October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

Automotive NOR Flash Certified to ISO 26262 ASIL D: Infineon and GigaDevice

Infineon SEMPER and GigaDevice GD25/55 both make explicit automotive ASIL D claims. Learn what those claims establish—and what to verify for the exact NOR flash part in a safety-critical ECU.
Entry281 Date Time4 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Infineon SEMPER NOR Flash and GigaDevice’s GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR family are the two vendor families identified here with explicit ASIL D claims. Infineon announced on 8 May 2025 that SGS-TÜV certified SEMPER to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018; GigaDevice says its GD25/55 family is certified to ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D. Neither family-level claim alone establishes that a particular ordering code is suitable for your ECU safety case: check the exact device, certificate scope, safety documentation and integration assumptions.

Which automotive NOR flash has an ASIL D claim?

Infineon’s SEMPER NOR Flash family is a direct match: Infineon’s product information describes it as AEC-Q100 automotive qualified, ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready, and the company’s 8 May 2025 announcement says SGS-TÜV certified the family to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018. GigaDevice separately states that its GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR family is AEC-Q100 Grade 1 qualified and certified to ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D.

These are manufacturer statements about product families, not a substitute for confirming the scope of certification for a selected part. Before incorporating a device into an ASIL-D item, obtain the applicable certificate and safety documentation and verify the exact ordering code and assumptions against your system safety concept.

What does “ASIL-D ready” mean compared with “ASIL D certified”?

Do not treat the phrases as interchangeable. Infineon’s product page uses “ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready”; its later announcement, dated 8 May 2025, says SGS-TÜV certified the SEMPER family to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018. The announcement is the explicit certification statement, while “ready” describes readiness language used on the product page. For a safety case, review the certificate and its stated scope rather than relying on a headline or readiness label.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
GQ PRG-108 GQ-4X V4 (GQ-4X4) USB Universal Programmer + ADP-019 PSOP44 Adapter Support 29F400
  • GQ-4X programmer hardware and software are developed/designed by MCUmall Electronics Inc Canada
  • True USB willem and GQ are the registered trade-marks of GQ/MCUmall USA
  • This exclusive package is perfect for automative ECU chip tuning
  • Post-sales/Pre-sales technical support forum from MCUmall Canada website
  • software upgrade ************************************************************* & Multi-languages support capability: 14 languages;

AEC-Q100 qualification and ISO 26262 functional-safety certification answer different questions. AEC-Q100 concerns automotive component qualification; it does not by itself establish an ASIL capability. Likewise, a family-level ASIL claim does not prove that every density, package, interface variant or ordering code has identical certification coverage or integration assumptions.

How do the two families compare?

The figures below are manufacturer-published family-level specifications. Actual parameters, qualification coverage and limits depend on the selected part and its datasheet.

Rank #2
Washinglee V13MPPS Programming Cable Compatible for ECU EDC15 EDC16 EDC17 MED9.X ME7.X and Siemens PPD1/X, OBD2 ECU Chip Tuning Tool. Driver/APP Must Be Installed
  • Application Scenes. Washinglee V13MPPS ECU diagnostic cable is compatible for controllers including the latest drivers EDC16, EDC17, MED9.X, for Siemens PPD1 / X, EDC15, ME7. X and etc. To read and write memory of the car computer via the OBD2 diagnostic port.
  • Converter Cable. USB A to OBDII 16-pin male. Software Version: V13.02, Firmware Version: V12. Driver and APP installation is required.
  • APP and OS Supported. Compatible for MPPS V13.02. Support 32 bit Windows XP, and Windows XP sp2 is required. If your computer is running on 64 bit Windows, you can use VMware on 64 bit Windows to simulate 32 bit XP.
  • Language Supported. English.
  • Driver/APP must be installed for the cable. Made by Washinglee, provide Technical Support, including remote installation if necessary, and 1 year warranty. Scan the QR code printed on the label on the bag, you can find, download and install the Driver/APP. Also, User Manual and Driver/APP will be sent to you by Email via Amazon platform, if you didn’t receive it, please contact our engineers by Email for technical support. No CD inside the package.
Attribute Infineon SEMPER GigaDevice GD25/55 automotive SPI NOR
Safety claim Infineon says SGS-TÜV certified the family to ASIL D under ISO 26262:2018 in an announcement dated 8 May 2025; product page also says ASIL-B compliant and ASIL-D ready. GigaDevice states the family is certified to ISO 26262:2018 ASIL D; confirm certificate scope for the exact part.
Automotive qualification and temperature AEC-Q100 automotive qualified; automotive grades listed from -40°C to +125°C. AEC-Q100 Grade 1 qualified; -40°C to +125°C stated.
Density and voltage 256 Mb–4 Gb; 1.8 V or 3.0 V families. 2 Mb–2 Gb; 1.65–3.6 V.
Interfaces and read bandwidth Quad SPI, Octal xSPI and HYPERBUS variants; up to 400 MB/s read bandwidth. Standard, Dual, Quad and Octal SPI; up to 400 MB/s.
Endurance and retention Endurance Flex configurations cite up to 1+ million program/erase cycles and 25-year retention. Family materials cite 100,000 program/erase cycles and 20-year retention.
Safety mechanisms and evidence ECC, SafeBoot, data-integrity checks, interface CRC, sector protection and diagnostics are listed. Infineon identifies FMEDA, safety manual, safety case, DFA and pin-FMEA documentation. Not stated in the cited family-level material used here; request the selected part’s safety package from GigaDevice.
Availability program Infineon promotes a 10+ year availability program. Not stated in the cited family-level material used here.

Bandwidth, endurance and retention are not universal guarantees across every configuration. Check each device datasheet for the measurement and operating conditions, including any endurance partitioning or temperature dependence; the family-level figures above do not establish a common test condition between vendors.

What safety features matter when integrating NOR flash?

Fault detection and data integrity

SEMPER materials list ECC, data-integrity checks and interface CRC alongside diagnostic features. These mechanisms can help detect or manage certain memory and communication faults, but the ECU design must define which faults they cover, how faults are reported, and what the system does when one is detected. Determine whether the selected configuration’s protection applies to the stored data, transfer path, or both.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
2026 Navigation SD Card Update for Toyota - Compatible with Toyota Tacoma, Highlander, RAV4, Tundra, 4Runner, Sienna, Prius, Venza, Mirai, Corolla | Model 86271-0E077 | GPS Map for USA and Canada
  • Only Compatible With Specific Toyota models: Including 4Runner (2014-2019), Tacoma (2013-2019), Tundra (2013-2020), Sequoia (2013-2020), RAV4 (2013-2018), Corolla (2014-2019), Highlander (2014-2019), Avalon (2015-2018), Camry (2013-2017), Mirai (2016-2018), Prius (2016-2018), Prius C (2015-2018), Prius V (2015-2017), Sienna (2014-2017), and Venza (2014-2016). Important notes: It is NOT compatible with 11.6" vertical screens and does NOT fit any Lexus models!!!
  • Full Offline GPS for USA & Canada: Enjoy full GPS coverage across the entire USA and Canada without relying on cellular data. This 2025 navigation SD card features the latest road networks—including new and updated highways, interchanges, and streets—along with an extensive, up-to-date database of points of interest (POIs) such as gas stations, restaurants, ATMs, and hotels, ensuring a smarter and more reliable driving journey
  • 4-Step Hassle-Free Installation: Simply follow these 4 straightforward steps: 1. Turn off your vehicle and wait for at least 10 minutes. 2. Open the center console, locate the micro SD card slot, and remove the old card. 3. Insert our new 86271-0E077 navigation micro SD card. 4. Start your vehicle and wait approximately 10 minutes for the installation to complete successfully. Please confirm that your vehicle uses a micro SD card for its navigation system beforehand
  • VIN-Locked Authenticity & Reliable Support: For genuine, vehicle-specific performance, this SD card automatically binds to your vehicle’s VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) upon initial use, which means it cannot be reused in another car. If you encounter an "Invalid SD Card" error, please first recheck the card’s installation and compatibility with your vehicle, then try restarting the infotainment system. Our professional support team is also available to assist you with any issues
  • Nnavigation SD Card Update Please note: Map data is collected, verified, and compiled over a period of 12-18 months to ensure maximum accuracy and road safety before being released to the public. The 2026 Edition of the navigation card represents the most recent and stable dataset available on the market today. This versioning logic is consistent across the industry, including cards provided directly by dealerships

Boot and recovery behavior

SafeBoot is among SEMPER’s listed features. For a safety-critical ECU, establish how boot diagnostics interact with startup timing, image validation, fallback or recovery behavior, and the system’s safe state. Do not assume a named feature alone satisfies the ECU’s boot-safety requirements; verify its behavior and constraints in the safety manual.

Evidence for the safety case

Ask the vendor for the FMEDA, safety manual and safety case for the exact device, plus DFA and pin-FMEA evidence where available. Review the assumptions, failure modes, diagnostic coverage and integration requirements, then carry applicable assumptions into the ECU safety concept. A certificate is important evidence, but it does not replace that integration work.

Rank #4
SanDisk 256GB Extreme MicroSDXC UHS-I Memory Card - C10, U3, V30, 4K, A2, Micro SD - SDSQXA1-256G-GN6MN
  • SanDisk 256GB Extreme MicroSDXC UHS-I Memory Card - C10, U3, V30, 4K, A2, Micro SD - SDSQXA1-256G-GN6MN
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How should you select a NOR flash for an ADAS or other safety-critical ECU?

  1. Define the system target. Document the ECU safety goal, item-level ASIL and required failure metrics before choosing a memory device.
  2. Shortlist exact ordering codes. Match required density, supply voltage, interface, package and temperature grade; family names alone are not enough to establish fit.
  3. Collect part-specific evidence. Obtain the datasheet, safety manual, FMEDA, safety case and relevant qualification reports. Confirm the certificate covers the chosen ordering code and intended use.
  4. Map mechanisms to system behavior. Check ECC and CRC operation, boot diagnostics, watchdog or system-monitor integration, fault signaling and the ECU’s fault-handling response.
  5. Validate lifetime limits. Confirm endurance and retention under the intended temperature, data layout and partitioning conditions rather than applying a family headline figure to all use cases.
  6. Check supply controls. Verify traceability, product-change-notification policy and long-term supply with the authorized channel. Infineon promotes a 10+ year availability program, but confirm the terms applicable to your selected product.

Where is automotive NOR flash used?

Vendor materials identify ADAS and autonomous-driving domain controllers, instrument clusters, motor control, battery-management systems, gateways and communications systems as use cases. NOR flash can store safety-critical code, data and graphics that need to be available at power-up or during operation. The appropriate interface, density and safety mechanisms depend on the ECU’s boot sequence, access pattern and safety architecture.

Best Value
Program Super clip 5250 8pin for pro 2008
  • Program Super clip 5250 8pin for pro 2008

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.