The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →In the U.S. manufacturer terms reviewed, Hyundai lists a 10-year/100,000-mile EV battery warranty, while Chevrolet lists 8 years/100,000 miles for certain electric propulsion components, including the high-voltage battery. Hyundai also publishes a 70% battery-capacity figure; Chevrolet’s consumer page does not state a comparable threshold. That means the available terms support a longer stated time limit for Hyundai in this comparison, but they do not establish that GM set a stricter capacity standard—or that Hyundai has the longest EV battery warranty across the market.
How Hyundai and Chevrolet’s published battery terms compare
| Manufacturer and source | Published term | Capacity language available | Scope and owner notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hyundai Motor America | 10 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first | Hyundai’s warranty page says the battery “will not degrade more than 70 percent of the original capacity during the warranty period.” Its 2025 model-year manual says covered repair or replacement will maintain at least 70% of original capacity. | The current warranty-page table displays the same battery term for original and subsequent owners. See the Hyundai warranty page and the 2025 Hyundai warranty manual. |
| Chevrolet / GM | 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first | Chevrolet’s consumer page does not state a capacity-retention threshold or measurement method. | The page says certain electric propulsion components, including the high-voltage battery, are covered. See Chevrolet Electric Vehicle Ownership. |
On the stated time limit, Hyundai’s term is two years longer; both manufacturers list a 100,000-mile cap in the pages reviewed. These are manufacturer warranty terms, not independent battery-life statistics, and the pages are not a complete comparison of every EV brand or model.
What Hyundai’s 70% capacity language means
Hyundai’s current warranty page describes a capacity-retention commitment in addition to listing the warranty term. Its 2025 U.S. model-year manual says coverage runs for 10 years from original retail delivery or the date the vehicle is first put into service, or 100,000 miles, whichever occurs first. It states that battery components will be repaired or replaced where possible and that a covered repair or replacement will maintain at least 70% of original capacity.
That figure is a warranty term, not a promise that every battery will retain a particular capacity for its entire life or that every capacity loss automatically qualifies for repair. The manual includes exclusions, among them damage related to intentional abuse, collision or accident, and battery servicing or opening by unauthorized personnel. Those details describe the cited 2025 manual; the manual applicable to a different model year or vehicle controls that vehicle’s coverage.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →#1 Best Overall
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
- PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
- CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Why the available evidence does not prove GM has a stricter standard
Chevrolet’s consumer EV ownership page states the 8-year/100,000-mile term for certain electric propulsion components, including the high-voltage battery. It does not give a capacity threshold, explain how capacity is measured, or establish whether a threshold varies by model or model year. The absence of that information on the consumer page is not proof that GM has no capacity provision.
A 2024 GMC electric-vehicle warranty manual is available from General Motors, but the relevant capacity threshold and measurement language were not available in the material reviewed here. Without the exact applicable GM warranty text, it would be misleading to call GM’s standard stricter than Hyundai’s. The comparison remains unresolved on capacity protection.
Rank #2
- 【Reliable Safety with PBE & LRC Tech】Powered by ELEGRP's exclusive PBE technology, this level 2 EV charger provides reliable protection against surges, leakage, and overloads—trusted by over 300 million households since 2000. The J1772 charger features advanced LRC tech for better conductivity, cooler operation, and stable charging speed
- 【Dual Charging Model】Charging speed depends on your outlet type. Use the NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 240V fast charging at up to 3.84kWh (11-14 miles/hr). For slower Level 1 charging 120V, use the included 5-15 adapter, offering 1.44kWh (4-5 miles/hr)
- 【Max 25FT Reach &and IP67 Weatherproof Reliability】 Our 25FT portable cable offers the maximum length allowed by NEC safety standards for garage, wall, or outdoor use. This electric car charger is IP67 waterproof and built for cold weather, from -21°F to 121°F, including heavy rain, or snow
- 【U.S.-Based Expert Support & and 2-Year Warranty】Get real help from our U.S.-based support team, available Mon–Sat (5 AM–3 PM PT) for fast, professional assistance. Every ELEGRP charger is backed by a 2-year replacement warranty, so you can charge your vehicle with confidence
- 【Universal J1772 Compatibility】Compatible with all SAE J1772 certified EVs, BEVs, and PHEVs. For Tesla owners: a J1772-to-NACS adapter (sold separately) may be required. Please verify your car compatibility before purchase and contact our support team with any questions
What to check before comparing a specific EV
Warranty pages are useful for an initial comparison, but the exact model-year warranty booklet is the document to consult for a particular vehicle. Compare the terms that determine whether a battery problem is covered:
Quick Recap
Best Value
- 3 in 1 Battery Charger: Our 10A car battery charger comes with a compact size and 10A 12V super fast charging, compatible with all 12V lead-acid batteries (including AGM, GEL, SLA, VRLA, etc.) and LiFePO4 lithium batteries, functions as a charger, maintainer, and trickle charger for cars, motorcycles, trucks, boats, and more. Please note: This is a car battery charger and please connect it to a power source before use. (Please do not let the charger operating unattended for more than 12 hours.)
- Plug & Play Operation: Simply connect the clamps to your car battery. The LCD screen will light up and automatically display the battery voltage and ambient temperature. Once you plug the AC power cord into a 110-240V (50-60Hz) wall socket, the battery charger will automatically detect and begin charging. You can also manually select from 5 charging modes by pressing the "MODE" button (Modes include: CAR, AGM/GEL/LiFePO4, WET, MOTO, PULSE REPAIR). Note: Please check your battery type before use.
- Battery Charger with LCD Display: Battery Charger comes with a LCD screen shows charging data including voltage, current, battery level, ambient temperature, and seasonal modes (summer/winter), making it easy to stay updated on charging progress.
- Safety Protections: Equipped with 8 layers of protection, including reverse polarity, short circuit, overheating, and overcurrent safeguards, this charger ensures safe operation. With automatic temperature compensation, the charger delivers optimal voltage whether it’s summer or winter.
- Battery Maintenance & Recovery: The integrated pulse repair function detects and reverses battery sulfation and acid stratification in lead-acid batteries, extending battery life. This feature helps recover aging or partially drained batteries, extending their life and functionality.
Rank #4
- WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
- HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
- CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
- SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
- GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.
Rank #3
- Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
- Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
- Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
- Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
- Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
- Time and mileage: Check which limit is reached first and when the coverage period starts.
- What is covered: Distinguish battery defects or component failures from capacity loss.
- Capacity trigger and test: Look for a stated minimum capacity, how it is measured, and whether the remedy is repair, replacement, or another action.
- Ownership and vehicle status: Confirm whether coverage transfers and whether the particular vehicle remains eligible. Hyundai’s current warranty-page table displays the stated battery term for original and subsequent owners, but the vehicle’s documentation and status still matter.
- Exclusions and model year: Read the manual for the exact vehicle rather than assuming terms carry across model years or EV generations.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




