durability.
- Realistic alloy model car: The 1:32 interior decoration is realistic, with six doors that can be opened. The steering wheel and seats have simulated designs.
- Toy car with lights and music: Opening the car door can light up the lights and simulate the sound of an engine starting. It's a toy car that boys like.
- Companion to Decoration and Cake Decorations: It plays a great decorative role on display cabinets at home and is a great decoration for boys' birthday cake parties.
- Gift selection for toy cars for boys aged 3-12: This gift is suitable for children aged 3 and above and is a collectible for car enthusiasts.
Annual vehicle totals are not repair counts
NHTSA’s 2025 Annual Report, published in March 2026, reports 2,365,332 Tesla vehicles for recall year 2023 in its year-by-manufacturer totals. That is NHTSA’s annual manufacturer figure—not a count of unique incidents, owners, or vehicles repaired. It should not be substituted for the affected population of an individual campaign, such as the Autosteer recall reported by AP.
How to check whether a Tesla is affected
- Find the vehicle identification number (VIN). Use the VIN for the specific Tesla you want to check.
- Search Tesla’s recall information or NHTSA’s VIN recall lookup. A general history article cannot confirm a particular car’s status.
- Follow the official campaign instructions if a recall appears. Tesla says recall service is free regardless of the vehicle’s age or mileage. For the battery-contactor campaign, Tesla specifically directs owners to a VIN check.
- Check again if you need an up-to-date result. Recall records and affected populations can be amended; a historical description does not establish a vehicle’s current remedy or completion status.
Recall records are not investigation records
NHTSA keeps recalls and investigations in separate tools because they are different records and milestones. A recall record documents a recall campaign; an investigation is a separate agency process. For a complete, current view of a vehicle or issue, use the relevant NHTSA recall and investigation routes rather than treating one as a substitute for the other.
Rank #2
- Made of zinc alloy with ABS plastic parts
- 5.9 inch x 2.2 inch x 1.8 inch(size)
- The two sides of doors could be opened,front and back covercould be opened too
- You can pull back the car,then it can move forwards with Lights and Sound
- Very suitable as children 4 years and up toys for birthday,Christmas gift, new year. Also it can be a gift for your boyfriend
How complete is this history?
This is an overview of selected, well-documented U.S. examples, not a year-by-year export, a worldwide chronology, or a complete lifetime count. NHTSA distinguishes the date an issue was reported from the date a recall is published, so those dates should not be treated as interchangeable. The examples also do not establish whether every affected vehicle has received its remedy.
Quick Recap
Best Value
- Made of zinc alloy with ABS plastic parts
- 5.9 inch x 2.2 inch x 1.8 inch(size)
- The two sides of doors could be opened,front and back covercould be opened too
- You can pull back the car,then it can move forwards with Lights and Sound
- Very suitable as children 4 years and up toys for birthday,Christmas gift, new year. Also it can be a gift for your boyfriend
Rank #4
- Made of zinc alloy with ABS plastic parts
- 5.9 inch x 2.2 inch x 1.8 inch(size)
- The two sides of doors could be opened,front and back covercould be opened too
- You can pull back the car,then it can move forwards with Lights and Sound
- Very suitable as children 4 years and up toys for birthday,Christmas gift, new year. Also it can be a gift for your boyfriend
Rank #3
- ❄️ All-Weather Durable Body – Made with cold-resistant & impact-proof pvc materials, this boys pickup toy truck is perfect for winter play and holiday gifts!
- 🔋 2 Rechargeable Batteries + Extra Charging Cables – Remote control car can Enjoy up to 1 hour of playtime without frequent battery swaps. (Includes 2x 400mAh batteries + 2 USB cables for convenience!)
- ⚡ High-Speed RC Trucks Thrills (18 KM/H!) – Front-wheel drive for stable racing fun, ideal for kids aged 3+ to compete safely.
- 💡 Cool Adjustable LED Lights – This rc cars for kids is customize multicolor light modes and unique design for an epic nighttime driving experience!
- 👶 Kid-Friendly Ergonomic Remote – Designed for small hands with a comfortable grip, making steering easy & fun!
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.




