Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The 2026 Honda Prelude starts at $42,000 before a $1,195 destination charge. It offers 200 system horsepower, front-wheel drive, and Honda/EPA ratings of 46 mpg city, 41 highway, and 44 combined. That makes it an unusual hybrid grand touring coupe—but its price puts it up against shoppers who may care more about rear-wheel drive, a manual gearbox, or a lower entry price. The challenge is real; a sales failure is not established.
Is the 2026 Honda Prelude worth it?
It may be worth considering if you want a refined two-door coupe with hybrid efficiency, useful cargo space, and chassis equipment drawn from Honda performance models. The value is less obvious if your priority is sports-car performance per dollar or traditional driver involvement: the Prelude is front-wheel drive and does not have a conventional manual transmission.
Honda says the Prelude’s hybrid system and return to the passenger-car lineup reflect its commitment to expand hybrid-electric sales. That is the automaker’s stated rationale, not proof of how buyers will respond. As Honda assistant vice president of Honda National Auto Sales Jessika Laudermilk put it, “The return of Prelude to the Honda lineup demonstrates our commitment to expand hybrid-electric sales and our passenger car lineup,” in the company’s November 18, 2025 release.
How much does the 2026 Honda Prelude cost?
American Honda announced a U.S. starting MSRP of $42,000, excluding a $1,195 destination charge, on November 18, 2025. Honda’s model page also lists a $42,000 starting MSRP. Dealer prices and availability can vary, so check local listings before comparing out-the-door costs. Honda’s 2026 Prelude page and its November 18, 2025 pricing announcement provide the official figures.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches#1 Best Overall
- This plastic model requires assembly and painting. Adhesives, tools, paints, etc., sold separately
- 1/24 scale unpainted plastic model assembly kit
- Size when completed: Total length 7.4 inches (189 mm), Total width 3.4 inches (87 mm), Total height
- In addition to rooms with horizontal base panel and large LCD meter, the back of the chassis and around the feet are finished with a 3D feel
- Includes metal inlet markings such as emblems and window mask seals
What is the 2026 Honda Prelude MPG?
Honda publishes EPA fuel-economy ratings of 46 mpg city, 41 mpg highway, and 44 mpg combined for the U.S. Prelude. Those are EPA ratings, not a guarantee of what an individual driver will get; speed, traffic, weather, and driving habits affect real-world fuel economy. Honda lists these ratings in its model specifications and pricing release.
What does the Prelude’s hybrid system deliver?
The U.S. Prelude pairs a 2.0-liter Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder with Honda’s two-motor hybrid system for 200 total system horsepower. Power goes to the front wheels. Honda describes the direct-drive hybrid layout as using neither a traditional transmission nor a CVT, so it is not a conventional geared sports-car drivetrain. The engine and motor work within Honda’s hybrid system rather than through a driver-operated manual gearbox. Honda’s model page lists the specifications.
Rank #2
- 1998 Honda Prelude in a Sleek Black Finish!
- Number 5/5 in the Factory Fresh Set! Number 136/250 in the Overall Series!
- 1:64 Scale Diecast Toy Vehicle
Does Honda S+ Shift make the Prelude a manual?
No. Honda S+ Shift simulates some performance-transmission behavior, including shift-like feedback, but it does not add a clutch pedal or turn the hybrid into a conventional manual. It is intended to make the driving experience feel more involving while retaining the hybrid system’s operating layout.
The Prelude has Comfort, GT, Sport, and Individual drive modes. Its chassis equipment includes adaptive dampers and a dual-axis front suspension. These features give Honda a basis for positioning the car as a sporty grand tourer, though they do not change its front-wheel-drive layout. Honda describes the system and equipment on its Prelude model page.
Rank #3
- This plastic model requires assembly and painting. Adhesives, tools, paints, etc., sold separately
- 1/24 scale unpainted plastic assembly kit
- Size when assembled: total length 7.1 inches (180 mm), total width 3.2 inches (82 mm), total height 2.1 inches (
- faithfully reproduces the aerodynamic shape of the Honda Prelude XX
- Decals recreate front and rear emblems, headcover logos, speakers, and wheel center emblems
How does the Honda Prelude compare with the Toyota GR86?
The two coupes appeal to different priorities. The Prelude combines hybrid efficiency and hatchback-style utility; the GR86’s rear-wheel-drive layout and manual option are more traditional sports-car draws. The comparison below uses Edmunds figures reported by the Associated Press. Its price comparison is between the 2026 Prelude and the 2027 GR86, and compares starting prices rather than equivalent trims.
| Measure | 2026 Honda Prelude | 2027 Toyota GR86 |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $42,000 MSRP, plus $1,195 destination, per American Honda’s November 18, 2025 announcement | $32,795 destination-included starting price, per Edmunds as reported by the Associated Press in 2026 |
| Drivetrain | Front-wheel drive; Honda hybrid system | Rear-wheel drive, per the Edmunds comparison reported by the Associated Press |
| Manual transmission | No conventional manual; Honda S+ Shift simulates shift-like behavior | A manual option is available, per the Edmunds comparison reported by the Associated Press |
| System or engine output | 200 total system horsepower, per American Honda | Not stated in the cited Edmunds comparison reported by the Associated Press |
| EPA fuel economy | 46 city / 41 highway / 44 combined mpg, per American Honda/EPA | Not stated in the cited Edmunds comparison reported by the Associated Press |
| Cargo capacity | 15.1 cubic feet, per Edmunds as reported by the Associated Press in 2026 | 6.3 cubic feet, per Edmunds as reported by the Associated Press in 2026 |
The figures show why the choice is not simply about which coupe is cheaper. A GR86 buyer can spend less to get a rear-drive car with a manual option, while a Prelude buyer is paying more for a hybrid powertrain, substantially higher reported cargo capacity, and the promise of a more comfortable GT-oriented experience. The price comparison is not trim-for-trim, and the available figures do not establish a direct performance test between the cars. The Associated Press report carrying Edmunds’ comparison provides the GR86 price and cargo context.
Rank #4
What other cars might Prelude shoppers consider?
Honda’s dealer-facing competitive material also names the Mazda MX-5 Miata RF. It is a two-seat roadster/coupe rather than a direct substitute for a four-seat-style coupe with a hatchback cargo area, so its appeal depends on whether open-air driving and a smaller cabin suit the buyer. Honda’s comparisons are manufacturer positioning, not independent test results. Honda’s Prelude page is the official starting point for its equipment and specifications.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Why does the Prelude face an uphill battle?
The central challenge is the combination of a $42,000 starting MSRP and a specialized proposition. Buyers must see enough value in hybrid efficiency, equipment, comfort, and cargo utility to choose the Prelude over less expensive alternatives that offer a more conventional sports-car layout. The GR86, for example, targets rear-wheel-drive and manual-transmission enthusiasts at a lower destination-included base price for the 2027 model.
Best Value
- TOMY
- Does not use batteries
That explains the competitive challenge, but it does not establish that the Prelude is already struggling. The available cited material does not provide a Prelude sales total, sales target, order count, or reliable forecast. Its commercial outcome should not be treated as known from price positioning alone.
What should buyers check before choosing one?
- Compare local out-the-door quotes. Honda’s MSRP excludes destination; a dealer quote will show the applicable price and fees in your area.
- Decide what kind of driving involvement matters. S+ Shift offers simulated shift feedback, not a clutch-and-manual experience. Consider whether that suits you alongside the front-wheel-drive layout.
- Weigh efficiency against purchase price. The EPA-rated 44 mpg combined may matter over years of use, but the ratings alone do not determine your total ownership cost.
- Try the cabin and cargo area with your own needs in mind. The reported 15.1-cubic-foot capacity is a useful advantage on paper; check whether the space and seating work for the people and gear you carry.
- Compare model years and equipment carefully. The GR86 starting-price figure above is for the 2027 model, not the 2026 Prelude, and is not an equivalent-trim quote.
Honda lists accessories including all-season floor mats, a cargo tray, and a foldable cargo cover among its Genuine Accessories. If shopping for 2026 Honda Prelude all-season floor mats, confirm exact model-year fitment on the specific listing before ordering. Honda’s model page identifies the accessory categories.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




