There is no clear universal winner between the Volvo ES90 and BMW i5: the official figures available here come from different markets and range-testing cycles. Volvo’s Spain page publishes higher WLTP range claims for the ES90, while BMW’s U.S. page provides EPA-procedure range estimates and specific home-charging guidance for the i5. Choose by the version sold where you live, how you charge, and which powertrain you want—not by comparing those range numbers as if they were measured on the same basis.
What this comparison can—and cannot—tell you
The ES90 and i5 are premium all-electric sedans, but the available official specifications do not form a controlled, trim-matched comparison. Volvo’s figures below are from its Spain-market page and use WLTP. BMW’s U.S. range estimates use EPA procedure standards; BMW also publishes a separate international WLTP range frame. Neither set of figures is an independent real-world test.
| # | Preview | Product | Price | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 |
|
Car Heads Up Display for Volvo ES90 Sedan 2026 2027 2028 | $45.99 | Buy on Amazon |
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
That distinction matters: test cycle, market configuration, wheels, weather, route and driving conditions affect the figures. The specifications establish what each manufacturer publishes for particular versions; they do not establish which car will travel farther in your conditions. The sources also do not settle cabin space, luggage capacity, ride comfort, reliability, depreciation, total ownership cost or dealer availability.
Use this comparison as a way to identify the questions to resolve locally, rather than as a final buying recommendation. Start by choosing your country and likely model year, then compare the trims actually sold there. A version name can appear similar across markets while its equipment, range estimate, charging setup or price differs. The numbers here are useful reference points, but the cited specifications do not include a matched road test, owner survey or independently measured range result.
#1 Best Overall
- 【Suitable Car Models】Hud display car windshield for Volvo ES90 Sedan 2026 2027 2028. Simply plug into your OBD2 port for instant setup.
- 【Clear Digital Projection】Equipped with a high-brightness screen, this digital windshield projector ensures excellent visibility in both day and night driving conditions, reducing glare and eye fatigue. The machine can be automatically turned on and off and the brightness can be automatically adjusted.
- 【Smart Safety Alerts】The HUD speedometer includes overspeed alarms, fatigue driving reminders, and engine fault warnings, helping you drive more safely on highways, long trips, or city roads.
- 【Real-Time Driving Data】This car head-up display projects key information such as speed, voltage, water temperature and fault warnings directly onto the windshield, allowing you to focus on the road without looking down at the dashboard.
- 【Dual System Support】Our OBD2 heads up display and GPS mode ensure compatibility with most vehicles. Even if your car does not support OBD2, the GPS HUD for cars provides accurate speed and direction for safe driving.
Range: compare within the same market and test cycle
Volvo Cars Spain lists up to 664 km of combined WLTP range for the ES90 Single Motor Extended Range and up to 702 km for the Twin Motor versions shown. Volvo describes these as preliminary estimates and says certification may still be pending. BMW USA lists 280–328 miles for the i5 eDrive40 and 259–277 miles for the i5 M60, based on preliminary BMW AG testing using EPA procedure standards. BMW says actual range varies, and some recent model-year estimates may not yet be fully certified.
Those kilometer and mile figures should not be read as a head-to-head result: they come from different testing procedures and market specifications. BMW’s international page offers a WLTP context for its i5 range, but matching the precise market and trim is still necessary.
| Model and source market | Published range | Basis and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Volvo ES90 Single Motor Extended Range, Spain | Up to 664 km combined | WLTP; preliminary Volvo estimate, certification may be pending. Volvo ES90 overview |
| Volvo ES90 Twin Motor and Twin Motor Performance, Spain | Up to 702 km combined | WLTP; preliminary Volvo estimate, certification may be pending. Volvo ES90 overview |
| BMW i5 eDrive40, U.S. | 280–328 miles | Estimated using preliminary BMW AG tests and EPA procedure standards; BMW says range varies. BMW technical data |
| BMW i5 M60, U.S. | 259–277 miles | Estimated using preliminary BMW AG tests and EPA procedure standards; BMW says range varies. BMW technical data |
| BMW i5 Sedan, international page | 455–582 km | WLTP range; configuration and geography should be matched to a specific car before comparing. BMW international i-series page |
| BMW i5 M60 xDrive Sedan, international page | 445–516 km | WLTP range; configuration and geography should be matched to a specific car before comparing. BMW international i-series page |
The BMW international page also reports consumption of 15.9–20.6 kWh/100 km for the i5 Sedan and 18.2–20.8 kWh/100 km for the i5 M60 xDrive Sedan. Those ranges of figures accompany the international WLTP data, but they do not supply a matched ES90-versus-i5 efficiency test. Use them as BMW-published figures for that page’s configurations, not as a prediction of your electricity use or a direct cost comparison.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →BMW identifies model, wheel and tire selection, driving style, accessories, traffic, outside temperature and charging frequency among factors that can change its U.S. estimates. Its international page also identifies route, heating or air conditioning and preconditioning as relevant to range. For either car, treat the published value as a standardized reference, not a promise of a particular trip distance.
When range is a deciding factor, compare the same type of figure for both cars: ideally the local official range rating for the exact model year and trim, on the same test protocol. Then consider how your use differs from a standardized test. Frequent high-speed driving, cold weather, heating or cooling demand, route elevation and wheel choice are among the reasons the official figure may not describe a particular journey. The cited manufacturer specifications provide no measured winter range or real-world consumption comparison, so they cannot support a precise trip-distance advantage for either sedan.
Powertrains: rear-wheel drive or all-wheel drive
The Spain-market ES90 specifications show a rear-wheel-drive Single Motor Extended Range alongside two all-wheel-drive Twin Motor choices. BMW’s U.S. technical page lists a rear-wheel-drive eDrive40 and an all-wheel-drive M60. These are the versions documented by the cited pages; local lineups and specifications can differ.
| Version and market | Drive | Published power | Other listed performance or battery details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Volvo ES90 Single Motor Extended Range, Spain | Rear-wheel drive | 245 kW / 333 CV | Nominal 92 kWh battery; 0–100 km/h in 6.6 seconds |
| Volvo ES90 Twin Motor, Spain | All-wheel drive | 335 kW / 456 CV | Nominal 106 kWh battery; 0–100 km/h in 5.4 seconds |
| Volvo ES90 Twin Motor Performance, Spain | All-wheel drive | 500 kW / 680 CV | Listed at 0–100 km/h in 4.0 seconds; same stated battery and range figures as Twin Motor on the page |
| BMW i5 eDrive40, U.S. | Rear-wheel drive | 335 hp | Other battery capacity and acceleration details are not stated on the cited technical page |
| BMW i5 M60, U.S. | All-wheel drive | 593 hp | Other battery capacity and acceleration details are not stated on the cited technical page |
Volvo’s figures are regional manufacturer specifications, not independent test results. CV and hp are the units used by the respective manufacturers here; avoid treating their headline power figures as an exact trim-to-trim performance test. If all-wheel drive is important for your climate or use, compare the actual AWD versions available locally rather than comparing a single-motor car with a twin-motor one.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThe ES90 figures illustrate how the choice of powertrain changes more than drive layout: the Spain-listed single-motor version has a nominal 92 kWh battery, while both twin-motor versions are listed with a nominal 106 kWh battery. The page gives the Twin Motor and Twin Motor Performance the same stated range figures, despite their different published power and acceleration. That is a manufacturer specification detail, not proof that the two versions will achieve identical range in every driving situation.
For BMW, the cited U.S. page supplies power and drive layout for the eDrive40 and M60, but not battery capacity or acceleration details. Do not fill that gap by assuming specifications from another market or model year. The documented comparison can tell you which listed version is rear-wheel drive or all-wheel drive and the manufacturer’s stated power; it cannot settle ride, traction in a particular weather condition, or whether one version is more enjoyable to drive.
Charging: separate road-trip stops from home charging
DC fast charging
Volvo’s Spain page lists 10–80% DC charging in 22 minutes at 350 kW for the ES90 versions shown. BMW’s U.S. technical page lists a maximum DC rate of 205 kW and 30 minutes for a 10–80% charge for the i5 eDrive40 and M60 configurations shown. These are manufacturer-published specifications, not evidence from a common test under identical battery temperature, charger output or conditions. The charger’s advertised power is not necessarily the power a vehicle sustains throughout a session.
BMW’s U.S. overview separately says a public 350 kW DC fast charger can add about 100 miles in around 11 minutes. That is a manufacturer statement and depends on conditions; it should not be treated as a guaranteed result or directly converted into a matched comparison with Volvo’s 10–80% figure.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →For a road-trip comparison, keep the charging window in view. A 10–80% time describes a particular portion of a charging session, not a full recharge from empty, and a maximum DC rate is not the same thing as an average session rate. The Volvo and BMW figures also come from different market pages and do not describe a shared charger, starting battery temperature, vehicle state or test protocol. They are useful for shortlisting questions to ask, but not enough to predict the duration of a real stop.
Check the DC charging capability of the exact local trim, then consider whether public fast chargers are available on the routes you routinely travel. The sources do not compare charging-network coverage, route-stop spacing, charger reliability or actual charging curves for the two cars. Those practical details may matter more to a particular owner than the headline peak rate.
AC charging at home
BMW says a 240V outlet with the included Flexible Fast Charger or available BMW Wallbox can charge the i5 from 0–100% in under 10 hours. Volvo’s Spain specifications give AC full-charge times using three-phase 16A: 9 hours for Single Motor Extended Range and 10 hours for Twin Motor versions. Because the stated electrical setups differ, the times do not establish which car charges faster in an equivalent home installation.
For a useful ownership comparison, check the electrical service at your home, the charger and connector specified for your market, the car’s AC charging capability, and local installation rules. A Level 2 home charger can be relevant if you have suitable electrical capacity and permission to install one, but no particular third-party charger is verified here. Ask the dealer or manufacturer to confirm compatibility for the exact vehicle and location.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteBefore relying on a home-charging estimate, distinguish the vehicle’s AC capability from the power available at the parking space. BMW’s statement describes a U.S. 240V setup and named BMW charging options; Volvo’s cited AC times use three-phase 16A. These are not interchangeable descriptions of a single installation. A household’s wiring, service capacity, parking arrangement and applicable rules all affect what equipment can be used. The cited manufacturer specifications provide no installation prices, electricity tariffs or a common charging-cost estimate, so those should be checked locally rather than inferred from the charging times.
If you cannot charge at home, the purchase decision should include the public charging options near your home and regular destinations. If you can charge at home, confirm the connector, power delivery and installation requirements for the exact market configuration before ordering. A charger being compatible in principle does not establish that a particular electrical installation is adequate or permitted.
Price and equipment: the cited figures are not a local comparison
Volvo’s Spain specifications page shows starting prices of €71,250 for the ES90 Single Motor Extended Range and €82,019 for the Twin Motor. Those are Spain-market prices shown on that page, not a current price comparison against a BMW in another country. BMW’s cited U.S. technical page does not provide a matched local price pair.
Before deciding value, configure both cars in your country for the same broad equipment and drivetrain needs, then compare the actual local prices, incentives, delivery timing and included equipment. The available information does not establish which costs less in any market outside the cited Volvo Spain listings.
Recommended Free Tools
Even within Spain, the two Volvo starting prices do not answer what a buyer will pay for a particular configuration or equipment level. They identify the displayed entry prices for the listed Single Motor Extended Range and Twin Motor versions. The cited manufacturer pages provide no matched BMW price, complete options comparison, current incentives or total cost of ownership calculation. Avoid treating a difference between a Spain-market Volvo price and a U.S.-market BMW specification as a value verdict.
For a meaningful quote comparison, use the same country, model year and purchase timing. Select the drivetrain and equipment you actually want on each car, then check the local configurator or dealer for current pricing, included features and delivery timing. If you are comparing leases or ownership costs, you will also need local financing, insurance, energy and maintenance information; none of those costs is established by the sources here.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which one fits your use?
The ES90 may suit you if…
- You are shopping in a market where the listed ES90 configurations and equipment are available.
- You value Volvo’s published WLTP range claims, while recognizing that they are preliminary regional manufacturer estimates.
- You want to consider both rear-wheel-drive single-motor and all-wheel-drive twin-motor versions, including the higher-powered Performance variant.
- Your home electrical setup aligns with the AC charging arrangement specified for the local car.
The i5 may suit you if…
- You are shopping in the U.S. and want to assess the BMW configurations with published EPA-procedure range estimates.
- You want a choice between the rear-wheel-drive eDrive40 and all-wheel-drive M60 in the cited U.S. lineup.
- You have, or can install, a compatible 240V home charging setup and find BMW’s stated charging options practical.
- You want to compare the i5’s U.S. EPA-procedure estimates with other vehicles using the same market and test basis.
Those are conditional fits, not claims that one vehicle is better for a particular lifestyle. For example, a shopper attracted to the ES90’s Spain-listed range should first confirm that the local version is available and whether the published figure applies to the trim being considered. A shopper drawn to the BMW’s U.S. range estimate should similarly confirm model year, wheel configuration and certification status. Neither source supplies a direct answer about which car will cover a specific commute or winter journey without charging.
Questions to answer before choosing
- What country and model year are you buying? Confirm the current local trim names, specifications, price and delivery availability; do not assume the Spain or U.S. lineup applies elsewhere.
- What does your driving look like? Estimate your ordinary daily distance and how often you take longer trips. Use a realistic buffer for cold weather, speed, route and cabin heating or cooling rather than planning to use the full published range.
- Can you charge at home? Confirm whether your parking space has suitable electrical service and whether installation is allowed. If you rely on public charging, check the network and charger availability on routes you actually use.
- Do you need all-wheel drive? Compare the actual AWD trims available to you, not a single-motor version against a twin-motor version.
- Which equipment matters? Build comparable local configurations and check what is included before using starting prices to judge value.
One practical way to run that comparison is to make a short list for each local trim: official range and test cycle, drive layout, charging specifications, equipment included, configured price and expected delivery timing. Keep the source and market beside every number. If a specification is missing—as with the cited BMW technical page’s battery capacity and acceleration details—mark it as unconfirmed rather than importing a value from a different market. Then compare the remaining facts against the routes you drive and the charging access you actually have.
Do not overlook what remains unknown. The collected information does not establish which car has more usable cabin or luggage space, rides more comfortably, is more reliable, depreciates less or costs less to own. Those questions call for other evidence: local vehicle specifications, a hands-on inspection or test drive, and market-specific ownership data. They should not be answered by range, power or charging figures alone.
Verdict
The ES90 is a plausible choice if its local configuration, Volvo’s published WLTP range claims and its powertrain options suit your priorities. The i5 is a plausible choice if you are evaluating the U.S. lineup, its EPA-procedure estimates and BMW’s described 240V home-charging options. The available specifications do not justify declaring either car the overall winner on range, price, comfort or ownership costs; make the decision with market-matched trims and charging arrangements.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which has more range, the Volvo ES90 or BMW i5?
The cited figures do not establish a direct winner because they use different markets and test cycles. Volvo Cars Spain lists up to 664 km WLTP for the ES90 Single Motor Extended Range and up to 702 km for the Twin Motor versions shown. BMW USA lists 280–328 miles using EPA procedure standards for the i5 eDrive40 and 259–277 miles for the M60. BMW also publishes international WLTP i5 figures, but the exact market and trim still need to be matched.
How quickly can the ES90 and BMW i5 charge?
Volvo’s Spain specifications list 10–80% DC charging in 22 minutes at 350 kW for the ES90 versions shown. BMW’s U.S. technical page lists a 205 kW maximum DC rate and 30 minutes for 10–80% for the i5 configurations shown. These are manufacturer figures from different market pages, not results from a shared test. BMW separately says a 350 kW public charger can add about 100 miles in around 11 minutes, depending on conditions.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Can I charge either car at home?
The cited pages describe home charging options, but the setups differ. BMW says a U.S. 240V outlet with the included Flexible Fast Charger or available BMW Wallbox can charge the i5 from 0–100% in under 10 hours. Volvo lists AC full-charge times using three-phase 16A: 9 hours for the Single Motor Extended Range and 10 hours for Twin Motor versions. Confirm the exact car’s connector and charging capability, your electrical service and local installation rules.
Is the Volvo ES90 worth more than the BMW i5?
The cited manufacturer pages provide no matched local price comparison. Volvo’s Spain page displays starting prices of €71,250 for the Single Motor Extended Range and €82,019 for the Twin Motor, while the cited BMW U.S. technical page does not supply a comparable price pair. Compare locally configured cars, equipment, incentives and delivery timing before judging value.
Which versions offer all-wheel drive?
The Spain-market ES90 page lists Twin Motor and Twin Motor Performance as all-wheel drive; its Single Motor Extended Range is rear-wheel drive. BMW’s U.S. page lists the i5 M60 as all-wheel drive and the eDrive40 as rear-wheel drive. Check the lineup for your country and model year because local versions can differ.
Do these published range figures predict real-world winter range?
No. The figures are manufacturer estimates tied to specified test procedures, not independent winter tests. BMW says range can vary with factors including driving style, wheels and tires, traffic, temperature, route, heating or air conditioning and preconditioning. The cited manufacturer specifications provide no measured winter range for either car.
The Bottom Line
Bottom line: choose by the locally available trim, a comparable range-testing basis and the charging setup you can actually use. Volvo’s Spain-market ES90 figures are higher on a WLTP basis; BMW’s U.S. i5 figures use EPA procedure standards. Neither establishes a universal range, value or ownership winner.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




