Ford is ending production of the current battery-electric F-150 Lightning and plans to replace it with a next-generation extended-range electric vehicle (EREV). The successor will still use electric motors to drive the wheels, but a gasoline-powered generator will recharge the battery on longer journeys. Ford estimates more than 700 miles of total range, or over 1,100 kilometers.
That headline needs two important qualifications: the 700-mile figure is a Ford estimate rather than an EPA-certified rating, and it refers to generator-backed total range—not 700 miles of battery-only driving. Ford has not announced the truck’s production date, price, battery size, electric-only range, towing rating, or delivery schedule.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What Ford actually announced
Ford’s announcement describes the next-generation F-150 Lightning as an extended-range electric vehicle. In practical terms, the truck will use electric motors for propulsion while a gasoline engine operates primarily as a generator when the battery needs more energy.
Recommended Free Tools
Ford says the architecture is intended to provide:
- Electric-motor propulsion rather than conventional mechanical engine-driven propulsion;
- More than 700 miles of estimated combined range;
- Electric-style acceleration and quiet operation;
- Better usability for long-distance towing;
- Less dependence on fast-charging infrastructure during extended trips; and
- Exportable electricity for job sites, campsites, and emergency home power.
Those are manufacturer claims and targets. Ford has not yet supplied the testing assumptions behind the 700-mile estimate, so it should not be described as an EPA range rating or as the truck’s battery-only range. Ford’s official announcement is the primary source for the architecture and headline range claim.
#1 Best Overall
- Never Fall Off-Metal Hook Design: Miracase car phone holder adopts simplified locking design. The steel metal hook(with silicone pad and mat) will catch one of car air vent blades and provide excellent strudiness. It will work well for your car even in extremely harsh environments. NOTE: ONLY Compatible with horizontal and vertical vents. Not suitable for round vents.
- Universal Compatibility: Miracase cell phone stand for car mount is compatible with the smartphones (4.0-7.2 inches) and thicker cases. Note!!The lengh of vent clip hook is MAX 1.4inch(3.6cm), it will be compatible with vent blades less than 1.4 inches (3.6 cm) wide. NOTE:Not suitable for Round Vent.
- One-hand Operation: With quick release button, adjustable clamp arms and foot, Miracase car phone mount makes it very easy to insert and remove your phone with single hand. Provide you with safer driving whether you are talking, navigating or listening to music or charging.
- 360-degree Flexible Rotation: The 360-degree rotatable design will provide you with the best viewing angle to keep secure driving. You can place your phone in any orientation (landscape, portrait and more), Just enjoy the best drving experience
- Professional Support: Please contact us for any product issues, a satisfying solution is promised forever
Is Ford killing the F-150 Lightning?
Ford is ending the current all-electric Lightning strategy, not abandoning electric propulsion altogether. Reporting based on Ford’s December 15, 2025 announcement says production of the current battery-electric pickup will end and that Ford will replace it with an extended-range version. The change comes as Ford responds to weaker-than-expected demand for electric pickups, the company’s broader move toward hybrids and range-extended vehicles, and significant losses in its electric-vehicle business, according to The Associated Press and Axios.
Calling the successor a normal hybrid would be misleading, however. Ford says the new Lightning will be propelled 100 percent by electric motors. The gasoline engine is there to generate electricity, not to provide the same kind of direct mechanical propulsion found in a conventional hybrid pickup.
EREV versus a conventional hybrid
The easiest way to understand the proposed truck is to compare the power paths:
| Vehicle type | How the wheels are driven | What happens on a long trip |
|---|---|---|
| Current F-150 Lightning | Electric motors only | The battery must be recharged from an external charger. |
| Announced F-150 Lightning EREV | Electric motors only, according to Ford | A gasoline generator supplies electricity when the battery needs replenishment. |
| Conventional hybrid pickup | The engine and electric motor can both contribute mechanically to wheel propulsion | The engine can drive the wheels while also charging or supporting the battery. |
A conventional hybrid can connect its internal-combustion engine to the wheels through a transmission or other mechanical system. A series hybrid or EREV instead keeps the electric drive system responsible for propulsion and uses the combustion engine as an onboard power plant.
That distinction may preserve much of the driving character that buyers associate with an EV: immediate electric torque, smooth acceleration, and low noise during electric operation. It does not make the truck emissions-free. When the gasoline generator runs, the EREV will produce tailpipe emissions.
What is ending: the current battery-electric Lightning
The current F-150 Lightning is a conventional battery-electric pickup in the important sense that it has no onboard gasoline engine. Ford’s current U.S. specifications list:
- Up to 320 miles of EPA-estimated range for certain configurations, with lower range ratings for other versions;
- Dual electric motors;
- Four-wheel drive; and
- Up to 10,000 pounds of towing capacity when equipped with the applicable Max Trailer Tow Package.
Ford’s current F-150 Lightning specifications are the appropriate reference for the truck being sold today. The current model should not be described as a 700-mile pickup.
Rank #2
- 【True Military-Grade, Version 6.0 BEST Ultimate Model】The leader in high-end car phone holders. Rigorously tested to meet MILITARY GRADE standards - reliability, stability, integrity, longevity, security, durability. Overcome all weaknesses to design the version 6.0 Ultimate holder with international military-grade shockproof certification No. GZMR220601855501. This VANMASS car phone holder obtained CP65 / REACH / RoHS safety certifications
- 【Larger & More Adhesive Suction Cup, Strongest Suction】Unmatched Vacuum Grip! According to the 2026 latest data from car phone holder mount that 85 LBS is not too weak to cause falling, or too strong to damage your car. We not only increased the diameter of the suction cup from 59mm to 69mm but also upgraded the suction cup forging technology. Applied pure PU with epoxy resin adhesive synthetic exclusive technology to enhance suction power by 50%; UV-resistant material makes dashboard cell phone holder still stable under sunlight, never drop!
- 【𝐃𝐞𝐭𝐚𝐢𝐥𝐬 𝐚𝐫𝐞 𝐊𝐢𝐧𝐠 & 𝐊𝐞𝐲, 𝐒𝐚𝐲 𝐆𝐨𝐨𝐝𝐛𝐲𝐞 𝐭𝐨 𝐎𝐥𝐝 𝐅𝐢𝐱𝐞𝐝-𝐟𝐨𝐨𝐭 𝐕𝐞𝐫𝐬𝐢𝐨𝐧】① 0"-0.78" adjustable feet: wider and deeper for all 4"-7" phones, outperform traditional fixed-foot phone stands for car. ② Military-grade shockproof silicone panel on phone holder's feet and the innovative air capsule silicone (soft & highly elastic) inside the arm clamps provide full smartphone protection: increasing friction, and no-sliding. ③ The unique non-slip fingerprint texture on the side clamps ensures the fastest & tightest grip
- 【𝐋𝐨𝐧𝐠𝐞𝐫 & 𝐒𝐭𝐫𝐨𝐧𝐠𝐞𝐫 𝐇𝐨𝐨𝐤 𝐂𝐥𝐢𝐩, 𝐂𝐨𝐦𝐩𝐚𝐭𝐢𝐛𝐥𝐞 𝐟𝐨𝐫 𝟗𝟗% 𝐂𝐚𝐫𝐬】Listening to 12,000+ customers' voices, we increased the hook length of this phone mount for truck from 1.07" to 1.29" to make it fit 99% cars/ vans/ trucks, etc., and to reduce obstruction of air flowing out of the vent. Working well with all vertical/horizontal vents and some other vents; This innovative vent hook clip is forged with the highest purity steel, TOP1 sturdy, stable, safe, durable
- 【𝐌𝐮𝐥𝐭𝐢-𝐅𝐮𝐧𝐜𝐭𝐢𝐨𝐧, 𝐄𝐧𝐝𝐥𝐞𝐬𝐬 𝐏𝐨𝐬𝐬𝐢𝐛𝐢𝐥𝐢𝐭𝐢𝐞𝐬】Whether on the dashboard/ windscreen/ vent or on the desk, this suction cup phone mount works perfectly. vanmass 2026 ultimate car phone mount can also be a smartphone for desk & kitchen & bathroom & gym & office, meeting & bedside table, such a multi-scene design! Great for most cars, pickup trucks, SUVs, trucks, taxis, touring cars; A good assistant to Uber, Lyft drivers
EPA figures are also not guarantees of highway or towing range. In one example of real-world testing, MotorTrend recorded 266 miles in a 70-mph range test of a 2022 extended-range Lariat. That result does not replace Ford’s EPA rating, nor does it predict every Lightning configuration, but it illustrates why speed, weather, payload, trailer weight, and route conditions matter. The test is documented in MotorTrend’s range and charging evaluation.
Why a generator-backed electric truck could make sense
The challenge Ford is trying to solve is broader than the daily commute. A battery-electric pickup can work well for regular driving, especially when it can start each day with a full charge at home. The more difficult use case is a heavy trailer on a long route through areas where fast chargers are limited, crowded, incompatible, or inconveniently located.
Towing increases energy consumption substantially because the truck must move both its own weight and the trailer’s weight through additional aerodynamic drag. That can make a battery-electric pickup’s practical range much lower than its unloaded EPA estimate and can turn a charging stop into a major part of the trip.
An EREV addresses that problem by carrying a smaller battery than would be needed for an extremely long battery-only range, then using gasoline to produce electricity when necessary. Refueling a gasoline generator can also be faster and more widely available than finding a suitable high-power charger along a remote towing route. The trade-off is that the truck gains an engine, fuel system, exhaust equipment, maintenance needs, and operating emissions.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Ford specifically connects the new architecture with long-distance towing. But until the company publishes towing-specific range data, buyers should not assume that “700 miles” applies when pulling a heavy trailer. The only defensible interpretation at this stage is 700-plus miles of estimated generator-backed total range under unspecified conditions.
The 700-mile claim is not a battery range claim
The proposed truck’s headline number can be misunderstood in three different ways:
- It is not 700 miles on battery power alone. Ford has not published the battery-only range.
- It is not an EPA-certified figure. Ford calls it an estimate, and the company has not disclosed the methodology or test assumptions.
- It is not a guaranteed towing range. Ford has not disclosed the truck’s towing rating or the range it expects while towing a particular trailer.
A fair comparison with the current Lightning will eventually require at least four separate figures: EPA battery-only range, generator-backed combined range, fuel economy when the generator is operating, and towing range under a defined trailer and payload. Until those numbers exist, comparing the current truck’s EPA battery range directly with the successor’s 700-plus-mile estimate is an apples-to-oranges exercise.
Rank #3
- Improved Stability with 4-Lock Protection: The Lamicall holder for cell phone in vehicle features an innovative 4-lock protection and is compatible with both vertical and horizontal car air vents, ensuring excellent stability even during sharp turns or bumpy roads. Note: Hook extension range 10 mm-29 mm. The thickness of the vent blade is less than 4.2 mm. Not suitable for Round Vent.
- Thick Case Compatible: With upgraded arms which provide a wider grip and a fully adjustable foot, this phone mount for car vent clip is suitable for thicker cases, wallet cases or battery cases. The ultra-thick silicone back layer ensures a scratch-free experience for your device!
- Pretty-Design & High-Quality: The holder panel is made of soft silicone material which is anti-wear, effectively protecting the back of the phone. PC+ABS Material with better heat resistance, which is endurable for the extreme temperature of -4°F-194°F.
- 360-Degree Rotation: Unlike similar products on the market, this cell phone car holder gives you the best viewing angle no matter your needs, providing a 360-degree fully rotative design great for navigation, changing playlists, taking calls and more.
- Hassle-Free Installation: Say goodbye to complicated systems that take up your time and energy! Our cell phone automobile cradles are easy to install in a matter of seconds, requiring only 2 simple steps!
What remains unknown about the next-generation Lightning
Ford has announced the architecture and range target, but the reviewed materials do not establish the details a buyer would need before placing an order. Ford has not disclosed:
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems- Battery capacity;
- Estimated electric-only range;
- Generator displacement, output, or fuel-consumption figures;
- Fuel-tank capacity;
- Maximum charging rate;
- Curb weight;
- Payload rating;
- Towing rating;
- The EPA testing methodology or certification;
- Price or MSRP;
- Trim levels;
- Body configurations;
- Manufacturing location; or
- Exact production, ordering, or customer-delivery timing.
That information matters because an EREV’s usefulness depends on more than its total range. A small battery could reduce electric-only usefulness, while a large battery and generator could add weight and affect payload. A generator optimized for steady electricity production may behave differently from a conventional engine under sustained towing loads. Charging speed will also determine whether the truck remains convenient for drivers who mostly use it as an EV.
When will the EREV Lightning be available?
Ford has not announced a confirmed consumer delivery date in the reviewed official materials. Do not treat an unverified model year, reservation date, production-start date, MSRP, or order-opening date as fact.
Car and Driver likewise reported that Ford had not said when the next-generation Lightning would arrive. Ford’s later product-creation and industrialization announcement places the next-generation F-150 and a broader portfolio renewal within a longer-term plan, but it does not establish when customers will be able to buy or take delivery of the Lightning EREV.
For now, the successor is an announced future product rather than an available retail vehicle. Any reservation or purchase language should wait for a Ford confirmation.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
What this means for current Lightning owners
The announcement does not mean current Lightning owners suddenly lose charging access, software support, service, or parts. Nothing in the cited material says that Ford will stop supporting trucks already on the road. Owners should continue to use Ford’s existing service and support channels for their specific vehicle.
The current Lightning remains a capable electric work truck with documented charging and power-export features. Ford’s owner materials cover home and public charging, vehicle-to-vehicle charging, and export power. The company has also promoted home-power-management initiatives that can use the Lightning’s battery for home energy management and backup-power applications. See Ford’s F-150 Lightning owner FAQ and its information on Ford Home Power Management for the features and requirements applicable to the current truck.
Rank #4
- 3 IN 1 Phone Holders for Your Car: Cell phone GPS navigation holder car is equipped with a suction cup and vent clip, which can be freely mounted on the windshield, dashboard, and air vent for feeding your different usage needs. Cell phone Camera Mounts holder is applied to most cars, pickup trucks, SUVs, taxis. A perfect assistant for Uber, Lyft drivers.
- Enhanced Powerful Suction Cup: Phone GPS navigation holder mount is equipped with double-lock suction cup and uses heat-resistant TPU material , which can provide strong suction power on smooth surfaces, and keep the mount stable in any conditions. To restore adhesion, simply rinse the sticky surface with warm water and wipe dry.
- Perfect Flexibility: Car phone Camera Mounts holder with 360 degree ball joint and adjustable telescopic arm, which can adjust your phone to any ideal angle without obstructing your view. The telescopic arm can be extended from 6.5 inches to 8.1 inches. Easily adjust the distance between you and the car mount.
- Full Protection: iPhone car mount with vacuum silicone rubber and thick panels can provide full protection for your phone from scratches and drops even at high speeds, bumps or turns.
- Easy Operation: Car mount for iPhone has a one-touch release button, you can release your phone with one hand while driving. Adjustable feet accommodate all 4-7 inch phones and most thick cases.
For current owners who use public fast chargers, an F-150 Lightning NACS adapter may provide access to a larger charging network where the adapter and charging site are compatible. That recommendation applies to the existing battery-electric Lightning; Ford has not confirmed the connector arrangement or accessory compatibility of the future EREV.
Likewise, current owners considering a home charger for Ford F-150 Lightning should verify the truck’s charging requirements, circuit capacity, local electrical rules, installation needs, and the exact product listing before buying. Installation may require a qualified electrician. Future EREV specifications are not yet known, so current-model charging hardware should not automatically be assumed to fit it.
Towing customers should also verify the truck’s model year, trim, axle and equipment package before purchasing F-150 Lightning towing accessories. Hitch components, trailer-brake equipment, cables, and cargo products can be package-specific. An accessory that fits the current Lightning should not be advertised as compatible with the unannounced successor.
Should you buy the current Lightning or wait?
The answer depends on how the truck will be used and how much uncertainty you can tolerate.
The current Lightning makes more sense if you:
- Want a battery-electric pickup with published EPA range figures now;
- Can charge at home or have dependable charging along your regular routes;
- Mostly drive daily routes rather than tow long distances;
- Prefer a truck with no gasoline engine or tailpipe emissions; or
- Need a vehicle whose specifications and ownership systems are already documented.
Waiting for the EREV may make more sense if you:
- Regularly tow long distances;
- Travel through regions with limited fast-charging coverage;
- Want electric-motor propulsion but do not want charging stops to determine every long trip;
- Value gasoline refueling flexibility; or
- Can wait without knowing the final price, battery range, payload, towing rating, or launch date.
Waiting is not a guarantee that the EREV will meet the 700-mile estimate in your use case. It is a decision to wait for a product intended to address the current Lightning’s long-distance and towing limitations.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How the reboot could affect the market
The change positions Ford between two buyer groups. One group wants a pure battery-electric truck and is prepared to plan around charging. Another wants electric driving characteristics but is unwilling to accept the range and infrastructure compromises that can accompany a large battery-electric pickup, particularly when towing.
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallOutdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchThe EREV approach could appeal to the second group while retaining electric torque and quiet operation. It also puts Ford into the same broader design conversation as other range-extended pickup concepts, including Stellantis’ Ramcharger concept. Similar architecture does not prove that competing vehicles will have the same range, price, towing behavior, or production timing.
Potential effects on current Lightning resale values, discounts, and long-term market demand are possible but not yet verified. The strongest conclusion is simply that Ford is creating a product-line transition: the current truck is battery-electric, while the announced successor is intended to make long-distance pickup use less dependent on charging stops.
What to watch for next
Ford’s next detailed product release should answer the questions that determine whether the EREV is genuinely practical:
- Electric-only range: How far can it travel before the generator is needed?
- Generator behavior: What is the generator’s output, fuel economy, and sustained-load capability?
- Towing performance: What are the maximum trailer rating, payload, and range figures with a defined trailer?
- Charging: What connector, charging rate, and home-charging equipment will the truck use?
- Weight and packaging: How much space and payload are lost to the battery, generator, fuel tank, and exhaust hardware?
- EPA certification: How will Ford report electric-only, combined, and towing-related range?
- Availability: When will orders open, production begin, and customer deliveries start?
- Price: How much will the EREV cost compared with the current Lightning, a conventional F-150 hybrid, and other range-extended trucks?
Until those details are published, the 700-mile number is best treated as a direction for Ford’s product strategy—not a complete buying specification.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Best Value
- Versatile Car Phone Mount: Cell phone car mount boasts premium suction strength and an upgraded air vent clip, allowing for flexible installation options on windshields, dashboards, and air vents. Note!3M Dashboard Pad is NOT REQUIRED when using a phone holder on windshield
- Strong Suction Performance: Car phone holder comes with a double-locked suction cup made of heat-resistant TPU material, guaranteeing it stays firmly attached to your dashboard even in extreme heat. Reactivate its sticky power by washing with water and air-drying.
- Fully Adjustable Design: Featuring a 360-degree rotating ball joint and an adjustable extension arm ranging from 3.7 inches to 5.9 inches, this dash-Mounted phone mount for cars allows you to customize your phone's placement to any desired angle or distance, offering maximum viewing flexibility.
- Universal Fit: Engineered to accommodate all smartphones ranging in size from 4.0 to 7.1 inches and devices up to 14mm thick, including GPS devices, this phone stand for trucks includes a one-touch release mechanism for swift and easy phone mounting. It serves as an excellent accessory for drivers requiring constant phone access, enhancing driving stability and safety.
- Comprehensive Safety Features: The car phone mount for iPhone includes a unique hook design fortified with stainless steel and padded with thick plastic, ensuring secure engagement with air vent blades without causing scratches. The robust silicone rubber provides sturdy protection, even on bumpy roads. Note: Not suitable for circular air vents desk mount.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the current Ford F-150 Lightning discontinued?
Ford is ending the current battery-electric Lightning strategy and is expected to replace it with a next-generation EREV. The current truck remains a battery-electric model with published specifications, and the announcement does not indicate that existing owners will lose normal service, charging, software, or parts support.
Will the new F-150 Lightning be a hybrid?
It will use a range-extended electric or series-hybrid layout. Ford says electric motors will provide propulsion while a gasoline engine generates electricity. That differs from a conventional hybrid in which the combustion engine and electric motor can both mechanically drive the wheels.
Can the new Lightning travel 700 miles on battery power?
No such claim has been made. Ford’s 700-plus-mile figure is an estimated total range with generator support. Ford has not published the successor’s electric-only range, EPA rating, or towing range.
When can I buy the F-150 Lightning EREV?
Ford has not confirmed an order date, production date, model year, MSRP, or customer-delivery schedule in the reviewed announcements. It is an announced future product, not a confirmed retail vehicle with complete buying information.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Will the EREV have zero emissions?
No. The wheels will be driven electrically, but the gasoline generator will produce tailpipe emissions when it operates. It is not a zero-tailpipe-emission vehicle in the same way as the current battery-electric Lightning.
Is the current Lightning’s 320-mile range comparable with the new truck’s 700-mile estimate?
Not directly. The current truck’s figure is an EPA-estimated battery range for certain configurations. The successor’s figure is a Ford estimate of generator-backed total range, with no published test methodology or towing assumptions yet.
The Bottom Line
Ford is not abandoning electric drive; it is changing how the F-150 Lightning gets its energy. The current model is a battery-electric truck with up to 320 miles of EPA-estimated range in certain configurations. Its announced replacement will use electric motors plus a gasoline generator and is targeted at more than 700 miles of combined range. Until Ford publishes the battery-only range, towing figures, price, EPA certification, and launch date, treat the EREV as a promising but incomplete future product—not a 700-mile electric truck that is already available.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




