There is no single agreed-upon list of the best SUVs under $40,000: automotive publications use different tests, model years and price definitions. This 15-vehicle shortlist draws on current Car and Driver and MotorTrend rankings and a dated Edmunds compact-SUV comparison. Prices below are publisher-listed starting prices, not guaranteed transaction prices, and a starting price under $40,000 does not mean every trim or configuration fits the budget.
How to read this under-$40,000 shortlist
“Under $40,000” can mean a vehicle’s base MSRP, a particular trim’s MSRP, the price of a publication’s test vehicle or the out-the-door cost after taxes and fees. The figures here are starting prices reported by the publications, unless identified otherwise. Confirm the exact trim, destination charge, options, local inventory and current dealer price before shopping.
The list is intentionally broader than compact crossovers. It includes electric vehicles, hybrids, two-row crossovers, a three-row SUV and more capability-oriented choices. Treat the entries as candidates for different needs, not as a single head-to-head ranking.
Model years are included because the sources span 2025, 2026 and 2027 vehicles. Prices and availability can change, so check the current listing for the model year and trim you are considering.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches#1 Best Overall
What the publications measure
Car and Driver
Car and Driver’s under-$40,000 ranking draws on its instrumented testing of several hundred vehicles each year and editors’ real-world driving impressions. The publication says its evaluations use roughly 200 data points, including acceleration, handling, comfort, cargo space, fuel efficiency, value and driving enjoyment. Its list is limited to vehicles priced from $30,000 to $40,000 that also earned a place on its 10Best or Editors’ Choice lists.
MotorTrend
MotorTrend’s ranking combines reviewed vehicles, objective test results and hands-on impressions. It includes different vehicle classes and powertrains, so its order is not directly interchangeable with a compact-only comparison.
Edmunds
Edmunds’ November 21, 2025 comparison brought together ten compact SUVs and assessed driving, onboard technology, passenger and cargo space, comfort and value. It is a useful direct comparison within that class, but it is a dated test rather than an all-SUV ranking.
15 SUVs to consider under $40,000
The table combines examples from these publications, not a shared scorecard. Starting prices and efficiency or range figures are the publishers’ listed figures for the model years shown. “Not stated” means the cited material did not provide a comparable figure; check the exact trim for seating, cargo capacity and equipment.
| Vehicle | Starting price | Type and use | Efficiency or range | What to weigh |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2027 Chevrolet Bolt EV | $28,995 (Car and Driver listing) | All-electric small crossover for everyday driving | 262 miles estimated range (Car and Driver listing) | Low listed entry price and practical EV range; confirm charging fit and availability for the model year. |
| 2026 Honda CR-V | $32,470 (Car and Driver listing) | Compact crossover | 29–30 combined MPG (Car and Driver listing) | A conventional compact-SUV option; compare the specific trim’s equipment and price. |
| 2026 Honda CR-V Hybrid | $37,180 (Car and Driver listing) | Compact hybrid crossover | 35–40 combined MPG (Car and Driver listing) | Car and Driver lists a range up to $44,100, so higher trims exceed the cap even though the starting price does not. |
| 2026 Hyundai Ioniq 5 | $36,650 (Car and Driver listing) | All-electric crossover | 245–318 miles estimated range (Car and Driver listing) | Range varies by configuration. MotorTrend separately names the Ioniq 5 SE its under-$40,000 pick; that trim lacks a 360-degree camera and the latest adaptive-cruise technology, according to its editor-picks feature. |
| 2026 Mazda CX-30 | $27,870 (Car and Driver listing) | Small crossover | Not stated in the cited Car and Driver listing | Its entry price leaves room in the budget for a higher trim, but confirm the equipment and configuration you want. |
| 2026 Mazda CX-50 | $31,395 (Car and Driver listing) | Compact crossover | Not stated in the cited Car and Driver listing | A larger alternative to the CX-30; compare cargo and passenger needs with the trim’s final price. |
| 2026 Ford Bronco Sport | $33,840 (Car and Driver listing) | Compact, capability-oriented SUV | Not stated in the cited Car and Driver listing | Edmunds’ 2025 comparison listed a $34,385 base price and $43,750 as-tested price for its Bronco Sport, illustrating how options can take a vehicle beyond the cap. |
| 2026 Hyundai Santa Fe Hybrid | $38,000 (Car and Driver and MotorTrend listings) | Hybrid SUV with more family-oriented space than a small crossover | Not stated in the cited listings | Compare seating configuration and trim pricing; the cited source material does not provide a directly comparable cargo or efficiency figure. |
| 2026 Kia EV6 | $39,445 (Car and Driver and MotorTrend listings) | All-electric crossover | Not stated in the cited listings | Its listed starting price sits close to the cap; options or a different trim may push the total higher. |
| 2026 Subaru Solterra | $39,945 (MotorTrend listing) | All-electric SUV | Not stated in the cited ranking | The listed entry price is only $55 below the threshold, before applicable fees or options. |
| 2026 Ford Mustang Mach-E | $39,840 (MotorTrend listing) | All-electric crossover | Not stated in the cited ranking | Near-cap starting price makes trim and option selection especially important. |
| 2026 Volkswagen Atlas Cross Sport | $39,775 (MotorTrend listing) | Two-row midsize crossover | Not stated in the cited ranking | Compare its two-row layout with your space needs; the listed entry price leaves little room below the cap. |
| 2026 Nissan Pathfinder | $39,045 (MotorTrend listing) | Three-row SUV | Not stated in the cited ranking | A different size and seating use case from compact crossovers; the ranking listing does not establish a comparable test price. |
| 2026 Lexus UX | $38,850 (MotorTrend listing) | Small luxury SUV | Not stated in the cited ranking | Consider it if a smaller luxury-oriented vehicle suits your needs; verify the exact trim and equipment at this price. |
| 2026 Toyota C-HR | $38,595 (MotorTrend listing) | Small crossover | Not stated in the cited ranking | MotorTrend includes it in the under-$40,000 ranking; confirm the model’s powertrain, availability and trim price in your market. |
Choose by the job the SUV needs to do
For an electric vehicle
The Bolt EV and Ioniq 5 have the clearest listed range figures in this group. Car and Driver lists the Bolt EV at 262 estimated miles and the Ioniq 5 at 245–318 estimated miles, with variation by configuration. The EV6, Solterra and Mustang Mach-E also appear in the rankings, but the cited ranking figures do not provide comparable ranges for them. Check your driving pattern, charging access, desired trim and local availability rather than comparing only the starting prices.
For a compact daily driver
The Honda CR-V and CR-V Hybrid, Mazda CX-30 and CX-50, and Ford Bronco Sport offer different takes on the compact-SUV role. Edmunds’ compact-only comparison considers road manners, technology, comfort, passenger and cargo space, and value; use those same factors when comparing models rather than treating different publications’ rankings as one contest.
Rank #4
- Step-by-step procedures written from a complete teardown and rebuild, giving you the confidence to tackle repairs at any skill level.
- Over 700+ clear photos and diagrams that simplify complex systems, helping you complete jobs faster and with fewer mistakes.
- Comprehensive troubleshooting and fault-finding guides to quickly diagnose problems and reduce costly downtime.
For efficiency without going fully electric
The CR-V Hybrid and Santa Fe Hybrid are the hybrid entries in this shortlist with listed starting prices. Car and Driver reports 35–40 combined MPG for the 2026 CR-V Hybrid; no comparable efficiency figure is provided here for the Santa Fe Hybrid. Edmunds’ test of the 2026 Subaru Forester Hybrid offers an additional reminder about budget definition: its base price was $31,445, while its as-tested price was $40,830.
For more space or a specific capability
The Nissan Pathfinder represents a three-row use case, while the Atlas Cross Sport is a two-row midsize crossover. The Bronco Sport and 2026 Subaru Crosstrek Wilderness speak to buyers weighing a more capability-focused vehicle; MotorTrend’s editor-picks feature lists the Crosstrek Wilderness at $35,215 starting. These are not substitutes for one another on size, seating or purpose, so check the exact configuration against your needs.
Best Value
How to make a fair comparison before buying
- Set the price rule. Decide whether $40,000 means base MSRP, your chosen trim’s MSRP, a configured price, or an out-the-door ceiling that includes taxes and fees.
- Choose the vehicle class and powertrain. Narrow the field to the body size, seating and gasoline, hybrid or electric setup that fits your use.
- Compare matching configurations. Check the same model year and trim level for listed equipment, efficiency or range, and any options that affect price.
- Verify current local availability. Starting prices in rankings are not dealer quotes or guarantees of inventory. Confirm current pricing and availability with a seller before deciding.
- Assess the trade-offs in person. Check whether the cabin, cargo area, controls, visibility and ride work for you, and consider whether an EV fits your charging routine.
Why the rankings differ
There is no universal journalist consensus behind this 15-vehicle set. Car and Driver limits its list to vehicles in its $30,000–$40,000 price band that also made its 10Best or Editors’ Choice lists. MotorTrend’s ranking covers multiple classes and uses its own test results and hands-on assessments. Edmunds’ comparison is a compact-SUV test published in November 2025. A pick from one of these sources reflects that publication’s criteria and scope, not a combined score across all three.
The originating article implied by the title could not be identified from the available sources. This shortlist therefore combines named examples from the publications above; it should not be mistaken for a reproduction of an unknown original 15-car ranking.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




