October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

How to Charge an EV at Home and Estimate Charging Costs

Learn whether Level 1 or Level 2 fits your home charging routine, calculate electricity cost per session or mile, and plan a safe, code-compliant installation.
Entry139 Date Time10 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Most EV owners can charge at home with either a 120-volt Level 1 cordset or 240-volt Level 2 equipment. Choose based on how much energy you use each day, how long the car is parked, and what your home’s electrical system and vehicle can support. To estimate cost, multiply the electricity used by the applicable price per kilowatt-hour (kWh); use your vehicle’s kWh-per-100-miles figure to estimate a trip or per-mile cost.

How to choose between Level 1 and Level 2 at home

The best home setup is the one that reliably replaces the energy you use between drives. A faster charger is not automatically necessary: many EVs include a Level 1 cordset, and a driver who parks overnight near a suitable outlet may be able to meet daily needs without installing new equipment. The U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) says many owners can meet daily driving-range requirements by charging overnight with Level 1, provided a power outlet on a dedicated branch circuit is available near the parking location.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Level 1 uses a household 120-volt outlet. Level 2 uses 240-volt AC in typical residential installations and can replenish more range during a given parking period. Neither level delivers a guaranteed number of miles per hour for every car. The vehicle’s efficiency and onboard charging capability, the charging equipment’s output, and the home’s electrical service all affect the result.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Factor Level 1 Level 2
Typical home voltage 120 V 240 V
AFDC indicative range added per hour 2–5 miles 10–30 miles
Typical starting point Often a vehicle’s included cordset and an appropriate existing outlet Dedicated 240 V charging equipment and a suitable circuit
Typical equipment price Not stated as a general price by AFDC $500–$4,000 before installation and incentives, per AFDC consumer guidance accessed in 2026
Installation cost May be no additional installation cost if a suitable dedicated circuit and outlet are already available Varies with the home and installation; no single price is established by AFDC

The charging-rate ranges and Level 2 equipment range above are broad agency reference figures, not a quote or a vehicle-specific promise. AFDC’s consumer page was accessed in 2026; its publication year was not stated in the available page information. A particular vehicle may charge more slowly than the equipment’s maximum output, and the actual miles added depend on vehicle energy consumption.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? You can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

Use Level 1 when overnight parking covers your normal routine

Level 1 is a reasonable first option if the vehicle is parked at home for many hours, daily driving is within the range the car can replenish during that time, and a suitable dedicated branch circuit is available near the parking spot. It can also be useful for a plug-in hybrid, which generally needs less energy replenished than a fully electric vehicle. Check the vehicle manual for cordset instructions and the electrical requirements for the outlet; do not assume that any convenient receptacle is appropriate for continuous charging.

Think in terms of energy to recover, not just battery size. If a typical day uses a modest portion of the battery and the car remains connected overnight, slower charging may fit well. If you need to recover a large amount of energy between consecutive drives, or the available parking window is short, Level 1 may not replenish enough.

Consider Level 2 when you need more charging during limited parking time

Level 2 is worth considering for longer commutes, larger energy needs, irregular driving schedules, or a household where the car is not parked long enough for Level 1 to catch up. It can also make it easier to replenish after a high-mileage day. The decision should still account for the vehicle’s maximum AC charging capability: equipment with a higher output rating cannot make a car accept more power than its onboard charging system allows.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

AFDC’s indicative values—2–5 miles of range per hour for Level 1 and 10–30 miles per hour for Level 2—help compare the general scale of the options. Treat them as orientation, not a calculation for your particular car. Consult vehicle specifications and charging-equipment specifications before choosing an output level.

Check these factors before settling on a level

  • Daily energy use: Estimate the driving you need to replenish on a normal day, including occasional longer days that affect your routine.
  • Parking time: Consider how many hours the car is actually parked at home and whether charging can happen overnight.
  • Vehicle capability: Check the vehicle’s AC charging limit and the manufacturer’s instructions for its cordset or charging connection.
  • Electrical capacity: Have a qualified electrician assess whether the home can support the circuit you want.
  • Installation location: Decide whether the unit will be indoors or outdoors, and confirm any outdoor equipment is rated for that use.
  • Electricity price at charging time: Check whether your utility charges different rates by time of day or offers an EV-related rate or incentive.

How to estimate home EV charging costs

Use your own electricity price and vehicle consumption rather than treating a national or agency example as your bill. The basic relationship is energy used multiplied by the rate charged for that energy. For a charging session, use the kWh drawn from the home meter if you can measure it; for a trip or a mile, use the vehicle’s energy consumption figure and the distance driven.

Rank #2
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Calculate the cost of a charging session

Session cost = kWh drawn from the home meter × applicable electricity price per kWh.

For instance, if a home charging session draws a known quantity of energy, multiply that quantity by the applicable price on the utility bill for the hours when charging occurred. The bill’s price may not be a single flat rate: the applicable amount can depend on the utility plan and time of day. A charger’s display or a vehicle app may report energy delivered to the vehicle rather than the exact amount drawn at the meter, so know what the measurement represents before using it as a precise billing figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Calculate trip cost and cost per mile

Trip cost = (vehicle consumption in kWh per 100 miles × miles driven ÷ 100) × electricity price per kWh.

Cost per mile = vehicle consumption in kWh per 100 miles ÷ 100 × electricity price per kWh.

Use the consumption figure for your vehicle and the electricity rate that applies during charging. If the vehicle’s reported efficiency changes with driving conditions, the estimate will change too. For a trip calculation, the distance and consumption figure need to refer to the same units; the formula above assumes consumption is expressed per 100 miles.

Rank #3
Sale
EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger J1772 40A NEMA 14-50 - 240V Wall Charging Station
  • WORKS WITH EVERY NON-TESLA EV: Standard J1772 connector plugs straight into Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Kia, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Audi, Rivian, Lucid and every other EV or plug-in hybrid sold with a J1772 port - no adapter needed. Tesla drivers can charge too, using the J1772 adapter that comes with the car.
  • PLUG IN, NO HARDWIRING: Level 2 charger delivers up to 40A to fully charge most EVs overnight. Plugs into a 240V, 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet (the RV/range type - NOT a dryer outlet) on a dedicated 50A circuit. The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway. Before ordering, check your car's port type and that you have the right outlet.
  • CONTROL & SAVE FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start/stop charging, set speed (6-40A), get reminders, and track energy use and cost. Schedule off-peak overnight charging to cut your electric bill. Requires 2.4 GHz WiFi.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

AFDC’s home-charging page illustrates the calculation with electricity at 10.7 cents per kWh and vehicle consumption of 27 kWh per 100 miles. Those inputs produce about $0.03 per mile: 27 ÷ 100 × $0.107 = $0.02889. The 10.7-cent rate is an example on the agency page, not a current universal residential price.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Do not treat battery capacity as exact meter usage

Battery capacity can provide a rough way to think about a large recharge, but the energy stored in the battery is not necessarily identical to the electricity drawn from the home meter. AFDC gives an example of a 54 kWh battery at the same illustrative 10.7-cent-per-kWh rate, yielding about $6 for a fully depleted battery (54 × $0.107 = $5.78, rounded). That is a worked example, not a guaranteed full-charge bill. Use metered energy for a more direct session-cost estimate when available.

Find the rate that actually applies to charging

Check the rate schedule for your own residential utility account. If the plan uses time-of-use pricing, the rate during overnight charging may differ from the rate during daytime hours. Some utilities offer time-of-use rates or other charging incentives, but availability and terms vary by location.

A simple monthly bill total divided by household kWh can mislead when the account includes tiered rates, fixed charges, demand charges, or a special overnight rate. For a charging-cost estimate, identify the marginal price associated with the additional electricity used to charge at the relevant time. If the bill or rate schedule is unclear, ask the utility which rate applies to EV charging and whether enrollment in a time-of-use plan changes other parts of the bill.

What to check before installing Level 2 equipment

Do not buy equipment or modify wiring until you know what the vehicle supports and what the home can safely supply. A qualified electrician can assess electrical capacity and determine whether a new circuit or other work is needed. AFDC advises that installation follow applicable state and local codes, and notes that permits may be required. It points to National Electrical Code Article 625 as containing much of the guidance relevant to charging equipment.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter
  1. Confirm the vehicle requirements. Check the owner’s manual or manufacturer specifications for AC charging capability and compatibility with the proposed equipment. Match the equipment’s connection and configuration to the vehicle and installation plan.
  2. Ask for an electrical-capacity assessment. Have a qualified electrician determine whether the home can support the desired circuit and whether additional circuits or other electrical work are needed.
  3. Check local rules before work begins. Ask the local building or permitting authority and the electrician which permits, inspections, and code requirements apply to your location.
  4. Choose equipment for the installation site. AFDC recommends safety-certified equipment, such as ENERGY STAR-labeled products. For an outdoor location, confirm the equipment is rated for outdoor use.
  5. Get a site-specific installation estimate. Ask the contractor to account for circuit work, wiring distance, any service upgrades, labor, permits, and the intended equipment configuration.
  6. Check utility rates and incentives. Before estimating long-term operating cost, confirm the current rate plan and any local utility program that applies to your account.

AFDC’s consumer page describes residential Level 2 equipment as typically costing $500–$4,000 before installation and incentives. This is an indicative equipment range, not an installed-price quote. The total depends on the equipment and the work at the property; wiring distance, service upgrades, labor, permits, and location can change the installation total. Obtain estimates based on your own site rather than extrapolating from the equipment range.

Plan outdoor charging correctly

Outdoor home charging is an option when the charging equipment is rated for outdoor use. AFDC states: “Outdoor installations require outdoor-rated equipment.” Its consumer guidance considers outdoor charging safe, including in rain, when the equipment is outdoor-rated. Confirm the rating for the specific equipment and follow its installation instructions; an indoor-rated unit is not made suitable for outdoor use by placing it under a cover.

Avoid assuming adapters or wiring changes are interchangeable

Connector compatibility, electrical ratings, and installation details depend on the specific vehicle and equipment. The fact that an adapter or extension cord physically fits does not establish that it is approved for continuous charging or safe for a particular circuit. Follow model-specific manufacturer instructions and get qualified installation guidance rather than relying on a universal rule about adapters, extension cords, or wiring modifications.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Check incentives without assuming eligibility

AFDC’s tax-credit guidance page, accessed in 2026, states a credit of 30% of eligible charging-port, essential-component, and installation costs, capped at $1,000. That figure is not a determination that a particular homeowner or installation qualifies. Eligibility can depend on the property, taxpayer, and rules in effect when the work is done, and tax-credit provisions can change.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Before including a credit in your budget, verify current IRS and DOE guidance and check whether your utility or local government has a separate program. Confirm the rules for your own project and tax situation before relying on a potential credit to reduce the amount you will pay.

Best Value
Sale
Tesla Level 2 Charger NACS 48A - Hardwired 240V Wall Level 2 EV Charger
  • WORKS WITH EVERY TESLA + OTHER EVs: Built-in Tesla-style plug (NACS standard) connects directly to Tesla Model S, 3, X and Y - and any EV with a NACS port - no adapter needed. The plug even has a button to pop open your Tesla’s charge port. Non-Tesla J1772 vehicles can charge with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter (not included). The extra-long 25 ft cable easily reaches across a garage or driveway.
  • HARDWIRED - PROFESSIONAL INSTALL: This Level 2 charger is hardwired (not plug-in), so a licensed electrician installs it per National Electrical Code. It delivers up to 48A on a dedicated 60A, 240V circuit - enough to charge most EVs fully overnight. Want more speed? Your can set DIP switches 4 and 5 to unlock 50A on a dedicated 70A circuit. Before ordering, check your car’s port type and that your electrical panel can support the circuit.
  • CONTROL FROM YOUR PHONE: A stronger built-in antenna keeps the charger online even in a garage or basement. Use the free app to start and stop charging, set the charging speed (6-48A), get reminders, and track how much energy and money each charge uses. Requires a 2.4 GHz home WiFi network.
  • SAFETY-CERTIFIED & WEATHERPROOF: Independently tested and certified (UL, ETL, FCC, Energy Star). A fully sealed IP66 / NEMA 4 housing stands up to rain, snow, heat and dust indoors or out, and internal steel shielding protects the electronics for years of reliable use.
  • GLOW-IN-THE-DARK HOLSTER: The included high-visibility holster glows in the dark so you can find and dock the plug easily at night. Holds the connector securely when not in use.

A practical decision path

If you already have a suitable outlet

Start by checking that the outlet is on a dedicated branch circuit and that the vehicle’s included Level 1 cordset is intended for it. Compare how much range or energy your normal daily driving uses with the time the car stays parked. If overnight charging covers that routine, Level 1 may be sufficient. If it regularly falls behind, gather vehicle specifications and ask an electrician about Level 2 feasibility.

If you are planning a new installation

Decide first how much charging time you need to recover your normal energy use, then check the vehicle’s AC charging limit and the proposed equipment’s output and compatibility. Have the property assessed before committing to hardware. Compare site-specific installation estimates, check permit requirements, and confirm your utility’s rate schedule. That sequence avoids selecting equipment based on a speed rating the vehicle cannot use or a circuit the home cannot support.

If you cannot yet estimate your cost

Gather three inputs: the vehicle’s consumption in kWh per 100 miles, the miles you expect to drive, and the price per kWh that applies during home charging. Use the trip formula to estimate energy cost, then refine it with measured meter usage if you want to account for the difference between energy stored in the battery and energy drawn from the home. If the utility rate varies by hour or tier, identify which rate applies rather than dividing a total monthly bill by household consumption.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Source and scope

This guide is for U.S. drivers and draws on U.S. Department of Energy Alternative Fuels Data Center consumer material on home charging, charging costs, and tax-credit guidance. The cited live pages were accessed October 9, 2026; publication years were not provided in the available page information. Electricity rates, time-of-use plans, permits, tax rules, vehicle capability, connector compatibility, and installation costs vary by location and project.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.