Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Ford’s $3 Billion Super Duty Investment Shows How Its EV Strategy Is Changing

Ford’s $3 billion Oakville investment is primarily for up to 100,000 additional Super Duty trucks beginning in 2026—not a confirmed electric Super Duty. Here is how the plant pivot fits Ford’s broader shift toward gasoline, hybrid, extended-range, and battery-electric vehicles.
Entry800 Date Time11 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ford’s roughly $3 billion investment in its biggest trucks is a shift in timing and factory priorities, not a complete retreat from EVs. The money is primarily going toward additional F-Series Super Duty production at Oakville Assembly Complex in Ontario, where Ford expects to add up to 100,000 trucks beginning in 2026. The plant will retain flexibility for future electrified powertrains, but Ford has not confirmed an all-electric Super Duty or a specific electrified model.

Ford’s approximately $3 billion investment was not an all-electric Super Duty program. Announced on July 18, 2024, the plan primarily moved factory capacity toward the company’s high-demand, high-profit F-Series Super Duty trucks while keeping Oakville Assembly Complex flexible enough to support future electrified powertrains.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Ford plans to begin assembling Super Duty trucks at Oakville in Ontario in 2026, adding initial capacity of up to 100,000 vehicles alongside Kentucky Truck Plant and Ohio Assembly Plant. The decision came after Ford delayed a planned three-row EV for Oakville and as the company reconsidered the cost, timing, and customer demand for large battery-electric vehicles.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The larger story is therefore not that Ford abandoned electrification. It is that the automaker has moved toward a customer-choice strategy: gasoline and hybrid powertrains for some vehicles, extended-range electric technology for selected larger vehicles, and battery-electric vehicles where Ford believes the economics and demand are stronger.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
Best Choice Products 12V Licensed Chevrolet Silverado Ride On Truck, Electric Car Toy w/Parent Remote Control, Truck Bed Storage, Bluetooth Speaker, LED Lights, 2.5 MPH Max Speed - Blue
  • REALISTIC DRIVING ACTION: Give your kids a realistic behind-the-wheel experience with controls sized for small hands and a powerful 12V battery that runs up to 1 hour on a full charge and a max speed of 2.5 mph
  • MANUAL AND PARENT CONTROL: Let your child drive manually or use the remote control to safely guide them yourself; remote has forward/reverse and left/right controls
  • PERFECTLY SIZED: Precision designed to accurately recreate the Chevrolet Silverado truck, scaled down so your little ones can have a fun-sized ride
  • CHILD-FRIENDLY DESIGN: Includes a battery-powered steering wheel, a seat harness with locking doors, a truck bed for easy toy storage, and functional headlights for interactive fun!
  • BLUETOOTH CONNECTIVITY: A built-in sound system allows kids to connect their media devices and enjoy their drive with their favorite music; OVERALL DIMENSIONS: 42.9"(L) x 28.4"(W) x 25.2"(H); WEIGHT CAPACITY: 66 lbs.

What Ford’s $3 billion investment actually covers

Item What Ford announced
Primary vehicle F-Series Super Duty trucks
New production site Oakville Assembly Complex in Ontario
Production timing Beginning in 2026
Added Oakville capacity Initially up to 100,000 trucks
Total investment Approximately $3 billion
Oakville allocation Approximately $2.3 billion for new assembly and integrated stamping operations
Other effects Additional Windsor Engine Complex and U.S. component-facility investments
Employment impact Approximately 1,800 Canadian jobs at Oakville and about 150 Windsor jobs tied to increased V8 engine production

Ford said Oakville would supplement Kentucky Truck Plant and Ohio Assembly Plant, both of which were operating at full capacity. The company described the Super Duty line as one of its most popular and profitable vehicle families, especially among commercial customers served by Ford Pro.

The investment was not described as a $3 billion battery-electric truck program. Most of the announced money is for the ability to build more Super Duty trucks, including new assembly and stamping operations at Oakville. Related engine and component investments support the broader production plan.

Why Oakville’s mission changed

The July 2024 decision reversed the immediate manufacturing sequence Ford had announced for the plant.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

In April 2023, Ford announced a C$1.8 billion transformation of Oakville Assembly Complex into a high-volume EV manufacturing hub. That plan included vehicle assembly and battery-pack assembly, with next-generation EV production expected to begin in 2025.

On April 4, 2024, Ford postponed the planned three-row electric vehicle from 2025 to 2027. Ford said it needed more time for the market to develop and wanted to use emerging battery technologies. Just over three months later, the company announced that Oakville would instead begin building Super Duty trucks in 2026.

That change did not necessarily mean the three-row EV was permanently canceled. It did mean that its expected production path and timing changed again. Contemporaneous reporting also described the Super Duty plan as a further delay to that EV project and said the plant would be configured for a flexible, “multi-energy” future.

In practical terms, Ford chose to use Oakville’s near-term capacity for a truck line with established demand rather than immediately dedicate the complex to a large EV whose business case was less certain. This is a factory-allocation decision as much as it is a powertrain decision.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why Super Duty capacity was attractive to Ford

Ford’s rationale was unusually direct: it said demand from Ford Pro customers exceeded available Super Duty production.

Kentucky Truck Plant and Ohio Assembly Plant produced more than 200,000 Super Duty trucks during the first half of 2024, according to Ford. The company also said order banks remained healthy after the launch of the 2024 model year.

Super Duty trucks serve customers in construction, utilities, mining, emergency services, and other industries that depend on heavy-duty hauling and towing. Those buyers often purchase through commercial channels, where uptime, payload, towing capability, and body or equipment compatibility can matter more than the factors that tend to drive mass-market EV adoption.

Ford did not publish a specific profit figure for the Oakville project in the announcement. Still, the strategic logic is clear: adding capacity to a profitable truck franchise with an established commercial customer base can provide a more immediate return than adding capacity for a large EV segment facing slower demand and high battery costs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That does not make Super Duty production a rejection of EVs. It shows Ford prioritizing the products and customer segments that currently offer the strongest combination of demand, manufacturing utilization, and financial returns.

What “multi-energy” means—and what it does not mean

Ford said the Oakville investment would pave the way for “multi-energy” technology in the next generation of Super Duty trucks. The phrase is important, but it is not a product announcement.

Rank #2
Kid Trax 12V Semi-Truck and Trailer, Battery Powered Ride-On Toy Truck, Ages 3-5, Max Weight 77 lbs, One Rider, Working Lights, Horn, Sounds, Electric Cars for Kids Ages 3-5, Kids Ride On Toys, Blue
  • REALISTIC TRUCKING ADVENTURE – Fire up exciting outdoor adventures with bright cab lights, a working horn, PB radio, realistic air brake sounds, and a detachable trailer that lets little drivers haul cargo just like a real semi truck!
  • POWERFUL 12V PERFORMANCE – Cruise with confidence using High Speed up to 4 MPH or Low Speed up to 2 MPH, plus Forward & Reverse driving. The rechargeable 12V battery delivers smooth, exciting rides kids will love again and again.
  • DETACHABLE TRAILER FOR ENDLESS FUN – Haul toys, stuffed animals, playground treasures, or backyard cargo with the removable trailer. Every ride becomes a new delivery mission that inspires creativity, imagination, and active outdoor play.
  • DESIGNED FOR LITTLE DRIVERS – Foot pedal acceleration, simple steering, stable six-wheel construction, and an easy-to-use control panel help beginners build confidence while enjoying safe adventures. Supports riders up to 77 lbs, Ages 3+.
  • THE ULTIMATE GIFT FOR TRUCK LOVERS – Surprise kids with a realistic ride-on semi truck they'll be excited to drive every day. Perfect for birthdays, holidays, and special occasions while encouraging outdoor fun instead of screen time.

In this context, a multi-energy plant or vehicle architecture is intended to accommodate more than one propulsion type. Depending on Ford’s eventual engineering and market decisions, that could include gasoline, hybrid, plug-in hybrid, extended-range electric, or battery-electric configurations.

Confirmed by the announcement Not confirmed by the announcement
Oakville will add Super Duty production beginning in 2026. An all-electric Super Duty launch in 2026.
The plant will preserve a route to future multi-energy technology. Whether a future electrified Super Duty will be a hybrid, plug-in hybrid, EREV, or BEV.
Ford is expanding capacity for a high-demand truck line. A specific electrified Super Duty model, battery, range, towing figure, or launch date.
Ford is trying to make the facility more flexible. That Oakville will build Ford’s future midsize EV pickup.

It is therefore inaccurate to say that Ford confirmed an electric Super Duty with this investment. The supported conclusion is narrower: Ford prioritized conventional Super Duty production while leaving the plant and future truck architecture open to more than one energy source.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The July 2024 plan was only the first step in a broader reset

Ford continued to describe electrification as part of its long-term strategy through 2024, including hybrids and future EVs. But by late 2025, the company had made a much broader change to its product and capital plans.

Ford said it would stop producing selected larger electric vehicles where lower-than-expected demand, high costs, and regulatory changes had weakened the business case. It expected approximately $19.5 billion in special items, mostly in the fourth quarter of 2025, with the remainder spread across 2026 and 2027. That figure represents accounting and restructuring consequences of the reset; it should not be confused with a new $19.5 billion EV investment.

Ford also said the next-generation F-150 Lightning would move to an extended-range electric vehicle, or EREV, architecture and be assembled at the Rouge Electric Vehicle Center in Dearborn, Michigan. An EREV remains an electric-drive vehicle, but its overall system is intended to address some of the range, charging, and cost concerns associated with a large pure battery-electric truck. Ford’s announcement did not make the next-generation Lightning a battery-electric Super Duty, nor did it assign that vehicle to Oakville.

At the same time, Ford shifted its pure-BEV emphasis toward the Universal EV Platform, which is intended to support more affordable electric vehicles. Ford identified the first vehicle on that platform as a midsize electric pickup. The company planned LFP battery-cell production at its Marshalltown, Michigan facility in 2026 to support the program.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Ford’s latest roadmap: a mixed-powertrain lineup

Based on Ford’s product-organization announcement of April 15, 2026, and its integrated sustainability and financial report dated August 10, 2026, the company’s roadmap looks more differentiated than the original all-in EV factory plans.

  • Universal EV Platform: Ford continues to identify a midsize pickup as the first vehicle on the platform. The integrated report says that truck will be assembled at Louisville Assembly Plant and is due in 2027.
  • Next-generation F-150 Lightning: Ford has said this vehicle is moving to an extended-range electric architecture and will be assembled at the Rouge Electric Vehicle Center in Dearborn.
  • Super Duty and next-generation F-Series: Ford includes the next-generation F-150 and F-Series Super Duty in portfolio-renewal plans through 2029, but has not identified either as a confirmed battery-electric model or said that Oakville will build them.
  • Oakville: The plant is scheduled to add up to 100,000 Super Duty trucks beginning in 2026 and is intended to support future multi-energy technology.
  • By 2030: Ford says nearly 90% of its global nameplates will offer some form of electrified powertrain, including hybrids, extended-range EVs, and fully electric vehicles.

Ford also reported that total electrified sales rose 30% in 2025 from the prior year. That figure combines multiple categories, however. It is not evidence that a particular Super Duty EV has launched or that Ford has committed to one.

Where BlueOval City and Project T3 fit

Oakville is not Ford’s only major EV manufacturing story. In 2023, Ford said its BlueOval City campus in Tennessee would produce the second-generation electric truck known as Project T3. Ford and SK On described a $5.6 billion investment in the campus, which Ford said could eventually reach capacity of 500,000 electric trucks annually.

That was the earlier product and capacity framework. Later Ford strategy documents show that the company changed the role and expected product mix of major EV assets as the economics of large electric vehicles weakened.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Project T3 should therefore be treated as an earlier roadmap reference, not as a complete current production forecast. The better-supported current picture is a combination of more affordable battery-electric vehicles on the Universal EV Platform, extended-range electrification for selected larger vehicles, and continued gasoline, hybrid, and multi-energy truck programs.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the investment means for truck buyers and operators

For Super Duty buyers, more factory capacity is the immediate takeaway. Oakville is intended to reduce the pressure on Kentucky and Ohio by adding production, but the announcement does not guarantee a particular dealer’s inventory, transaction price, waiting period, or allocation. Capacity expansion can improve supply over time without eliminating regional shortages or fleet-order constraints.

For commercial operators, Ford is signaling that Super Duty remains central to Ford Pro. The company specifically tied the investment to customers in construction, utilities, mining, emergency services, and similar fields. That makes the program relevant to fleet planning even though Ford has not disclosed the final powertrain mix or detailed specifications for future trucks.

Rank #3
12V Kids Charger for Ride On Car, 12V Various Electric Ride-on Toys Car Battery Charger,12 V Universal Kids Riding Toy Chargers
  • 【Compatibility】Support all Best Choice Products 12V round hole charging port Kids Electric Ride On Car, 12V Battery Charger for Children Ride On Toys Jeep Kid Trax Dynacraft Kids Jeep Car Mercedes-Benz Truck Audi Range Rove BMW I8 Kidzone Bumper Car Charger
  • 【Safety Certification】Our 12V Battery Charger have passed Safety certified. Fast charging and provide overcharge protection system/short circuit/overload protection/overheat protection.
  • 【AC Input /Output 】Input : 100V -240VAC 50/60Hz. /Output:12VDC 1000MA / 5 Ft Power Cable / 2.1mm x 5.5mm Center Positive Barrel Plug
  • 【Smart LED light】 Red light when charging, Green light when full.
  • 【After-Sales Service】We provide 1 year warranty service, and 3 month unconditional return. Please contact us with any questions or concerns

For EV shoppers, the announcement is a warning against reading “multi-energy” as “electric.” Anyone waiting for a battery-electric F-250, F-350, or another Super Duty variant should wait for Ford to publish a named vehicle, production site, timing, battery details, and pricing. None of those facts was established by the $3 billion announcement.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Questions Ford still has to answer

Several important details remain open:

  • Will an electrified Super Duty use a hybrid, plug-in hybrid, extended-range electric, or battery-electric system?
  • When, if ever, will that electrified version enter production?
  • Which future F-Series models will be built at Oakville, and which will remain at other Ford plants?
  • What happened to the original Oakville three-row EV beyond the announced delay and manufacturing reallocation?
  • How will the changed role of BlueOval City affect Project T3 and other planned electric-truck capacity?
  • What will future Super Duty versions cost, tow, carry, and require in terms of charging or fueling infrastructure?

Until Ford answers those questions, the responsible interpretation is that Oakville is an expandable Super Duty facility with electrification optionality—not a confirmed electric-truck plant.

Timeline of Ford’s changing plan

Date Development
April 11, 2023 Ford announces a C$1.8 billion Oakville transformation for next-generation EV production, including vehicle and battery assembly.
April 4, 2024 Ford postpones the planned Oakville three-row EV from 2025 to 2027.
July 18, 2024 Ford announces approximately $3 billion for Super Duty expansion, including up to 100,000 trucks at Oakville beginning in 2026.
July 24, 2024 Ford reiterates the Oakville capacity plan in its second-quarter financial update.
Late 2025 Ford announces a broader product and capital reset, including approximately $19.5 billion in EV-related special items, a future EREV F-150 Lightning, and greater emphasis on affordable EVs, hybrids, and trucks.
April 15, 2026 Ford identifies a midsize pickup as the first Universal EV Platform vehicle and includes next-generation F-150 and Super Duty in portfolio-renewal plans through 2029.
August 10, 2026 Ford’s integrated report identifies the first Universal EV Platform midsize truck as a Louisville-assembled vehicle due in 2027.

Frequently Asked Questions

Did Ford cancel its EV plans?

No. Ford has not canceled all EVs. Its later strategy continues to include battery-electric vehicles, hybrids, and extended-range EVs, while shifting pure-BEV emphasis toward more affordable models and using extended-range technology for selected larger vehicles.

Is Ford launching an electric Super Duty in 2026?

No electric Super Duty was confirmed. Ford said Oakville would support future “multi-energy” technology, but it did not specify the powertrain, battery, launch date, range, or towing specifications of an electrified Super Duty.

Will Oakville build Ford’s new midsize electric pickup?

Ford’s latest materials identify the first Universal EV Platform vehicle as a midsize pickup assembled at Louisville Assembly Plant and due in 2027. Ford has not confirmed that Oakville will build that vehicle.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What happened to Ford’s Project T3 electric truck plan?

The original Project T3 plan called for BlueOval City in Tennessee to produce a second-generation electric truck, with eventual capacity of up to 500,000 electric trucks annually. Later strategy changes mean that original target should not be treated as Ford’s current confirmed production roadmap.

What powertrain is planned for the next F-150 Lightning?

Ford said the next-generation F-150 Lightning would move to an extended-range electric vehicle architecture and be assembled at the Rouge Electric Vehicle Center in Dearborn. That is separate from the Oakville Super Duty investment.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: Ford’s $3 billion Oakville investment is best understood as a Super Duty capacity expansion with future powertrain flexibility, not as confirmation of an electric Super Duty. Ford is still pursuing EVs, but its updated strategy puts affordable battery-electric vehicles, extended-range technology, hybrids, and profitable conventional trucks on different tracks.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date05 OCT 26Time4 minCan Kia's EVs Become Swiss Army Knives for Family Adventure?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.