The BYD Seal 2024 is a five-seat battery-electric sedan sold in selected export markets, not a universally available global model. European launch versions used an 82.5 kWh battery, delivered up to 570 km WLTP in RWD form, charged at up to 150 kW DC, and started at €50,025 in Ireland before listed reliefs; regular US new-car availability was not established.
Prices, trim names, taxes, incentives, warranty terms, charging hardware, and availability vary by country. This review uses dated 2024 launch or product-guide figures where stated, distinguishes WLTP and WLTC test cycles, and does not present manufacturer claims as independent road-test or real-world ownership results.
Key takeaways
- The European-launch BYD Seal used an 82.5 kWh Blade Battery and was rated at up to 570 km WLTP in rear-wheel-drive Design form, according to BYD’s 2023 specification.
- The Excellence AWD version produced 390 kW (530 PS) and claimed 0–100 km/h in 3.8 seconds, but its official range fell to 520 km WLTP.
- BYD’s European launch specification listed 11 kW AC charging, up to 150 kW DC charging, and up to 3,000 W of Vehicle-to-Load output.
- Euro NCAP awarded the BYD Seal five stars in its 2023 safety assessment, although equipment and software can vary by market and trim.
- 2024 launch pricing was market-specific: Ireland listed €50,025–€54,025 before listed reliefs, while Australian pricing ranged from A$49,888 to A$68,798 before on-road costs.
- The BYD Seal was sold in several export markets, but the supplied research did not establish a regular US consumer sales, service, or warranty channel.
What is the BYD Seal 2024?
The BYD Seal 2024 is a five-seat, battery-electric D-segment sedan from BYD’s Ocean series. European launch material describes a low-slung saloon built around BYD’s e-Platform 3.0, Cell-to-Body construction, an integrated 8-in-1 electric powertrain, and a cobalt-free Blade Battery. The European launch announcement from BYD dates those specifications to September 2023.
BYD Media described the car as “a performance all-electric sedan that blends striking award-winning looks with the latest battery and motor technology for an exhilarating dynamic experience.” That is a manufacturer description rather than an independent road-test verdict. The available research contains no firsthand test drive, instrumented range test, long-term reliability survey, or independent ownership study, so this review separates verified specifications from questions that require a local test drive.
Recommended Free Tools
#1 Best Overall
- 【All-Weather Protection】: grooves and raised edges effectively trap liquids, snow, sand, and more, providing comprehensive protection for your vehicle. Keep your car looking brand-new year-round while maintaining pristine interior flooring.
- 【Effortless Cleaning】: The non-slip textured surface simplifies maintenance. wipe with a damp cloth or rinse with a hose to restore it to like-new condition.
- 【Premium Materials】: Crafted from TPE material through multi-layer extrusion, Offers high strength, exceptional durability, and rugged wear resistance while maintaining flexibility even in harsh winters.
- 【Luxurious Feel, Elevated Interior】: Features a refined textured surface or stylish stitching design for a premium, sophisticated look. Seamlessly integrates with your vehicle's original interior, instantly enhancing cabin luxury and tidiness.
- LHD TPE Floor Mats Fit For BYD Seal U Sealion 6 2021-2025 Car Carpets Trunk Mat Backrest protection pad
European Design and Excellence specifications
BYD’s 2023 European launch material gave the Seal two principal versions. The figures below are manufacturer claims for that launch configuration, not universal specifications for every country.
| Market trim | Drive and output | Battery | Official range | Claimed acceleration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Design RWD | Rear-wheel drive; 230 kW; 313 PS | 82.5 kWh | 570 km WLTP combined | 0–100 km/h in 5.9 seconds |
| Excellence AWD | All-wheel drive; 390 kW; 530 PS | 82.5 kWh | 520 km WLTP combined | 0–100 km/h in 3.8 seconds |
The BYD European launch specification is the source for the 82.5 kWh battery, 570 km and 520 km WLTP figures, power outputs, and acceleration claims. The simple buying decision is therefore clear: Design prioritises official range and lower complexity, while Excellence AWD prioritises traction and acceleration at the cost of some claimed range.
Why do the BYD Seal trim names differ by country?
BYD reused the Seal name with different trim names and battery choices in different markets. Australian launch versions were called Dynamic, Premium, and Performance rather than Design and Excellence.
| Australian launch trim | Battery | Official range | Power or drive information in the supplied data | Launch price before on-road costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dynamic | 61.4 kWh | 460 km WLTP | Not specified in the supplied launch data | A$49,888 |
| Premium | 82.5 kWh | 570 km WLTP | Not specified in the supplied launch data | A$58,798 |
| Performance | 82.5 kWh | 520 km WLTP | Dual motor; 390 kW | A$68,798 |
Australian launch reporting from 2023 supports the Australian trim names, batteries, ranges, outputs, and launch prices. The Australian Performance specification broadly corresponds to the European Excellence AWD concept, but a buyer should not assume that equipment, software, warranty, or minor hardware details are identical.
How much is the 2024 BYD Seal?
There is no single global 2024 BYD Seal price. Country-specific taxes, incentives, registration rules, trim names, delivery charges, and exchange rates produce materially different figures. The prices below are dated market references, not a current worldwide MSRP.
What did the BYD Seal cost in Ireland?
BYD Ireland’s MY24 product guide listed the Design RWD at €50,025 retail and the Excellence AWD at €54,025 retail. Under the guide’s stated conditions for eligible private customers, listed VRT relief and a SEAI grant reduced those figures to €44,036 and €49,836 respectively.
| Ireland MY24 trim | Retail price | Listed subsidised retail price | Price date and conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Seal Design RWD | €50,025 | €44,036 | BYD Ireland guide; registrations through 31 March 2024; subject to eligibility and availability |
| Seal Excellence AWD | €54,025 | €49,836 | BYD Ireland guide; registrations through 31 March 2024; subject to eligibility and availability |
The BYD Ireland MY24 price guide states that the prices were subject to availability and excluded some dealer- and delivery-related charges. The subsidised figures were not universal Irish prices and should not be applied to customers who did not meet the guide’s conditions.
What did the BYD Seal cost in Australia?
Australian launch-market reporting from 2023 listed the 2024 range at A$49,888 for Dynamic, A$58,798 for Premium, and A$68,798 for Performance, all before on-road costs.
Rank #2
- For BYD Seal U / Sealion 6 Song Plus DMI 2021-2025 TPE Floor Mats And Cargo Liner, All Weather Liners Trunk Mat Only
- Selected high-quality fabrics, comfortable to the touch, durable and not easily deformed.
- Customized version, which perfectly fits the radian of the original car, is beautiful and obedient.
- Water-proof, oil-proof and stain-resistant, it can be cleaned with one wipe, and it can easily deal with daily stains.
- Simple and versatile design, improve the overall grade of the car.
| Australian 2024 trim | Launch price before on-road costs | Battery and range |
|---|---|---|
| Dynamic | A$49,888 | 61.4 kWh; 460 km WLTP |
| Premium | A$58,798 | 82.5 kWh; 570 km WLTP |
| Performance | A$68,798 | 82.5 kWh; 520 km WLTP |
The Australian 2024 pricing and specification reference is useful for identifying the launch range, but launch MSRP should not be confused with a later used-car or advertised price. On-road costs, dealer charges, state rules, and subsequent price changes can alter the amount a buyer actually pays.
What does the BYD Seal cost in Japan?
BYD Japan’s current model page displays Japanese-market Seal RWD and AWD variants with an 82.56 kWh Blade Battery. The page shows 640 km WLTC and an MSRP of ¥4,950,000 for RWD, plus 575 km WLTC and an MSRP of ¥5,720,000 for AWD.
Those are Japan-specific figures displayed on the current BYD Japan Seal page. WLTC is Japan’s test-cycle designation rather than WLTP, and the displayed prices should not be converted into a global 2024 price without accounting for local taxes, incentives, equipment, and exchange-rate movements.
Is the UK BYD Seal price still a 2024 price?
BYD’s current UK consumer site and configurator confirm an official UK sales channel and list Design and Excellence versions. The UK model page displays up to 354 miles WLTP combined and a five-star Euro NCAP rating, but current displayed prices are not necessarily the 2024 prices covered by this review. Buyers should use the live configurator for a current quote rather than reuse the Irish or Australian figures.
The official BYD UK Seal page is the appropriate reference for current UK availability and equipment. A UK trim name should not be assumed to have the same price or standard equipment as an Irish, Australian, Japanese, or other national-market trim.
What is the real-world range of the BYD Seal?
No verified independent real-world range number is available in the supplied research. The defensible answer is that the long-range RWD version has the strongest official figure—570 km WLTP in the European and Australian specifications—while the AWD version is officially rated at 520 km WLTP.
WLTP is a standardised comparison cycle, not a promise that every driver will cover the stated distance. Cold weather, motorway speed, strong heating or air-conditioning use, payload, wheel choice, terrain, and repeated acceleration can reduce the distance available between charges. A buyer who needs dependable motorway or winter range should treat the WLTP number as a comparison baseline and arrange a local test drive or owner-data check before purchase.
The Japanese page’s 640 km RWD and 575 km AWD figures use WLTC and a Japanese-market configuration. Those numbers should not be directly ranked against the European 570 km and 520 km WLTP figures as though they were identical tests.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Rank #3
- For BYD Seal EV 2026 2025 2024 LHD & RHD TPE Floor Mats And Cargo Liner, All Weather Liners Trunk Mat And Backrest Cover
- - **High-Quality Materials:** Our Car Floor Mats are crafted from premium, durable materials designed to withstand daily wear and tear, ensuring long-lasting protection for your vehicle's interior.
- Efficient Car Accessories Interior**: Designed specifically as car accessories interior, this trunk pad fits seamlessly into your vehicle, providing a stylish and functional enhancement to your car's flooring.
- - **Universal Fit**: These versatile car mats are designed to fit a wide range of vehicles, making them an ideal choice for anyone looking to their car stuff without worrying about compatibility.
- - **Easy to Clean**: Our Car Floor Mats Trunk Pad is not only stylish but easy to clean, allowing you to simply wipe or rinse off and debris, saving you time and effort in vehicle upkeep.
How fast does the BYD Seal charge?
The European launch specification supports 11 kW AC charging and up to 150 kW DC charging. The 150 kW figure is a maximum charging capability, not a guaranteed charging speed at every public charger or throughout the entire battery session.
| Charging or power feature | Documented specification | What the figure means |
|---|---|---|
| AC charging | 11 kW | Maximum AC capability in the European launch specification; actual home-charging speed depends on the vehicle supply and installation |
| DC fast charging | Up to 150 kW | Peak capability in the European launch specification; charger power, battery temperature, state of charge, and site conditions affect the result |
| Vehicle-to-Load | Up to 3,000 W | Can supply compatible external electrical devices within the stated output limit |
These figures come from BYD’s Seal specification material and the European launch documentation. BYD also identifies a portable charging cable among Seal-related equipment. Cable inclusion, connector type, amperage, and national charging standards can vary by country and trim, so the equipment list should be checked on the exact vehicle order.
V2L is a practical differentiator for camping, work equipment, or emergency low-power appliances, but a 3,000 W maximum does not mean every device is suitable. Buyers should check the output requirements and compatibility of any equipment they plan to connect.
Does the BYD Seal have AWD?
Yes, the European Excellence and Australian Performance versions use all-wheel drive. The European Excellence AWD combines 390 kW and 530 PS with a claimed 0–100 km/h time of 3.8 seconds and a 520 km WLTP range. The European Design is rear-wheel drive with 230 kW, 313 PS, 5.9-second claimed acceleration, and a 570 km WLTP range.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
AWD improves the specification’s traction and performance case, but AWD does not automatically produce better winter range, ride comfort, braking feel, or handling balance. Those qualities require a local drive in the conditions that matter to the buyer.
Is the BYD Seal safe?
Euro NCAP awarded the BYD Seal five stars in its 2023 safety assessment. Euro NCAP reported: “The passenger compartment of the SEAL remained stable in the frontal offset test.” The assessment also described good protection for critical regions of the front passenger and at least adequate protection for the driver in the test areas reported on the assessment page.
The Euro NCAP BYD Seal assessment is the primary source for the five-star result, and the Euro NCAP 2023 test datasheet provides the detailed test record. The result applies to the configuration assessed in 2023; it should not be treated as proof that every later software version, market variant, or equipment package has identical performance.
What driver-assistance features does the Seal have?
BYD’s UK material lists adaptive cruise control, intelligent speed-limit functions, predictive and forward-collision warnings, automatic emergency braking, lane-departure and emergency-lane-keeping functions, traffic-jam assistance, traffic-sign recognition, blind-spot-related functions, and cross-traffic alerts. Exact availability depends on national market and trim.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #4
- Compatible with BYD Sealion 7 2024-2026. These floor mats are precisely engineered for a perfect fit in your car, ensuring maximum coverage and protection for your vehicle's interior.
- Premium Quality TPE Material: Crafted from durable, non-toxic TPE material, these mats provide long-lasting resilience against wear and tear, while remaining flexible in extreme temperatures, making them ideal for all-weather use.
- All-Weather Waterproof Protection: Designed to handle any weather condition, these mats feature a waterproof surface and raised edges to trap dirt, mud, snow, and spills, keeping your car’s interior clean and dry.
- Easy to Clean and Maintain: The mats are easy to clean with just a simple rinse, thanks to their non-stick surface. Their design ensures no lingering odors after drying, making maintenance a breeze.
- Enhanced Safety and Style: With an anti-skid texture and snap-in clips to prevent shifting, these mats provide a secure and safe driving experience. Their sleek, black 4.5D design adds a touch of elegance to your car's interior.
Safety-assistance availability is not the same as safety-assistance quality. The supplied research does not include an independent assessment of warning calibration, lane-centering behaviour, camera performance, app reliability, or software update quality. A test drive should include the roads and traffic conditions in which the buyer expects to use these systems.
Is the BYD Seal practical for family use?
The BYD Seal is a five-seat sedan measuring 4,800 mm long, 1,875 mm wide, and 1,460 mm high, with a 2,920 mm wheelbase in the European specification. The long wheelbase should help create useful cabin space, while the low sedan body improves the car’s sporty proportions but can be less flexible than an SUV or hatchback.
Australian reference data lists a 400-litre rear boot. The important practical checks are whether the rear seat comfortably accommodates the adults or child seats in the household, whether the boot opening accepts regular luggage, and whether the sedan’s lower cargo flexibility is acceptable compared with a crossover.
The dimensions come from BYD’s European launch specification, while the 400-litre Australian boot reference appears in the Carsales 2024 Seal research page. Neither source replaces a physical inspection with the buyer’s luggage, child seats, or preferred charging cable.
Are BYD Seal 2024 floor mats available?
Aftermarket listings for tailored BYD Seal floor mats and liners exist, but fitment must be checked carefully before ordering. Search for BYD Seal 2024 floor mats and confirm the exact model year, body style, left-hand-drive or right-hand-drive layout, front and rear-seat shape, and whether the product includes a matching boot liner.
Do not assume that a mat listed for a 2022–2025 Seal fits every national-market car. The steering position, floor anchor points, trim configuration, and seller’s definition of “2024” can differ. No particular listing was independently tested for fit in this review.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.How does the BYD Seal drive?
On paper, the BYD Seal offers strong acceleration in both main European versions: BYD claims 5.9 seconds from 0–100 km/h for the 230 kW RWD Design and 3.8 seconds for the 390 kW AWD Excellence. The AWD figure places the car in performance-car territory for straight-line acceleration.
Acceleration is only one part of a sedan review. Ride comfort, steering calibration, body control, braking feel, tyre noise, traction in poor weather, and the natural operation of driver assistance determine whether the Seal feels polished every day. The supplied research does not contain an independent road test or firsthand driving assessment, so claims about those characteristics should be verified with a local drive rather than inferred from the power figures.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Best Value
- For BYD Seal U / Sealion 6 Song Plus DMI 2021-2025 LHD TPE Floor Mats And Cargo Liner, All Weather Liners Trunk Mat
- It absorbs some of the high-frequency vibrations transmitted from the heel and the chassis, as well as the sound of gravel striking the vehicle. Compared to hard plastic floor mats or worn-out original suede mats, noise levels in the footwell area are significantly reduced, making long drives quieter.
- The floor mats stay securely in place during everyday activities like getting in and out of the car, sudden braking, and driving over speed bumps, reducing the risk of them getting caught under the pedals.
- Compared to standard flat floor mats, these offer significantly improved puncture and tear resistance.
- To clean, simply the debris, shake out any dry debris, and wipe with a low-pressure water spray or a damp cloth to restore it to like-new condition.
Is the BYD Seal better than a Tesla Model 3?
There is no universal winner between the BYD Seal and Tesla Model 3 because the answer depends on local price, incentives, charging access, software, service coverage, and the exact versions being compared. The supplied research does not provide a like-for-like 2024 Model 3 price or specification, so declaring one car objectively better would be misleading.
The BYD Seal’s documented case is strongest where a buyer values a conventional sedan interior, substantial equipment, an 82.5 kWh battery, available AWD, V2L, and a five-star Euro NCAP result. The Tesla Model 3 comparison should be made locally using the same purchase date, tax treatment, wheel configuration, warranty basis, and charging assumptions.
| Decision area | BYD Seal evidence | What to verify against a local Model 3 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | 2024 references range from €50,025 in Ireland before listed reliefs to A$68,798 in Australia before on-road costs, depending on trim and market | Same-country drive-away price after incentives, delivery charges, and registration |
| Range | Up to 570 km WLTP for European-style RWD; 520 km WLTP for AWD | Like-for-like test cycle, wheel size, cold-weather use, and motorway energy consumption |
| Charging | 11 kW AC and up to 150 kW DC in the European launch specification; up to 3,000 W V2L | Actual local public-charger access, peak-curve behaviour, home-charging compatibility, and cable inclusion |
| Performance | 5.9 seconds 0–100 km/h for RWD Design and 3.8 seconds for AWD Excellence, according to BYD | Equivalent version’s acceleration, ride, braking, steering, noise, and traction |
| Ownership support | Market-specific dealer, warranty, parts, roadside, and servicing terms must be confirmed | Local service footprint, repair process, software support, roadside assistance, and resale confidence |
| Usability | Five seats, 2,920 mm European wheelbase, and a 400-litre rear-boot reference in Australia | Rear-seat access, cargo opening, app and navigation quality, phone integration, and everyday software behaviour |
The right comparison is not “BYD versus Tesla” in the abstract. It is the exact locally supported Seal version against the exact locally supported Model 3 version, with the buyer checking charging convenience and after-sales support before giving headline acceleration or range priority.
What are the main BYD Seal strengths and weaknesses?
Strengths
- Strong straight-line performance, especially in the 390 kW AWD version.
- Long official range from the 82.5 kWh RWD version.
- Documented high equipment levels in the European and Australian specifications, subject to local trim differences.
- Five-star Euro NCAP safety result from the 2023 assessment.
- V2L capability and stated 150 kW maximum DC charging in the European launch specification.
- Distinctive low-slung design and a long wheelbase.
Weaknesses and cautions
- Trim names, batteries, prices, incentives, connectors, equipment, warranty terms, and taxes vary substantially by country.
- WLTP and WLTC figures are test-cycle results, not guaranteed real-world range.
- Local servicing, parts availability, roadside support, and warranty administration must be checked before purchase.
- Specification sheets cannot establish software quality or driver-assistance refinement.
- US buyers may face registration, warranty, import, and service barriers because a regular US consumer channel was not established in the supplied research.
- Floor-mat fitment must be matched to the exact model year and left-hand-drive or right-hand-drive layout.
What should you check before buying a 2024 BYD Seal?
- Confirm the market and trim. Do not compare Design with Dynamic or Excellence with Performance solely by name. Verify battery size, drivetrain, power, range test cycle, standard equipment, and price on the local build sheet.
- Ask for the drive-away price. Separate MSRP from taxes, registration, dealer and delivery charges, incentives, finance costs, and on-road costs.
- Check charging at home. Confirm whether the home supply can use the vehicle’s 11 kW AC capability, whether a cable is included, and which connector and electrical standards apply in that country.
- Check fast-charging access. A 150 kW maximum is useful only if compatible public chargers are available along the buyer’s regular routes and the vehicle can sustain an appropriate charging curve.
- Test the real cabin and boot. Bring child seats, luggage, or other objects that matter. A 400-litre boot reference does not describe the shape or opening of every cargo space.
- Test the software and assistance systems. Examine navigation, phone integration, cameras, app reliability, adaptive cruise, lane keeping, and warning behaviour on a proper local drive.
- Get after-sales terms in writing. Verify warranty duration and exclusions, battery coverage, servicing intervals and prices, roadside assistance, parts supply, software support, and the nearest authorised repair location.
- For imported or US cars, verify support before paying. Registration eligibility, charging hardware, insurance, parts, warranty validity, and repair access can be more difficult than the headline vehicle specification suggests.
BYD Seal 2024 verdict
The BYD Seal 2024 is a compelling electric executive sedan in markets where BYD officially sells and supports the relevant version. The 82.5 kWh RWD model combines the strongest documented range with serious performance, while the AWD model adds 390 kW and 3.8-second acceleration. Five-star Euro NCAP safety, V2L, and 150 kW maximum DC charging strengthen the specification.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →The buying decision depends less on a global headline price than on local support. Verify the exact trim, taxes, incentives, charging equipment, real-world route suitability, warranty, servicing, software, and parts network. For US readers in particular, the research confirms export-market availability but does not establish a normal new-car sales channel, dealer network, or warranty route.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the BYD Seal 2024 available in the US?
The BYD Seal 2024 was not established as a regular US-market new-car offering in the supplied research. BYD’s US corporate presence does not by itself confirm that the Seal can be ordered, registered, serviced, or warranted through a US passenger-car network.
How fast does the BYD Seal 2024 charge?
The European-launch BYD Seal supported up to 150 kW DC charging and 11 kW AC charging. The 150 kW figure is a maximum capability, so actual speed depends on the charger, battery temperature, state of charge, and vehicle configuration.
What is the real-world range of the BYD Seal 2024?
The European Design RWD version was rated at 570 km WLTP, while the Excellence AWD version was rated at 520 km WLTP. The supplied research contains no independent real-world range test, and cold weather, motorway speed, heating, payload, and terrain can reduce the distance achieved.
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchDoes the BYD Seal 2024 have AWD?
Yes. The European Excellence and Australian Performance versions use all-wheel drive. European launch specifications gave the Excellence AWD 390 kW, 530 PS, and a claimed 0–100 km/h time of 3.8 seconds.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Choose the BYD Seal 2024 Design-style RWD version for the best documented range balance, or the Excellence-style AWD version for maximum acceleration. The Seal is worth serious consideration only where the local BYD sales, charging, warranty, and service arrangements are clearly established.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




