Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The 2026 Honda Africa Twin range gives buyers more trim and transmission choices at lower published U.S. prices, while the BMW R 1300 GS lists higher output and a long roster of standard electronic and touring equipment. Which makes more sense depends first on which Africa Twin you mean: the standard model or the Adventure Sports ES, and manual or DCT.
Which Africa Twin is the right comparison?
Honda’s 2026 U.S. lineup includes the standard Africa Twin and the more touring-oriented Adventure Sports ES, each available with a manual transmission or DCT. These are meaningfully different configurations, not interchangeable versions of one spec sheet. Honda’s [2026 product page](https://powersports.honda.com/motorcycle/adventure/ africa-twin) presents the family’s positioning; its 2026 specifications release gives the trim-specific figures. The BMW reference here is the 2026 R 1300 GS, not the larger-tank R 1300 GS Adventure.
| 2026 U.S. version | Transmission | Front wheel | Fuel capacity | Starting MSRP |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honda Africa Twin | Six-speed manual | 21 inches | 5.0 U.S. gallons | $15,199 |
| Honda Africa Twin DCT | Six-speed automatic dual-clutch | 21 inches | 5.0 U.S. gallons | $15,999 |
| Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports ES | Six-speed manual | 19 inches | 6.6 U.S. gallons | $17,799 |
| Honda Africa Twin Adventure Sports ES DCT | Six-speed automatic dual-clutch | 19 inches | 6.6 U.S. gallons | $18,599 |
| BMW R 1300 GS | Gear Shift Assist Pro or Automatic Shift Assistant is listed as an option choice in packages; verify the specific configuration | Not stated in the cited BMW sources as a full configuration matrix | Not stated in the cited BMW sources | $20,395 |
Honda’s four listed prices are U.S. base MSRPs; its $775 destination charge is additional. BMW’s 2026 U.S. release lists $20,395 plus destination. Both comparisons exclude taxes, dealer charges and optional equipment. See [Honda’s listing](https://powersports.honda.com/motorcycle/adventure/ africa-twin) and BMW’s 2026 U.S. update.
Standard Africa Twin: more dirt-focused wheel setup
The standard Africa Twin uses a 90/90-21 front tire and 150/70R-18 rear tire, with a 5.0-gallon tank. Honda positions this version toward off-road use; the 21-inch front wheel is the concrete specification difference that supports that distinction. It is not proof of how the bike will perform on a particular trail.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches#1 Best Overall
- 【WHICH MODEL IS SUITABLE】Our motorcycle cover is custom-made and compatible with the Honda Africa Twin,CRF250f, CRF300l and NC750X/CB500X/XR150. Size:91.7(L)*37.8(W)*61.4(H)in.Please kindly check the Product Description prior to your purchase.
- 【WHAT IS THE MATERIALS】The motorcycle covers are made from greater 420D Oxford & Cotton Lining Fabric. which are printed with PU coating. In other words, compared with others, we provide higher density textiles and better elasticity, so the cover are durable enough and fairly thick.There is also a significant increase in water resistance, with a maximum of up to 8,000 Pa of water pressure.
- 【HOW ABOUT THE DETAILS】1. Left and right sides each have a ventilation hole, which can prevent moisture under the cover. 2.Black PU waterproof coating: UV protection, high temperature protection, preventing the interior leather and plastic from cracking and deteriorating. 3. Two full orange reflective strips to prevent collision at night and also help you find your motorcycle at a glance. 4. Anti-theft locking holes on the front wheel, perfect protection for your motorcycle, don't worry about losing your motorcycle.
- 【Windproof and Waterproof】Windproof buckle ensures the cover stays in place. Elasticized hem at the bottom prevents it from being lifted up by the wind and makes it fit more securely. Three center straps enhance the windproofness of the motorcycle cover even more, so it won't be affected even by big typhoons. waterproof pressing strip and double needle stitching to ensure that no water can drip through the seams.
- 【Heat Insulation】Add heat insulation cotton layer to the position of the exhaust pipe to prevent the cover from melting. This motorcycle cover is made of premium Oxford Fabric. Preserve your Vehicle and Paint Against All Rain,Pollen,Snow,Sun,Bird Droppings,Dust/Dirt - Approved for All Season Use. For a long-time use,it is best to put the cover back on after the engine has cooled.
Adventure Sports ES: bigger tank and different front wheel
The Adventure Sports ES switches to a 110/80-19 front tire while retaining the 150/70R-18 rear, and increases tank capacity to 6.6 gallons. Honda describes it as more suited to paved-road comfort. It also has Showa EERA electronic suspension, rather than the standard Africa Twin’s conventional Showa fork and shock.
Engine and output: BMW publishes the higher figures
Honda’s current U.S. 2026 specification release lists a 1,084cc liquid-cooled parallel twin. It does not state current-model horsepower or torque in the reviewed release, so an exact output gap cannot be established from these sources.
Rank #2
- Pretty Straight Forward Installation and Looks Nice on The Bike
- Simple Mounting onto The Original Side Stand Using Three Screws
- Enhanced Stability, Keep The Stand From Sinking Into Uneven Ground , Soft Soil and Grassa
- The Anodized Aluminum Alloy Side Stand And Stainless Steel Mounting Bracket are CNC-Milled
- The Profiled Top Of The Foot Extension Makes It Easy To Fold Out The Stand - Even With Heavy Boots
BMW lists a 1,300cc air/liquid-cooled flat twin. Its 2026 U.S. release gives 145 hp and 110 lb-ft; BMW Motorrad South Africa’s current technical page gives 107 kW at 7,750 rpm and 149 Nm at 6,500 rpm. Those are BMW figures in their respective market contexts, not a matched test against a published 2026 Honda output figure. See BMW’s U.S. release and BMW’s South African technical data.
Suspension, equipment and transmission choices
Honda: conventional or electronic suspension by trim
The standard Africa Twin uses conventional Showa suspension; the Adventure Sports ES versions list Showa EERA. Honda highlights a six-axis IMU on the standard model, and says all Africa Twin models come factory-equipped with cruise control. Equipment and accessory fitment should be checked against the exact version and model year on [Honda’s product page](https://powersports.honda.com/motorcycle/adventure/ africa-twin).
Rank #3
- Every manual is based upon a stripdown & rebuild
- 700+ pictures and diagrams of your vehicle
- Diagnose and solve problems with Haynes’ unique Fault Finder
- We only show DIY friendly techniques
- Save time and money on every job you do
BMW: substantial standard electronic and touring equipment
BMW lists Dynamic ESA, Dynamic Engine Brake Control, a 6.5-inch TFT connectivity display, matrix LED headlight, heated grips and tire-pressure monitoring as standard on the 2026 U.S. R 1300 GS. Gear Shift Assist Pro or Automatic Shift Assistant is shown as an option choice in packages, so check the individual bike’s configuration rather than assuming a particular shifting system is included. The U.S. model-year details are in BMW’s release.
Manual versus DCT is a real Honda decision
Honda’s standard transmission is a six-speed manual; DCT versions use a six-speed automatic dual-clutch transmission. This gives buyers a choice across both Africa Twin trims. BMW’s package-based shifting options make it important to compare the specific GS configuration, not only the model name.
Rank #4
- 【Precisely Applicable】The key chain key cover Compatible With AfricaTwin CRF 1100 1100L CRF 1000 1000L CRF 1000 1100 L XRV750
- 【Basic Function】The motorcycle key case cover design is exquisite and beautiful, enhances the visual appearance of the motorcycle key, and protects the key from wear. With key strap, easy to find and pick up.
- 【High-quality Material】The Key case cover is made of CNC aluminum and anodized on the surface. The key tag made of polyester fabric badge. It is durable and not easy to fade.
- 【Easy to Install】The keyring and key cover are easy to install. You only take out the internal key chip and place it to this key case shell, which will save you more time.
- 【Service Guarantee】If you have any installation and product problems after receiving the key shell case, you can contact us, we will handle the problem properly.
Price and weight: compare what the sources actually establish
The Honda range starts at $15,199 and tops out at $18,599 before its $775 destination charge. BMW lists the 2026 R 1300 GS at $20,395 plus destination. These are manufacturer list prices, not out-the-door quotes; dealer charges, taxes and chosen options can change the final cost.
Honda publishes curb weights of 510 lb for the manual standard model, 535 lb for standard DCT, 535 lb for Adventure Sports ES manual and 559 lb for ES DCT. Honda defines these as including standard equipment, required fluids and a full tank. The cited BMW sources do not establish a directly comparable official curb-weight figure, so the numbers do not support a like-for-like claim that one bike is lighter.
Which one fits your kind of riding?
- Choose the standard Africa Twin for consideration if a 21-inch front wheel, conventional suspension and the lowest listed Honda price align with your priorities.
- Consider the Adventure Sports ES if you want Honda’s larger 6.6-gallon tank and electronic suspension, and prefer its 19-inch front-wheel setup.
- Consider the BMW R 1300 GS if its published 145 hp and 110 lb-ft, plus its listed standard electronics and touring equipment, justify its higher starting price for your use.
- Compare actual configurations for transmission, optional packages, ergonomics and price; the model names alone do not settle those questions.
These specifications do not establish which motorcycle is more comfortable, handles better off-road, is more reliable or has the better transmission in real-world use. A same-day test ride and a check of the exact trim and options are the useful next steps for those judgments. Honda’s 2026 materials confirm the current lineup and specifications but do not establish a major mechanical redesign for this model year.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




