Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallVW spinoff Scout reveals its EV vision through the Traveler SUV and Terra pickup, each planned with battery-electric power or a Harvester range extender. Harvester uses a gasoline engine as an onboard generator—not as a mechanical wheel-drive engine—and Scout projects about 150 electric miles and more than 500 combined miles, pending final EPA ratings.
The result is an electric truck-and-SUV strategy with a built-in answer to long-distance charging concerns. Buyers will be able to choose a simpler battery-only vehicle or add a gasoline-backed electricity source, but Scout has not finalized the production specifications, pricing, launch dates, or EPA results that will determine how compelling either version is.
Key takeaways
- Scout Motors has announced the Scout Traveler SUV and Scout Terra pickup as its first two production-intent vehicles.
- Both models are planned with a battery-electric drivetrain or the Harvester extended-range system, which adds a gasoline-powered generator.
- Scout says Harvester does not mechanically drive the wheels; the wheels remain electrically driven while the generator recharges the high-voltage battery.
- Scout projects approximately 150 miles of electric range and more than 500 miles of combined range for Harvester-equipped vehicles, but those figures are not final EPA ratings.
- Scout plans to build the Traveler before the Terra, although the company has not disclosed the exact production gap between the two vehicles.
- Most specifications—including range, towing, pricing, production capacity, and launch timing—remain company projections or targets rather than certified production figures.
What did Scout Motors reveal?
Scout Motors revealed two rugged, production-intent vehicles on October 24, 2024: the Scout Traveler SUV and Scout Terra pickup. The Volkswagen-backed company is positioning both vehicles for daily family use as well as towing, work, camping, customization, and off-road driving—not merely as conventional electric crossovers with raised suspension. Scout’s official reveal announcement describes the vehicles and their intended capability, but the published figures remain projections until production specifications and certification are complete.
The two vehicles are planned as body-on-frame models with solid rear axles, four-wheel drive, front and rear mechanical locking differentials, and electric drive units on both axles. That combination gives the Scout lineup a more traditional truck-and-SUV mechanical foundation, even though the propulsion system is electric at the wheels.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
#1 Best Overall
- Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
- Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
- Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
- Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
- Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.
Scout President and CEO Scott Keogh described the brand’s rationale this way: “The original core idea — rugged, versatile vehicles capable of off-road adventure and family duty — is more relevant than ever.” The modern company is reviving the name and spirit of the International Harvester Scout, rather than simply applying the badge to an ordinary electric vehicle.
How do the Traveler and Terra compare?
| Vehicle | Body style | Planned powertrain choices | Announced projected capability | Production order |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Scout Traveler | SUV | Battery-electric or Harvester extended-range electric | More than 7,000 pounds of towing, nearly 2,000 pounds of payload, and up to approximately 350 miles for the all-electric version | Planned first |
| Scout Terra | Pickup truck | Battery-electric or Harvester extended-range electric | More than 10,000 pounds of towing, nearly 2,000 pounds of payload, and up to approximately 350 miles for the all-electric version | Planned after Traveler |
Scout also announced projections including acceleration to 60 mph in as little as 3.5 seconds, nearly 1,000 pound-feet of torque, tires up to 35 inches, more than one foot of ground clearance, and nearly three feet of water-fording capability. Those are Scout’s stated targets, not independently verified production specifications.
What is the gas generator in the Scout EV?
The gas generator in the Scout EV is the Harvester range extender: a gasoline-powered generator that produces electricity to recharge the vehicle’s high-voltage battery. Scout’s June 25, 2026 support documentation states, “The HarvesterTM range extender is a generator packaged in the vehicle platform that will recharge the vehicle’s high voltage battery.”
Scout’s Harvester explanation also says, “Unlike traditional hybrid systems, the Harvester does not mechanically drive the wheels.” In practical terms, the drive units turn the wheels electrically. When the battery needs additional energy, the gasoline engine runs a generator, and that electricity flows into the high-voltage system.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →That makes Harvester an extended-range electric vehicle architecture based on Scout’s published explanation. It is not a conventional gasoline SUV, because the announced gasoline engine is not the direct source of wheel torque. It is also not a typical parallel hybrid, where an engine and electric motor can both mechanically propel the vehicle through the drivetrain.
Does the Scout Harvester drive the wheels?
No. According to Scout, the Harvester generator does not mechanically drive the wheels. The wheels are driven by electric drive units, while the gasoline engine’s announced role is to generate electricity and recharge the high-voltage battery.
The distinction matters for buyers comparing the two Scout configurations. The all-electric version carries only the battery-electric system. The Harvester version adds a gasoline engine, generator, fuel system, and associated hardware so that the vehicle can continue generating electricity when long-distance travel or limited charging access makes a battery-only trip inconvenient.
How far can the Scout Traveler and Terra go?
Scout projects up to approximately 350 miles for all-electric versions, while Harvester-equipped vehicles are projected to provide approximately 150 miles of electric range and more than 500 miles of combined range. Scout has not yet published final EPA range ratings in the cited material.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsRank #2
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
| Configuration | Scout’s current projection | What the figure means | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| All-electric Scout | Up to approximately 350 miles | Battery-electric driving before recharging | Manufacturer projection |
| Harvester-equipped Scout | Approximately 150 miles of electric range | Projected electric driving range before generator-supported travel | Manufacturer projection |
| Harvester-equipped Scout | More than 500 miles combined | Total projected travel using battery electricity and gasoline-generated electricity | Manufacturer projection, not an EPA rating |
The more-than-500-mile figure should not be read as a promise of 500 miles on a full battery or as an EPA-certified result. Real-world range will depend on speed, temperature, terrain, tire choice, payload, towing, accessory use, and how the vehicle is driven. Scout still needs to publish the battery capacity, generator and fuel-system specifications, final curb weights, and certified testing results.
What is the difference between Scout Traveler EV and Harvester?
The all-electric Traveler or Terra is the simpler, charging-only configuration, while the Harvester version adds gasoline-backed electricity generation for longer trips. Both configurations are planned to use electric drive at the wheels, so the main mechanical difference is the Harvester system and its fuel hardware.
| Decision factor | All-electric configuration | Harvester configuration |
|---|---|---|
| Energy source | Electricity stored in the high-voltage battery | Battery electricity plus gasoline used by an onboard generator |
| Wheel drive | Electric drive units | Electric drive units; Scout says the generator does not mechanically drive the wheels |
| Projected electric range | Up to approximately 350 miles | Approximately 150 miles before generator-supported travel |
| Long-distance refueling | Requires recharging | Can use gasoline for generator operation, according to Scout’s announced architecture |
| System complexity | No announced gasoline engine or fuel system | Adds a gasoline generator and fuel-related hardware |
| Final cost and weight | Not yet published | Not yet published |
For a buyer with dependable home charging and mostly local driving, the all-electric model offers the cleaner and mechanically simpler choice. For a buyer who regularly travels long distances through areas with limited charging, tows, or wants a gasoline-supported fallback, Harvester could provide more energy flexibility. Scout has not published final fuel economy, battery size, maintenance requirements, weight, or pricing differences, so those trade-offs cannot yet be quantified.
Which Scout vehicle comes first, Traveler or Terra?
Scout plans to put the Traveler SUV into production before the Terra pickup. Scout reported on March 6, 2026 that nearly 75% of reservations were for the Traveler, while the company had not disclosed how much later Terra production would begin. The company’s production-order update confirms the sequence but does not provide a precise customer-delivery date or Terra interval.
Reservations are not deliveries. Scout’s current public material describes reservations, construction, validation vehicles, and preparations for future production; it does not establish that customer vehicles are already being delivered.
When will Scout Motors start production?
Scout has not provided a final customer-delivery date in the cited material. The company is building its production center in Blythewood, South Carolina, and describes the facility as part of its preparation for future vehicle production rather than evidence that retail production or deliveries have begun.
In a March 20, 2026 update, Scout described the facility as a $2 billion investment on a site covering more than 1,100 acres. Scout expects the production center to create more than 4,000 permanent jobs and eventually have capacity for up to 200,000 vehicles annually at full capacity—approximately 40 vehicles per hour. The company also said the body shop was receiving more than 700 robots.
Scout separately described a supplier-park effort involving an additional $300 million South Carolina investment and approximately 1,000 additional supplier jobs. These are company investment, employment, and capacity projections. They indicate the scale of the planned manufacturing effort, not completed production or proven delivery performance. Scout’s March 2026 production-center update provides the current factory context.
Rank #3
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
How much will the Scout EV cost?
Scout’s original pricing target called for Traveler entry pricing as low as $50,000 with available incentives and Terra entry pricing as low as $51,500 with available incentives. Scout also said retail prices would start below $60,000. These are announced targets, not final transaction prices, and incentives may vary by vehicle, buyer, location, and future rules.
| Model or configuration | Announced target | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Traveler | As low as $50,000 with available incentives | Target pricing; final MSRP and eligibility details are not established |
| Terra | As low as $51,500 with available incentives | Target pricing; final MSRP and eligibility details are not established |
| Scout range-wide retail pricing | Starting below $60,000 | Announced positioning; Harvester pricing and option differences are unpublished |
The reviewed official sources do not establish final battery size, generator displacement, fuel-tank size, curb weight, charging curve, maintenance schedule, or the price premium for Harvester. Those details will be important when comparing the two powertrains on total ownership cost rather than headline purchase price.
How will Scout vehicles charge?
Scout has announced an 800-volt electrical architecture, NACS charging, charging capability of up to 350 kilowatts, and bidirectional charging. The original Scout reveal establishes those planned capabilities, but it does not provide a final charging curve, battery capacity, home-charger bundle, or named charging-equipment partner.
For the all-electric version, charging access will be a central ownership consideration because every long-distance trip ultimately depends on recharging. Harvester changes that calculation by adding gasoline-generated electricity, but it does not eliminate the value of charging: the vehicle still has a high-voltage battery and is intended to drive electrically.
Recommended Free Tools
A future ownership guide could reasonably compare a NACS home EV charger or a Level 2 charger for an electric SUV, but no particular charger should currently be described as Scout-approved or guaranteed to fit. Scout has not published a final approved-hardware list in the reviewed material.
What off-road and truck capability has Scout promised?
Scout’s announced platform targets more than one foot of ground clearance, nearly three feet of water-fording capability, tires up to 35 inches, four-wheel drive, solid rear axles, and front and rear mechanical locking differentials. Scout projects more than 7,000 pounds of Traveler towing, more than 10,000 pounds of Terra towing, and nearly 2,000 pounds of payload for both models.
Scout also presents the vehicles as customizable and suitable for camping, trail use, onboard power, and work. However, the company has not yet published production fitment information for recovery equipment, roof systems, cargo hardware, camping accessories, or other third-party products. Buyers should wait for dimensions, mounting standards, weight limits, and approved-accessory information before assuming that a particular product will fit.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What does the Scout name mean?
The new Scout vehicles draw their identity from the International Harvester Scout, the classic off-road utility vehicle that helped establish the name’s rugged image. That history is relevant to the Traveler and Terra’s design brief, but heritage merchandise is separate from the forthcoming Volkswagen-backed vehicles.
Rank #4
- [LEVEL 1 & 2 CHARGING FOR HOME, BACKUP & TRAVEL] One charger for everyday home charging, road trips, and backup use. This Level 1/2 EV charger supports both 110/120V and 240V power: use the included NEMA 5-15 adapter as a 120V electric car charger, or connect the NEMA 6-20 plug to 240V power for Level 2 charging up to 16A / 3.68kW. Whether kept in your garage or carried in the vehicle, this portable EV charger gives you more charging options when a dedicated charging station is not available.
- [8-16A ADJUSTABLE CURRENT & 1-12H DELAY CHARGING] Unlike fixed-current chargers, YLITES lets you choose 8A, 10A, 12A, or 16A to better match different outlets and charging environments. When connected to a NEMA 5-15 household outlet, current is automatically limited to 12A for appropriate circuit use. The 1–12 hour delay timer lets you schedule charging to start later, making overnight and off-peak charging more convenient. Flexible current control makes it especially practical for garages, older homes, apartments, and travel charging.
- [SAE J1772 COMPATIBILITY, SMOOTH CONNECTION & 25FT TOTAL LENGTH] Compatible with electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids equipped with an SAE J1772 charging inlet, including vehicles from GM, Nissan, Audi, Kia, Honda, BMW, Hyundai, and more. The J1772 connector is designed for smooth insertion and easy release, making everyday charging simple and convenient. With a 25FT total length, this portable EV charger offers flexible reach for garages, driveways, parking spaces, travel, and emergency backup charging. Tesla/NACS vehicles require a J1772-to-NACS adapter, sold separately.
- [SMART TFT DISPLAY & ACTIVE TEMPERATURE PROTECTION] The enhanced TFT color display provides clear real-time charging information, including voltage, current, power, charging status, and temperature. The YLITES temperature management system continuously monitors the plug-outlet connection point and can intelligently reduce current when necessary to help reduce overheating risk. Over-voltage, over-current, leakage, grounding, and insulation protection provide additional safeguards for more reliable daily charging, whether charging on 110/120V Level 1 power or 240V Level 2 power.
- [BUILT FOR SAFE & RELIABLE EVERYDAY CHARGING] Designed for repeated home and on-the-road use, the charger features an IP66 water-resistant enclosure, fire-resistant materials, and multi-layer electrical protection. It is designed to operate in temperatures from −22°F to 122°F, supporting charging in garages, driveways, and changing outdoor conditions. Combining dual-voltage flexibility, a long cable, portable construction, and multiple safety protections, this EV portable charger works as a dependable everyday charger or a convenient backup charging solution.
For readers interested in the historical side of the brand, the 1977 International Harvester Scout II model kit is a hobby collectible based on the classic vehicle. It is not an official Scout Motors accessory, it is not an accessory for the Traveler or Terra, and availability and pricing should be checked before purchase.
What is confirmed and what is still only projected?
| Currently supported by Scout’s public material | Still projected, estimated, or subject to change |
|---|---|
| The announced models are the Traveler SUV and Terra pickup. | Final EPA range ratings and production specifications. |
| Both models are planned with all-electric and Harvester extended-range choices. | Up to approximately 350 miles for all-electric versions. |
| Harvester is described as an onboard generator that recharges the high-voltage battery. | More than 500 miles of combined range and approximately 150 miles of Harvester electric range. |
| Scout says Harvester does not mechanically drive the wheels. | Towing, payload, acceleration, torque, tire size, clearance, and water-fording figures. |
| Traveler is planned to enter production before Terra. | Exact launch dates and the interval between Traveler and Terra production. |
| Scout is developing a production center in Blythewood, South Carolina, and accepting refundable reservations subject to reservation terms. | Final pricing, delivery performance, battery size, fuel-system specifications, and approved accessories. |
The safest way to read the Scout reveal is as a detailed product direction rather than a completed vehicle specification sheet. The fundamental choice—battery-electric or electric drive backed by a gasoline generator—is clear. The numbers that determine purchase decisions will remain provisional until Scout publishes final specifications, EPA results, pricing, and delivery information.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the gas generator in the Scout EV?
The Scout Harvester is a gasoline-powered range extender. Scout says it is an onboard generator that recharges the high-voltage battery, while electric drive units propel the wheels; the gasoline engine does not mechanically drive the wheels.
Is the Scout Harvester a hybrid?
No. The Scout Harvester is not a conventional parallel hybrid according to Scout’s published explanation. It is an extended-range electric system in which gasoline generates electricity for the battery and electric motors drive the wheels.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
How far can the Scout Traveler go on gas and electric power?
Scout projects approximately 150 miles of electric range and more than 500 miles of combined range for Harvester-equipped vehicles. Those figures are manufacturer projections, not final EPA ratings.
Which comes first, Scout Traveler or Terra?
Scout plans to produce the Traveler SUV first and the Terra pickup afterward. Scout has not disclosed the exact amount of time between the two production launches.
When will Scout Motors start production?
Scout has not published a final customer-delivery date in the cited material. The company is developing its production center in Blythewood, South Carolina, and describes current work as preparation for future production.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: Scout’s gas-powered model is planned as an extended-range electric vehicle, not a conventional hybrid: Harvester generates electricity for the battery, while electric drive units turn the wheels. Scout projects approximately 150 miles of electric range and more than 500 miles combined, but the Traveler, Terra, pricing, capability figures, and production timing remain subject to final certification and change.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




