DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowOctober DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PC×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Eaton and ChargePoint’s Express Grid: What the Fast DC V2X Charging Launch Means

Eaton and ChargePoint’s Express Grid combines high-power DC charging with Eaton electrical infrastructure, storage, renewables, and potential V2X controls. Here’s what the announcement proves—and what fleet and charging-site buyers still need to verify.
Entry585 Date Time9 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Eaton and ChargePoint announced ChargePoint Express Grid, powered by Eaton, on August 28, 2025. It is not simply a new standalone fast-charger dispenser. The proposal combines ChargePoint Express charging hardware with Eaton electrical distribution, power management, and energy-integration equipment for public charging sites and commercial fleets.

The companies say the architecture can deliver up to 600 kW to passenger EVs and support megawatt charging for heavy-duty vehicles. They also claim up to 30% reductions in capital cost, footprint, and ongoing operating costs in certain modular and DC-grid designs. Those figures are vendor claims, however: the announcement does not disclose the comparison system, site assumptions, utilization, tariffs, or calculation method.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What Eaton and ChargePoint actually launched

Express Grid is an integrated charging-and-power architecture. Its main elements are:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • ChargePoint Express high-power charging equipment;
  • Eaton-engineered electrical distribution and protection equipment;
  • Power-management controls;
  • Integration with onsite renewable generation and stationary storage;
  • Coordination with EV batteries and, where available, local energy markets and utility programs; and
  • Custom-engineered, site-ready infrastructure, including an optional skid-mounted configuration.

A charger transfers electricity to an EV. A charging architecture includes the charger, power conversion, distribution, controls, and energy management. Site infrastructure extends further to transformers, switchgear, protection, grounding, utility interconnection, civil work, communications, storage, and potentially solar generation.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
USB C Car Charger Fast Charging 200W, Dual PD 100W Type C Car Charger,
  • 【Fast Charging 3 Devices Simultaneously】200W fast car charger with 2 Type-C ports and 1 USB port, allowing you to charge up to 3 electronic devices at the same time.
  • 【200W Car Charger USB C Fast Charge】200W (Max) super fast usb c car charger supports Type-C1 100W, Type-C2 100W and USB-A 60W high output and is compatible with QC4.0, QC3.0, PD3.0, PPS, SCP/FCP, AFC fast charging protocols for all devices.
  • 【Excellent Heat Dissipation & Safety Car Charger】New heat dissipation process, low temperature charging without burning. With over-current, over-voltage, over-temperature and other protection, safety protection equipment. Intelligent start trickle mode, mobile phones do not overcharge, battery healthier.
  • 【LED ambient light】The car charger has an ice blue ring LED ambient light for easier charging at night.
  • 【Wide Compatibility】USB C car charger is compatible with most devices, such as for MacBook Pro Air, NoteBook, iPad Pro, iPhone 15 Pro Max 14 13 12 11, AirPods Pro, Steam Deck, Switch, Galaxy S23 Ultra/S22/S21, Steam Deck and more. 12V-24V car charger universal.

That distinction is central to the announcement. Eaton and ChargePoint are presenting a coordinated system intended to reduce the engineering and deployment burden of installing very high-power chargers—not merely a higher-rated plug.

ChargePoint’s announcement and Eaton’s release describe Express systems as scalable across standalone, distributed, and hybrid configurations. A distributed design can place power-conversion equipment and charging dispensers in different locations. That may improve layout flexibility, but it also makes cable distances, thermal management, communications, maintenance access, construction sequencing, and protection coordination important design questions.

The grid problem behind the partnership

High-power charging is often limited less by the charging dispenser than by the electrical service behind it. A fleet depot or public charging hub may need a larger transformer, medium-voltage equipment, new switchgear, additional protection, utility studies, construction work, and more land. Demand charges can also make simultaneous high-power charging expensive even when the site has enough physical grid capacity.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Eaton brings power-distribution, electrical-infrastructure, and energy-management expertise. ChargePoint brings charging equipment and charging-network experience. The intended benefit is a system designed around the site’s power constraints from the beginning.

That does not mean utility upgrades, permits, interconnection approvals, grounding, or protection requirements disappear. The architecture is intended to overcome or mitigate constraints through power management, distributed equipment, storage, and energy coordination. Each project will still need a utility and electrical-engineering assessment.

What V2X means here

Vehicle-to-everything, or V2X, describes energy exchange and grid interaction beyond one-way charging. In the Express Grid concept, the energy-management system can coordinate EV batteries, stationary storage, onsite renewable generation, the grid, and potentially local energy markets.

Rank #2
90W 4-Port USB C Super Fast Car Charger for Samsung Galaxy S26/S25/S24/S23
  • 90W Super Fast Charging: This USB C car charger adopts PD 3.0 fast charging technology, delivering a total output of 90W (45W max per USB-C port). It can power up your Samsung Galaxy S26 to 75% or iPhone 17 to 70% in just 30 minutes, and also provides emergency power for your MacBook Air when needed.
  • 4-Port Family Ready: 90W car charger features two USB-C ports and two USB-A ports, allowing you to charge 4 devices simultaneously, one port for your navigation, another for the passenger’s phone, and the remaining two for family members in the back. No more fighting over who gets to plug in first. This car adapter handles the whole car's charging needs, keeping everyone entertained from start to finish.
  • Safety & Durability: USB cigarette lighter adapter uses a smart power management chip to provide multiple protection, including over-current, over-voltage and short-circuit protection, ensuring fast and durable charging without overheating. The case is made of flame-retardant PC material, which has better heat dissipation, scratch resistance, and provides additional safety and durability
  • Widely Compatibility: 4-Port Type C super fast car charger USB C compatible with Samsung Galaxy S26/S25/S24/S23/S22/Ultra/S21/S20/S10/S9 Plus, A56/A55/A54/A53, iPhone Duo/iPhone 18 Pro/18 Pro Max/17/Air/17 Pro/17 Pro Max/17e/16/16 Plus/16 Pro/16 Pro Max/16e/15/15 Plus/15 Pro/15 Pro Max, iPad Pro/Air/Mini, Google Pixel 10/9/8/7/6/5, Motorola razr/razr+/razr ultra, edge/edge+, Moto g stylus/power, Tablet, Smartwatches, Driving Recorder, Android Phones and more.
  • What You Get: 1 x 90W 4-Port Fast USB C Car Charger Accessories (Black), 1 x 3FT USB C to USB C Cable Type C Fast Charging Cord (Black), 1-Year Replacement. Designed to fit any 12-24V vehicle, from sedans and SUVs to trucks and Jeeps. The shockproof design ensures uninterrupted power supply even on bumpy roads, giving you peace of mind while charging.

In practical terms, a V2X-enabled site might be designed to:

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • shift charging toward lower-cost periods;
  • use stored energy to reduce a site’s peak grid demand;
  • use onsite generation to offset imported electricity;
  • manage charging against a constrained utility import limit; or
  • allow participating vehicles or storage assets to provide grid services.

Those outcomes are conditional. The announcement does not list every supported vehicle model, bidirectional charging rating, connector implementation, utility program, market jurisdiction, or control protocol. A ChargePoint Express session should not be assumed to support bidirectional export merely because the overall architecture is described as V2X-capable.

Before procurement, a fleet operator should confirm vehicle compatibility, battery-warranty conditions, export limits, utility permissions, aggregator requirements, compensation, and the minimum state of charge that must be preserved for operations.

What “up to 600 kW” means

The stated 600-kW figure is a maximum system capability for passenger-EV charging, not a guaranteed rate for every vehicle.

Actual power depends on:

  • the vehicle’s onboard high-voltage and charging hardware;
  • the battery’s state of charge;
  • battery temperature and preconditioning;
  • the vehicle’s charging curve;
  • connector and cable limits;
  • power shared among vehicles;
  • the site’s import limit; and
  • energy-management decisions made to control demand or coordinate storage.

A 600-kW-capable site therefore cannot force a vehicle to accept 600 kW. Peak power is also not the same as average session power or total energy delivered. Buyers should request vehicle-specific charging curves and modeled throughput for their actual fleet.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The companies also describe megawatt charging for heavy-duty commercial applications. The release does not specify the exact megawatt rating, vehicle interface, or deployment configuration, so that statement should be treated as a capability claim requiring project-specific validation rather than as a universal rating.

Rank #3
USB C Car Charger, 2 Pack 70W Fast Charging Cigarette Lighter USB Charger
  • 70W Fast Charging for iPhone Duo/18 Pro Max: Featuring advanced PD and QC fast-charging technology, this USB-C car charger powers for your iPhone 18/18 Pro Max/17/16/15 Series to 75% in just 30 minutes and Samsung Galaxy S26/S25/S24 to 70% in just 30 minutes. 5X faster charging speed ensures efficient power on the go. Ideal for quick top-ups during commutes or road trips
  • 3-Port Compact Design: Featuring 1 USB-C port (PD 3.0 40W Max) and 2 USB-A ports (QC 3.0 30W Max), this 3 in 1 car charger powers up to 3 devices simultaneously with a total output of 70W. A car accessory and Gift idea for travel essentials, good choice for charging all your phones, tablets, and other electronic devices on the go, meets all your car charging needs
  • Safe & Reliable: Experience advanced safety and sustainability with our intelligent car charger. Engineered for durability. The integrated smart chip recognizes your device to deliver optimal, efficient charging, offering complete protection against over-voltage, over-current, over-charging, overheating, and short circuits. Superior heat dissipation maintains low operating temperatures
  • Universal Compatibility: 70W USB C super fast car charger compatible with iPhone 18/18 Pro/18 Pro Max/Duo/17/17 Pro/17 Pro Max/Air, iPhone 16/15/14/13/12/11/Pro Max/Plus/XS/XR/X, iPad Pro 13/12.9/11 inch, iPad Air/Mini, Galaxy S26/S25/S24/S23/Ultra/S22/S21/A56/A55/A54/A53, Z Fold7/6/5, Z Flip7/6/5, Pixel 11/10/9/8/7/6/5, Motorola Razr/Edge/G/, Android Phones, MacBook, Tablets, GPS units, Dash cams, compatible with Powersports Battery Chargers and other USB-C or USB-A accessories. A Must have and great companion on the go
  • Portable & What You Get: Lightweight size and [3 in 1] compact body design can fit easily into most car cigarette lighter sockets and sits comfortably with the edge of the outlet, suitable for all 12V-24V cars, Sedan, trucks, SUV, and almost all the vehicles. We offer 2 x USB C Fast Car Charger (3-Port, 70W). Perfect gift idea and Road Trip Essentials Car Accessories for Men and Women

How the configurations may differ

ChargePoint Express can be deployed in standalone, distributed, or hybrid arrangements. Express Grid adds Eaton’s electrical infrastructure and grid-oriented controls to that charging platform.

A distributed architecture may concentrate power electronics in a central location while placing lighter charging dispensers closer to parking spaces. Potential advantages include more flexible site layouts and reduced equipment congestion at vehicle bays. Potential trade-offs include longer high-power cable runs, additional thermal considerations, communications dependencies, and more complicated maintenance or protection design.

The announcement does not establish universal cabinet dimensions, connector counts, cable lengths, or electrical ratings. Those details must be obtained for the specific system and site.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Eaton’s “Everything as a Grid” approach

Eaton uses “Everything as a Grid” to describe an integrated energy network in which generation, storage, buildings, EVs, and the wider electrical system are managed together. Its DC-architecture background places EV charging within that broader power-management concept.

For a real project, the slogan needs to become a set of contractual and engineering questions:

  • Can charging be shifted to cheaper periods?
  • Can storage limit the site’s peak utility demand?
  • Can vehicles export energy, and under what conditions?
  • Which renewable resources are integrated?
  • Can the system continue charging during a grid constraint or outage?
  • Which controls, software, and market interfaces are included?
  • Who owns, operates, and maintains the energy-management system?

The announcement does not answer all of these questions. Grid balancing is described as something that may occur at scale with participating utilities, not as an automatic feature in every territory.

Rank #4
Sale
【Upgraded】 125W Car Charger USB C Fast Charge for iPhone 18 Pro Max
  • 2-YEAR PROMISE: We’re so confident in our usb c car charger. We take responsibility for all quality issues. It’s the only car charger you will ever need to buy
  • PD65W+QC60W SUPER FAST CHARGING: MRGLAS car charger adapter fast charging supporting PD 65W(usb-c port) and QC 60W(usb-a port) high output, Can fast charge all prevailing phones/iPad/tablet at the same time. Makes the iPhone 18 Pro Max and S26 ultra charging time from 0% to 90% in 30 minutes
  • THUMB-SIZED, PULL RING DESIGN: The smallest flawlessly high power cigarette lighter usb charger on the market until now. With a tiny-sized body, fits snugly into the lighter outlet does not protrude much which perfectly fits in your cigarette lighter adapter. Never popup while driving. Also we designed a pull-ring to help you unplug from the car cigarette lighter easier
  • ALL METAL, WON'T MELT: All metal well-built body USB car charger brings a very sleek sturdy feel compared with the usual plastic. Metal Material Provides better heat dissipation, scratch resistance, attractive design. With multiple safety certifications and a built-in smart IC, MRGLAS car charger usb c can prevent overcurrent, short circuit, over-voltage, under-voltage, over-temperature, and overpower to protect your device
  • OFFICIALLY APPROVED CHIP, AIM FOR FASTER & SAFER: MRGLAS fast car charger adapter Built-in PD65W&QC60W dual-core intelligent identification chip. And the latest security control chip, which is a safe and high-speed Fast Car Charger without damaging the device

Are the claimed savings credible?

Eaton and ChargePoint claim:

  • up to 30% lower capital expenditure;
  • a 30% smaller footprint; and
  • up to 30% lower ongoing operating costs

for certain modular and DC-grid designs compared with “other available solutions.” These figures should be treated as supplier claims, not independently established results. The cited releases do not disclose:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • the baseline equipment or architecture;
  • the number of chargers and total power;
  • utilization assumptions;
  • electricity tariffs and demand charges;
  • land and construction costs;
  • storage capacity or renewable-generation assumptions;
  • maintenance period and replacement costs;
  • incentives or financing assumptions; or
  • whether the figures are modeled, measured, or averaged across projects.

A smaller charger footprint can still require substantial spending on utility service, medium-voltage equipment, civil work, storage, communications, engineering, protection, and permits. Storage may reduce demand costs, but it adds capital expense, conversion losses, degradation, thermal and fire-safety requirements, maintenance, and warranty considerations.

Prospective buyers should request a project-specific total-cost-of-ownership model rather than substitute the published percentages for their own analysis.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Site-ready and skid-mounted deployment

Eaton says it will custom-engineer Express configurations and deliver the power infrastructure site-ready. An optional skid-mounted solution is intended to reduce onsite assembly and simplify connections to the grid and distributed energy resources.

Prefabrication can improve coordination and shorten some onsite work, but it does not remove the need for:

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  • foundations or equipment pads;
  • civil construction and vehicle-access design;
  • utility approval and interconnection;
  • local electrical permits;
  • protection, grounding, and inspection;
  • communications and controls;
  • commissioning and testing; and
  • maintenance access and safety planning.

The value of a skid-mounted system will depend on the site, transport requirements, local code, utility design, and how much equipment is included in the delivered package.

Best Value
Sale
Anker 323 52.5W USB C Car Charger with 30W PowerIQ 3.0 Fast Charging
  • High-Speed Charging: Connect to the USB-C port to charge an iPhone 14 Pro to 50% in just 25 minutes, or a Samsung S23 in just 27 minutes.
  • Charge 2 Devices at Once: The USB-C port offers 30W max charging while the USB-A port delivers up to 22.5W, so you can charge 2 devices simultaneously and at high speed.
  • Wide Compatibility: From iPhone to Samsung to USB-C tablets and more, Anker's signature PowerIQ 3.0 technology provides flawless compatibility with virtually any mobile device.
  • ActiveShield 2.0: Anker's proprietary technology enhances protection by intelligently monitoring temperature and adjusting power output to safeguard your connected devices.
  • What You Get: Anker 323 Car Charger (52.5W), welcome guide, our worry-free 18-month warranty, and friendly customer service.

Who is the system for?

The most plausible users are commercial fleets, public charging developers, high-utilization charging hubs, large logistics or commercial properties, energy managers integrating storage or renewables, and utilities exploring managed charging or grid services.

It is not presented as a homeowner product or a typical small-business Level 2 installation. A lower-power site with modest utilization may not benefit from the cost and integration complexity of a high-power, grid-interactive architecture.

Availability and timeline

  • August 28, 2025: Eaton and ChargePoint announced Express Grid.
  • September 9, 2025: The companies planned to debut or demonstrate the joint solution at RE+ in Las Vegas.
  • First quarter of 2026: Eaton said Express solutions would be available to order for select customers in North America and Europe.
  • Second half of 2026: The releases forecast initial deliveries.

As of August 18, 2026, the cited announcements support describing Express Grid as a launched architecture entering delivery, not as a universally available or broadly deployed charging product. They do not provide public pricing, shipment totals, or a verified count of customer installations. Buyers should confirm regional availability, production slots, installation partners, warranty terms, and commissioning support directly with Eaton and ChargePoint.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What solid-state transformers have to do with it

Eaton said it planned to commercialize solid-state-transformer technology within the following year through its acquisition of Resilient Power Systems, with EV charging and other DC applications among the target markets.

That is a related technology roadmap, not evidence that every Express Grid installation already includes a solid-state transformer. Buyers should distinguish the announced Express Grid architecture from any later product release or project-specific integration.

How Express Grid compares with other approaches

Approach Potential strength Main qualification
Conventional DC fast-charging site Familiar equipment and procurement model May require more site equipment, space, or grid capacity depending on design
Distributed charging architecture Can separate power equipment from vehicle bays Requires careful cable, communications, thermal, and protection design
DC charging plus behind-the-meter storage Can reduce grid-import peaks Adds cost, losses, degradation, and safety requirements
Charging plus onsite solar Can offset purchased energy at suitable times Solar output may not match fleet demand and may require storage or grid supply
Utility-managed charging May provide tariff or grid-service benefits Depends on local programs, market rules, and vehicle compatibility
Heavy-duty megawatt charging Designed for high-throughput truck and bus operations Requires compatible vehicles, interfaces, utility service, and duty cycles

Buyer checklist

Before requesting a firm proposal, a buyer should prepare:

Electrical and utility questions

  • What is the existing service capacity and utility import limit?
  • Will medium-voltage equipment, a new transformer, or feeder work be required?
  • What is the interconnection timeline?
  • How are demand charges modeled?
  • Can storage reduce peak demand, and at what cost?

Fleet questions

  • How many vehicles charge each day?
  • What are their arrival, departure, and minimum-state-of-charge requirements?
  • How much energy must each vehicle receive?
  • How many vehicles charge concurrently?
  • Is passenger-EV 600-kW capability or heavy-duty megawatt charging actually necessary?

V2X questions

  • Which vehicle models and bidirectional systems are supported?
  • Which utility, aggregator, and market integrations are available in the project’s jurisdiction?
  • What export limits and compensation apply?
  • How are battery warranties and degradation handled?
  • How does the system protect fleet departure requirements?

Commercial and service questions

  • What is included in the equipment, engineering, civil, and electrical scope?
  • What are the software, network, maintenance, and energy-management fees?
  • What uptime, response-time, warranty, and replacement commitments apply?
  • What commissioning tests and performance guarantees are offered?
  • Can the transformer, switchgear, conduits, communications, and site footprint support future expansion?
  • Are customer references available for the same configuration and duty cycle?

For the financial model, request equipment, construction, utility upgrades, software, storage, maintenance, financing, incentives, utilization, degradation, replacement, energy, and demand-charge assumptions under multiple electricity-price scenarios.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bottom line

Eaton and ChargePoint’s announcement is significant because it treats ultrafast EV charging as an integrated electrical and energy-management project rather than an isolated charger purchase. Express Grid could be particularly relevant to high-utilization fleets and charging hubs facing power-capacity, demand-cost, or site-layout constraints.

But the announcement does not independently prove the claimed 30% savings, guarantee 600-kW delivery to every vehicle, or establish universal V2X operation. The value will depend on the site’s utility connection, fleet duty cycle, vehicle compatibility, storage and renewable configuration, market access, and delivered project cost. Until those details are documented in a project proposal, Express Grid is best evaluated as a promising architecture—not a turnkey result that can be assumed from the headline.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.