October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run ScanOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

CATL Freevoy Battery Targets a New Breed of Long-Range Plug-In Hybrids

CATL’s Freevoy battery platform aims to give plug-in hybrids and EREVs EV-sized electric range, but its headline figures depend on the complete vehicle, charger, weather, and test cycle.
Entry620 Date Time9 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CATL’s Freevoy Super Hybrid Battery is a battery platform for automakers, not a consumer-replaceable “super battery.” The first-generation system, announced on October 24, 2024, was claimed to give equipped plug-in hybrids (PHEVs) and extended-range electric vehicles (EREVs) more than 400 km (about 249 miles) of electric-only driving and more than 280 km of range from a 10-minute charge. CATL’s second-generation Freevoy, announced in 2026, pushes the company’s claims to as much as 600 km of electric range and 10C charging.

Those are CATL claims, not independent road-test results. The outcome in any production vehicle will depend on pack size, vehicle weight, aerodynamics, software, weather, charging hardware, and the test cycle used.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What is CATL Freevoy?

Freevoy is CATL’s product family for high-capacity batteries used in plug-in hybrids and range-extended electric vehicles. It is not a complete powertrain, a universal replacement pack, or a battery that determines a vehicle’s final range by itself.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A PHEV has an electric motor, a rechargeable battery, and a combustion engine that may also drive the wheels. An EREV generally uses electric motors for propulsion, while its engine primarily operates as a generator after the battery is depleted, although exact layouts vary by manufacturer. Freevoy can serve either type. The battery chemistry does not decide whether a vehicle is technically a PHEV or an EREV.

#1 Best Overall
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

CATL positioned the original Freevoy as an answer to three familiar weaknesses of conventional plug-in hybrids: limited electric-only range, slow charging, and poorer battery performance in cold weather. Its significance is that it attempts to give a hybrid a much larger, faster-charging battery without abandoning the engine or generator that provides long-distance backup.

CATL’s original launch announcement is available from CATL.

The original 2024 Freevoy: more than 400 km of claimed electric range

For the first-generation Freevoy, CATL claimed that an equipped vehicle could deliver more than 400 km of pure-electric range. That is roughly 249 miles, and it is far beyond the electric range historically associated with many PHEVs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a driver with home charging, that much range could mean several days of commuting without starting the engine. The engine or generator would then be used mainly for long trips, rather than for most daily driving. In theory, that gives a PHEV or EREV some of a battery-electric vehicle’s convenience while retaining the flexibility of liquid fuel.

The wording matters. The battery does not universally “travel 400 km.” CATL did not disclose one standard Freevoy pack capacity in the launch material, and range is a vehicle-level result. A large SUV with high aerodynamic drag will use energy differently from a smaller, more efficient sedan. Tires, speed, terrain, temperature, accessories, usable battery capacity, and test methodology all affect the number.

The original claim should therefore be understood as more than 400 km of claimed electric range in a suitably equipped vehicle under CATL’s stated conditions, not as a guaranteed real-world distance for every Freevoy installation.

How fast can it charge?

CATL said the original Freevoy supports 4C charging and can add more than 280 km of claimed range in 10 minutes. The C-rate describes charging power relative to battery capacity. It does not directly describe how many miles or kilometers a vehicle gains.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #2
VDLPOWERVP Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 20FT Cable, 3.5KW 16Amp Home EV Car Charging Station, 110V-240V NEMA 6-20 & NEMA 5-15 Plug Adapter, for All SAE J1772
  • 【Efficient Charging】VDLPOWERVP level 2/level 1 EV charger is equipped with NEMA 6-20 Plug(220V/240V), it offers 16A current and up 3.5kW output. Two charging options, low current charging can effectively reduce battery wear and prolong service life. Choosing to connect the conversion line for charging can realize a full day's commute mileage in one night.
  • 【Level 1 & Level 2 EV Charger Adapter】This portable ev charger is equipped with NEMA 6-20 plug (Level 2, 240V, 16A) and NEMA 5-15 adapter (Level 1, 110V, 12A), you can connect our electric vehicle chargers to a standard household socket or a dedicated industrial socket, use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • 【Intelligent Charging-Durable and Safe】The intelligent chip design of its control box can keep monitoring the charging status at any time, provides multiple safety protections such as lightning protection and leakage protection. This electric vehicle charger is made of premuim and sturdy materials and is FCC certified. EV Control box is IP65 waterproof and dustproof.
  • 【Easy Charging and Indication Displays】Just connect to the outlet and the car, the ev charger can work properly. LED indicators that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle. It can help you get the charging station status information quickly.
  • 【Portable Design】The ev charger has a 20ft charge cable, which is long enough for you to charge without getting tangled.The appropriate cord length and weight allow you to easily put it in the trunk of an electric car whether you are visiting friends or renting a vacation house.

For example, the same charging power can add different distances to two vehicles because their energy consumption differs. A high C-rate also does not guarantee that every Freevoy-equipped vehicle will accept the maximum advertised power. The vehicle must have the required battery-management software, thermal-management system, charging electronics, wiring, and connector. The charger must also provide enough voltage and current.

Fast charging normally tapers as the battery approaches a high state of charge. A “10-minute” headline generally refers to a defined charging window or range-equivalent result, not necessarily a 0-to-100-percent recharge. Drivers will need to check the complete vehicle’s charging curve and usable battery capacity rather than relying on the platform’s maximum C-rate.

CATL attributes the first-generation charging performance to engineering measures including a fast-ion-conductor cathode coating, second-generation fast-charging graphite, anode nanocoatings, multi-gradient electrodes, and a high-conductivity electrolyte. These are CATL’s technical explanations for the claimed performance; the launch announcement does not provide independent comparative testing.

The first-generation lithium-ion and sodium-ion design

The original Freevoy uses CATL’s so-called AB battery architecture, integrating lithium-ion and sodium-ion cells in arrangements that can include mixed, series, and parallel configurations. This is a pack- or system-level integration of different chemistries, not necessarily a single chemically uniform cell.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

CATL says the sodium-ion cells help establish a reference state of charge and improve low-temperature operation. The company claimed a 5% improvement in low-temperature driving range from the AB system. The exact lithium-to-sodium ratio, cell dimensions, pack capacity, cost, and serviceability were not disclosed in the cited launch material.

Sodium-ion chemistry is attractive partly because of its potential resource and low-temperature advantages, but it generally has lower energy density than leading lithium-ion chemistries. CATL’s approach is not simply to replace lithium-ion with sodium-ion. It is to use the two chemistries together, assigning each a role within the battery system.

CATL’s stated first-generation cold-weather figures include:

Rank #3
HumsiENK 48V 628Ah LiFePO₄ Lithium Battery Bluetooth with Active Balancing, 32.15kWh, 200A BMS & LCD Monitor, EV-Grade Cells, 6000 Cycles & 15-Year Lifespan for Home Energy Storage, Solar System
  • 【Shipping Information】The 48V 628Ah battery is securely packaged and shipped on a pallet via freight service. Please ensure your delivery address can accommodate truck deliveries. Our dedicated US-based customer support team will proactively contact you to confirm delivery details and is available to assist you 24/7 throughout the lifetime of your product. 𝗢𝘂𝗿 𝗮𝗳𝘁𝗲𝗿-𝘀𝗮𝗹𝗲𝘀 𝘁𝗲𝗮𝗺 𝘄𝗶𝗹𝗹 𝗮𝗹𝘀𝗼 𝗿𝗲𝗮𝗰𝗵 𝗼𝘂𝘁 𝘁𝗼 𝘆𝗼𝘂 𝘁𝗼 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝗳𝗶𝗿𝗺 𝗱𝗲𝗹𝗶𝘃𝗲𝗿𝘆 𝗱𝗲𝘁𝗮𝗶𝗹𝘀, 𝘀𝗼 𝗽𝗹𝗲𝗮𝘀𝗲 𝗸𝗲𝗲𝗽 𝗮𝗻 𝗲𝘆𝗲 𝗼𝗻 𝘆𝗼𝘂𝗿 𝗔𝗺𝗮𝘇𝗼𝗻 𝗺𝗲𝘀𝘀𝗮𝗴𝗲𝘀.
  • 【32.15kWh – Power Through Any Outage】 This high-capacity 48V 628Ah LiFePO₄ battery keeps your AC, refrigerator, lights, well pump, and WiFi running through the night and into the next day when the grid goes down. No spoiled food. No dark rooms. No interrupted work calls. Just peace of mind.
  • 【10.24kW – Run Your AC & Appliances】 Most backup batteries can't handle heavy loads. This one delivers 10.24kW of continuous power — enough to start and run your central AC, heat pump, water pump, and kitchen appliances simultaneously. Not just lights and phone chargers. Real whole-home power.
  • 【Store Solar, Use at Night – Stop Wasting Free Energy】 If you have solar panels, this battery captures daytime energy for nighttime use — so you stop buying expensive peak-rate electricity. Maximize your solar investment by using every watt your panels produce, instead of selling it back for pennies.
  • 【6000 Cycles, 15+ Year Lifespan】 Built with EVE automotive-grade LiFePO₄ cells — the same chemistry powering electric vehicles. Rated for over 6,000 deep cycles at 80% DoD, delivering 15+ years of daily use. Most batteries degrade fast; this one keeps going.
  • Discharge capability down to −40°C (−40°F).
  • Charging capability down to −30°C (−22°F).
  • A driving experience comparable to normal temperatures down to −20°C (−4°F).
  • A claimed 5% improvement in low-temperature range from the AB architecture.

These figures should be attributed to CATL. They do not mean that a production vehicle will lose no range in winter, nor do they substitute for independent testing at realistic highway speeds and temperatures.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The 2026 second-generation Freevoy is a different proposition

CATL’s 2026 announcement makes clear that the first-generation launch was not the endpoint. The second-generation Freevoy is described as a materially different multi-chemistry design, using LFP and NCM materials rather than simply repeating the original lithium-ion/sodium-ion arrangement.

CATL claims that the new platform can support:

  • Up to 600 km of pure-electric range.
  • Up to 500 km for an LFP version.
  • More than 600 km for an NCM version.
  • More than 2,000 km of total vehicle range in the NCM configuration.
  • Claimed energy density of 230 Wh/kg.
  • Up to 10C superfast charging.
  • Claimed peak power of 1.5 MW at full charge and 1.2 MW at 20% state of charge.

CATL also says the second-generation system can provide more than 15% greater range without increasing pack weight compared with single-chemistry LFP systems. Its stated method is gradient-uniform mixing of LFP and NCM materials at the powder-particle level.

Again, these are product and company claims, not independent road-test results. The 2026 Freevoy should not be conflated with the 2024 version:

Feature First-generation Freevoy Second-generation Freevoy
Announced October 2024 2026
Chemistry approach Lithium-ion and sodium-ion AB integration LFP and NCM integration
Claimed electric range More than 400 km Up to 600 km
Claimed charging 4C Up to 10C

The newer announcement is therefore about more than cold-weather assistance from sodium-ion cells. It represents CATL’s broader effort to combine chemistries to improve range, charging, power, and pack-mass efficiency.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Read CATL’s second-generation announcement at CATL’s official news site.

Why automakers might want a battery this large

A conventional PHEV often uses a relatively small battery because its engine provides long-distance range. Freevoy makes a different design possible: a vehicle could handle most daily travel electrically while keeping an engine or generator for trips beyond the charging network.

Rank #4
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

That could make sense for drivers who:

  • Can charge at home or work and drive moderate distances each day.
  • Take occasional long trips through regions with limited fast-charging infrastructure.
  • Want electric driving for routine use but do not want to plan every long journey around chargers.
  • Live in markets where EREVs or long-range PHEVs are more readily available than large BEVs.

Automakers might also use the additional electric range to rethink engine or fuel-tank sizing, but that is a design possibility, not a CATL commitment. A larger battery adds mass, cost, packaging demands, and embodied energy. Adding that battery to a vehicle that still carries an engine, fuel system, exhaust equipment, and associated hardware can produce a particularly heavy vehicle.

Freevoy does not automatically make a PHEV better than a BEV

The better choice depends on how the vehicle will be used.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Where a Freevoy-equipped PHEV or EREV could be compelling

It could offer substantial electric commuting range, quick charging, and gasoline or generator backup for long journeys. That combination may be especially useful for drivers with inconsistent access to public charging or frequent trips beyond the range of a practical charging network.

Where a BEV may still be the simpler choice

A battery-electric vehicle has no combustion engine, fuel system, exhaust after-treatment, or engine-related maintenance. Drivers with reliable home charging, predictable travel, and good access to fast chargers may prefer that simpler architecture. Freevoy improves the electric portion of a hybrid; it does not turn the vehicle into a BEV.

Where a conventional hybrid may be more rational

Drivers who rarely plug in may receive little benefit from a large rechargeable battery. They could instead be carrying the weight and cost of a high-capacity pack without regularly using its electric range. A conventional hybrid may be a better fit for people who cannot charge at home or work and do not want to change their routine.

Large-battery PHEVs also continue to produce tailpipe emissions when their engines operate. Running costs and emissions depend heavily on whether the owner charges frequently, how far the vehicle travels electrically, and how the vehicle’s control software manages the engine.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What buyers should verify in an actual vehicle

Do not shop by the Freevoy name alone. Ask the automaker or dealer:

Best Value
Sale
EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh DELTA Pro, 120V 3600W AC Output
  • Large Capacity. Featuring a 3600Wh LFP battery capacity, DELTA Pro provides strong electrical storage for home battery backup power supply and outdoor camping. Applied with DELTA Pro Extra Batteries or Smart Generators, the electric generator can expand its capacity from 3.6kWh to 25kWh.
  • Maximum Output Flexibility. A single DELTA Pro unit packs a 3600W AC output, which can be expanded up to 4500W with X-Boost technology. You can even pair two units together to achieve 7200W. Power 99.99% heavy-duty devices at home, outdoors, or at work. With 15 output methods: 2*USB-A, 2*USB-A Fast Charge, 2*USB-C (100W), 5*AC Outlets, 2*DC Outlets, 1 car power output and 1 Anderson port, the solar power station grants the ability to power multiple devices at the same time.
  • X-Stream Fast Charging. Fully recharge the lifepo4 battery in 1.8 hrs with 240V outlets(3000W), 2.7 hrs with 1800W wall outlets or solar charged in 2.8 hours with 4*400W solar panels thanks to the industry-leading solar conversion efficiency of up to 23%. EcoFlow’s X-Stream charging technology isn't just fast, it's safe too with the battery management system.
  • 5 Ways to Charge. Pick from EV station charging, solar, wall outlets, using the smart outdoor generator or via a car outlet. Faster than any other 3000 watt solar generator. Keep going for miles when your electric vehicle runs out of battery. Either at home or on the go, DELTA Pro will have you back on the road in no time.
  • Smart App Control. Use the EcoFlow app via Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. Monitor the status of all your devices and power sources that are charging your portable power station. Check on charge level, temperature and charge/discharge times. Control from afar and customize all settings, such as battery life, input/output, and more. Break down your energy habits or customize your energy usage to fit your needs.
  1. What is the vehicle’s certified electric range? CATL’s platform headline is not the vehicle’s certification figure.
  2. Which test cycle produced it? CLTC, WLTP, EPA, and other cycles are not directly interchangeable.
  3. What is the usable battery capacity? Gross and usable capacity can differ.
  4. Which Freevoy generation and chemistry are installed? The lithium/sodium first generation and LFP/NCM second generation are different systems.
  5. What charging rate does the complete vehicle support? The pack’s C-rate is irrelevant if the inlet, electronics, thermal system, or local charger cannot deliver it.
  6. How does it perform in winter? Look for independent cold-weather testing, especially at realistic highway speeds.
  7. How much does it weigh? A large battery plus a combustion drivetrain can be heavier than either a conventional hybrid or a similarly sized BEV.
  8. Where is it sold and supported? A Chinese-market battery claim does not establish U.S. certification, warranty coverage, service, or availability.

Which vehicles will use Freevoy?

At the original launch, CATL said Freevoy would be incorporated into vehicles from Chinese brands including Li Auto, Avatr, and Deepal. It also identified Geely, Chery, GAC, and Voyah among other automakers expected to use the technology, and said approximately 30 hybrid models were expected to launch with Freevoy batteries by the following year.

That announcement is a rollout plan, not a complete current global model list. It does not establish that every named vehicle reached mass production, that every model uses the same Freevoy generation, or that any particular vehicle is sold in the United States. Model-level confirmation is essential before treating a vehicle as a confirmed Freevoy application.

There is also no basis for suggesting that existing PHEV owners can retrofit their cars with a Freevoy pack. Battery dimensions, cooling, voltage, crash structure, software, charging hardware, and certification are all vehicle-specific.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Safety and regulation

CATL said its Freevoy battery passed testing associated with China’s GB 38031-2025 electric-vehicle traction-battery safety requirements, which CATL stated would take effect on July 1, 2026. The company’s safety announcement is available at CATL’s official site.

Passing a specified national test or receiving a testing report does not prove that every vehicle installation is risk-free. Nor does compliance with a Chinese standard automatically establish compliance with U.S., European, or other regional requirements. Battery safety is a vehicle-system property involving cells, pack structure, thermal management, wiring, software, crash protection, charging equipment, and integration.

The bottom line for PHEV and EREV shoppers

Freevoy is significant because it attacks the central compromise of many plug-in hybrids: a small battery for daily driving combined with an engine for long trips. CATL’s first-generation platform claimed more than 400 km of electric range and 4C charging; the 2026 successor claims up to 600 km, 10C charging, and more than 2,000 km of total vehicle range in one configuration.

The technology could make some PHEVs and EREVs feel much more like EVs in everyday use. But the meaningful question is not whether CATL can publish a 400- or 600-km figure. It is whether an automaker can deliver that capability at an acceptable price, weight, charging power, safety level, and service footprint—and whether the owner will actually plug in often enough to use it.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.