October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Best Affordable Electric Cars for City Driving: 2027 Bolt vs. 2026 LEAF

The 2027 Chevrolet Bolt and 2026 Nissan LEAF offer different mixes of listed price, EPA range and charging. Compare the exact trim and local price before deciding.
Entry723 Date Time4 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For U.S. shoppers focused on city driving, the 2027 Chevrolet Bolt is the clearest affordable option supported by current manufacturer information: Chevrolet lists it at $27,600 for LT and $31,600 for RS, with 262 EPA-estimated miles of range. The 2026 Nissan LEAF is a useful alternative, especially if you want more EPA-estimated range in its S+ trim, but its trim-specific price and local availability need checking. These are examples to compare—not a complete ranking of every affordable electric car.

Which affordable city EV should you start with?

Start with the 2027 Chevrolet Bolt if a low listed starting price, standard NACS charge port and included Dual Level Charger are priorities. Consider the 2026 Nissan LEAF if you want to compare several range and efficiency configurations: its S+ is rated at up to 303 miles, while its PLT+ is rated at 259 miles.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Neither vehicle’s EPA range figure guarantees that distance in city use. Actual range depends on driving conditions and other factors, and the available sources do not establish comparative real-world city efficiency, parking dimensions, ownership costs or independent crashworthiness rankings.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How do the Bolt and LEAF compare?

Vehicle and trim U.S. price information EPA-estimated range EPA-estimated efficiency Charging and cargo notes
2027 Chevrolet Bolt LT Chevrolet’s current product page lists $27,600. Its comparison page and FAQ show $28,995. GM’s launch announcement gave $29,990 including a $1,395 destination freight charge for the launch LT, and said a $28,995 LT would arrive later in the model year. These figures describe different price presentations and timing; verify the trim, destination treatment and local offer. MSRP excludes additional costs, and the dealer sets the final price. Chevrolet Bolt; GM announcement 262 miles. Chevrolet Not stated on the cited Chevrolet product page. GM estimates 25 minutes for public DC fast charging from 10% to 80%. Chevrolet lists 11.5 kW peak home charging, a standard NACS port and an included Dual Level Charger. The comparison page lists maximum cargo volume of 56.3 cubic feet. Chevrolet Bolt; Chevrolet comparison
2027 Chevrolet Bolt RS Chevrolet’s current product page lists $31,600; verify local availability and final price. Chevrolet Bolt 262 miles listed for the Bolt; the cited page does not state a separate RS range. Chevrolet Bolt Not stated on the cited Chevrolet product page. Chevrolet’s Bolt charging details apply to the model information presented; confirm RS equipment and compatibility for the specific vehicle. Chevrolet Bolt
2026 Nissan LEAF S+ Chevrolet’s comparison page lists $31,485 for the LEAF; it does not specify a trim-specific price or destination treatment. Confirm Nissan’s current local price and offer. Chevrolet comparison 303 miles. Nissan 2026 brochure 131 city / 111 highway / 121 combined MPGe. Nissan 2026 brochure Chevrolet’s comparison lists 35 minutes for 10–80% public DC fast charging and 7.2 kW peak home charging for the LEAF; Nissan’s brochure says a mobile charge cord is included. The comparison page lists 55.5 cubic feet maximum cargo volume. Chevrolet comparison; Nissan brochure
2026 Nissan LEAF SV+ Trim-specific price not stated in the cited materials; Chevrolet’s comparison lists $31,485 for the LEAF without identifying a trim. Verify with Nissan and local dealers. Chevrolet comparison 288 miles. Nissan 2026 brochure 123 city / 105 highway / 114 combined MPGe. Nissan 2026 brochure LEAF charging and cargo figures above are from Chevrolet’s model comparison and Nissan’s brochure, not independent tests.
2026 Nissan LEAF PLT+ Trim-specific price not stated in the cited materials; Chevrolet’s comparison lists $31,485 for the LEAF without identifying a trim. Verify with Nissan and local dealers. Chevrolet comparison 259 miles. Nissan 2026 brochure 110 city / 96 highway / 103 combined MPGe. Nissan 2026 brochure LEAF charging and cargo figures above are from Chevrolet’s model comparison and Nissan’s brochure, not independent tests.

The Nissan range and MPGe figures are 2026 EPA estimates by trim. Chevrolet’s comparison page supplies LEAF price and charging figures, so confirm those details with Nissan and the dealer before purchase.

#1 Best Overall
EVDANCE Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25FT Cable, ETL Listed J1772 EVSE for All EVs & PHEVs, 12A 120V/16A 240V(Black, 16A Max | NEMA 5-15&6-20(Standard Home Plug))
  • Flex Level 1 EV Charger - The EVDANCE Level 1 electric car charger is compatible with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles (North American Standard). *Tesla requires a SAE J1772 adapter.
  • Convenient to Use - This charger has both NEMA 6-20 plug for 16A 240V charging (3.68kW, 10-12 mi/h) and a NEMA 6-20 to 5-15 plug adapter for 12A 120V charging (1.44kW, 2-5 mi/h). The included bag makes it easier to carry on the go. It also has a 25ft cable length, you can use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • Check Your Outlet Type -This charger works with standard 120V NEMA 5-15/5-20 outlets (2-5 mph charging speed) and 240V NEMA 6-20 outlets (10-12 mph) . It's not compatible with NEMA 6-15/10-30/14-30/14-50/6-50 outlets – you'll need a NEMA 14-50/14-30/10-30/6-50 to 6-20 adapter (sold separately) to connect.
  • Compatible EV Models -This EV charger works with most major electric vehicles, including Ford, Chevrolet, Hyundai, Audi, Nissan Ariya, Rivian R1S, Kia, and others. However, it's not compatible with Mini Cooper Electric Hardtop,Toyota Prus Prime/Z4X/RAV4Prime, Porsche Taycan Base/4S/Turbo/Turbo S or Tesla models (Tesla requires a J1772 to Tesla Adapter, sold separately). For a full list of compatible models, check out the Full Compatibility List on our product page.
  • Indication Displays - LED display that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle.

What should you check before choosing?

  • Out-the-door price: Compare the same trim and fee treatment. Ask the dealer for a written total that includes destination, taxes, registration and dealer charges, and check current incentives and inventory.
  • Daily and occasional range: Compare the relevant trim’s EPA estimate with your regular routes and charging access. Treat the estimate as a standardized comparison, not a guarantee of actual city range.
  • Home charging: Check the vehicle’s stated peak charging rate against your electrical setup. A charger or charge cord being included does not by itself confirm that your home can support the desired charging speed.
  • Public charging: Confirm the vehicle connector, station connector and network access for routes you use. Charging time varies with the vehicle, battery and station conditions.
  • Practical fit: Check cargo space with your own regular items and assess the car’s physical fit for your parking space. The cited sources do not provide comparative parking dimensions.
  • Safety equipment: Chevrolet lists more than 20 standard safety and driver-assistance features for the Bolt. Its comparison says the Bolt has standard Rear Cross Traffic Braking, while the LEAF has an alert-only feature. This manufacturer feature comparison is not an independent crash-test ranking.
  • Recall status: Check any specific vehicle by VIN using the NHTSA recall lookup before buying.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How do Bolt charging and Tesla Supercharger access work?

Chevrolet says the Bolt has a standard NACS charge port and includes a Dual Level Charger. It lists GM Energy NACS adapters for separate purchase. A NACS port alone does not establish access to every charger: before buying an adapter, confirm that it is approved for the Bolt and intended network, and check the station’s connector and access requirements.

For public DC fast charging, Chevrolet estimates 25 minutes for the Bolt to charge from 10% to 80%. Chevrolet’s comparison page gives 35 minutes for the 2026 LEAF over the same stated percentage range. These are manufacturer figures, not guaranteed stops; vehicle, battery and station conditions affect charge time. Chevrolet also lists the Bolt at 11.5 kW peak home charging, compared with 7.2 kW for the LEAF in that comparison.

Rank #4
BETUMODA Level 1 EV Charger - 2.8 Inch LED Touch Screen, 25FT, 110V/240V
  • SAE J1772 Standard Charger: Compatible with all North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids, including Ford, Chevrolet, Nissan, BMW, Volkswagen, Hyundai, Kia, Audi, Mercedes-Benz, Rivian, Porsche, Toyota, Honda, Jeep, and GMC. Tesla vehicles can be charged with a separate SAE J1772 adapter (sold separately).
  • Adjustable Current: Choose from 8A, 10A, 13A, or 16A to match your vehicle’s charging needs.Dual Plug Compatibility,NEMA 6-20 Plug (220/240V): Delivers up to 3.84 kW/h, providing approximately 15.36 MPH charging speed at 16A.NEMA 5-15 Plug (110/120V): Supports 10A charging at 120V, offering 1.2 kW/h (around 4.4 MPH). Customizable Charging: Easily adjust current to suit different charging scenarios, giving you maximum flexibility at home or on the go
  • Hassle-Free Installation: Forget complicated setups—just plug in and go. Equipped with NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 6-20 (220V/240V) connectors, it works with any standard 110V–240V outlet. The 25-foot cable gives you the freedom to reach vehicles parked at a distance, making charging convenient anywhere.
  • Intelligent Charging: Featuring a 2.8-inch touch display, you can easily select the charging current (8A / 10A / 13A / 16A) and schedule charging with a 1–12 hour delayed start. Perfect for maximizing off-peak hours and cutting electricity costs. (Example: Set a 2-hour delay, and charging begins automatically after 2 hours.)
  • Comprehensive Safety: Designed to meet CE and FCC safety standards, this charger offers multiple layers of protection, including overvoltage, overload, short-circuit, grounding, and leakage safeguards. The durable IP65-rated waterproof housing and reinforced cable ensure reliable charging in all weather conditions, keeping your vehicle safe year-round.
Rank #3
Sale
16A Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger-ETL Certified,110V-240V Car Charger | 25FT Charging Cable, NEMA 6-20 Plug & NEMA 5-15 Adapter EV Charging Station, Backup EV Chargers for All SAE EVSE J1772 Cars
  • ✅【Fast and Efficient Charging】 The eTimxon level 2 EV charger is equipped with NEMA 6-20 Plug, supports 240V, 16A, 3.84kW output current, approximately 4x faster than 8A level 1 ev chargers, shorten the electric vehicle charging time,so you can quickly get back on the road. Perfect for those early morning commutes, last-minute errands, or spontaneous weekend getaways—your car will be charged and ready to go when you are.
  • ✅【Charge anywhere & anytime】Designed for maximum flexibility, eTimxon Level 1 & 2 EV charger features both NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 plug compatibility. Whether you're charging in your garage, at a friend's house, or at a roadside motel. NEMA 6-20 plug for Level 2 ev charging (240V, 16A, 3.84kW) and a NEMA 5-15 adapter for Level 1 ev charging (120V, 12A, 1.44kW) NOTE: In compliance with North American electrical safety standards, when use NEMA 5-15 Plug, you need to adjust the Current to 12A by manual to protecting both your vehicle and your home’s electrical system
  • ✅【Dual-Level Charging】This portable J1772 ev charger offers true dual-level compatibility. For Level 2 fast charging (240V), it comes with a fixed NEMA 6-20 plug which must be used with a dedicated NEMA 6-20 outlet. For Level 1 charging (120V), it includes a NEMA 5-15 adapter that plugs into a standard 3-prong household outlet (NEMA 5-15 receptacle).Before You Order: Please verify you have the correct outlet
  • ✅【Before Make Order】 1. This Mobile charging cable includes a fixed NEMA 6-20 plug and a NEMA 5-15 adapter. You must have access to the corresponding outlet type for the charger to work. Please confirm your outlet type before purchasing 2. You can set the current and delay time before plug in the charger into your car . 3. For an 87kWh battery pack, using the NEMA 6-20 plug (240V, Level 2) delivers a full charge in approximately 22.4 hours, while using the NEMA 5-15 adapter (120V, Level 1) takes over 60 hours for a full charge. Actual charging speed depends on your vehicle and circuit
  • ✅【Multiple protection】 When the charging temperature exceeds 158°F, our EV charging station will activate the protection function and reduce the charging power. If the temperature remains too high, charging will be temporarily suspended. once the temperature back to normal, charging will automatically resume. perfect to protect your device and car at any time.
Rank #2
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.