The 2024 Ford Bronco is a family of substantially different two- and four-door off-road SUVs, not one uniform specification. Engine, transmission, 4×4 system, suspension, tires, and drive modes depend on trim and equipment. Available public reliability evidence is too limited to label the model reliably good or bad, and an original MSRP is not a current used-market appraisal. For a new-old-stock or used example, verify its equipment and recall status by VIN, inspect its condition and history, and compare it with similar local vehicles.
This guide covers the full-size Bronco, not the smaller Bronco Sport.
What changes across 2024 Bronco trims?
Ford’s 2024 model-year specification sheet lists three engine choices: a 2.3L EcoBoost inline-four, a 2.7L EcoBoost V6, and a 3.0L EcoBoost V6 for the Raptor. Ford’s listed power figures for the 2.3L and 2.7L vary with fuel grade. Transmission availability, 4×4 system, suspension packages, and drive modes also differ by trim. There is no single horsepower, torque, or suspension description that applies to every Bronco.
| Configuration | What the available specifications establish | What to verify on the vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| 2.3L EcoBoost inline-four | One of Ford’s listed 2024 Bronco engines. Output varies with fuel grade; the exact output and trim assignment are not stated here. | Engine, fuel-grade rating, transmission, 4×4 system, suspension, and drive modes. |
| 2.7L EcoBoost V6 | One of Ford’s listed 2024 Bronco engines. Output varies with fuel grade; the exact output and trim assignment are not stated here. | Engine, fuel-grade rating, transmission, 4×4 system, suspension, and drive modes. |
| 3.0L EcoBoost V6 | Listed for the Raptor. Specific output and other equipment figures are not stated here. | Raptor equipment, transmission, suspension, tires, and any modifications. |
Trim names do not line up perfectly across reference pages. Ford’s specification sheet names Big Bend, Outer Banks, Wildtrak, Badlands, Heritage Limited Edition, and Raptor; Cars.com lists nine names, including Black Diamond, Everglades, and Heritage Edition. These lists are not a substitute for identifying a specific vehicle’s build. Body style and options can affect equipment, so check the VIN, factory window sticker, or build sheet rather than inferring specifications from a badge.
Choose for the way you will use it
- Daily road use: Compare the actual engine, transmission, comfort and technology equipment, body style, tire setup, and fuel use. A trim name alone does not establish that two listings have the same configuration.
- Trail use: Verify the 4×4 system, suspension package, drive modes, tires, and any installed or removed equipment. Ask for service records and details of modifications or off-road use.
- High-speed off-road use: The Raptor is the configuration in Ford’s sheet associated with the 3.0L EcoBoost V6. Check its specific equipment and condition rather than assuming every vehicle described as a Bronco has comparable hardware.
- Passenger and cargo needs: Confirm whether the vehicle is a two-door or four-door and assess its seating and cargo layout in person.
Is the 2024 Ford Bronco reliable?
The available public evidence does not support a confident model-wide verdict. Cars.com shows a 4.9/5 owner reliability rating, but its rating sample for the 2024 model consists of only eight reviews. That is a small, self-selected group of owner opinions, not a measured repair rate or a large reliability survey.
Consumer Reports describes its reliability score as based on its latest subscriber survey of 2024 Bronco owners. The accessible page information does not establish a usable score or detailed trouble-spot results. Those two sources use different methods and should not be combined into a single reliability conclusion.
Rank #2
What to check before buying
- Review maintenance and repair records, and have a qualified shop scan the vehicle for diagnostic codes.
- Look for signs of modifications or hard off-road use, and ask who performed the work.
- Inspect the top and doors for fit issues and signs of water intrusion.
- Check tire wear and condition, suspension components, and evidence of damage or uneven wear.
- Verify open and completed recalls using the vehicle’s VIN, then confirm the repair history with the seller or servicing dealer.
These are sensible checks for an individual used SUV; they should not be mistaken for proof of a particular Bronco defect rate.
What do the crash ratings and recalls tell you?
IIHS lists Good ratings applicable to the 2024 Bronco for small overlap front, the original moderate overlap front test, and the updated side test. It lists Marginal ratings for both headlight variations. Several crash-test ratings carry over from testing of earlier model years, so these are ratings IIHS applies to the 2024 model, not evidence that a 2024 example was individually crash tested.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Edmunds reproduces NHTSA ratings of 4/5 overall frontal, 5/5 driver frontal, and 3/5 rollover; its page lists the side-crash categories as not rated. These ratings use different categories and methods from IIHS results, so they are not interchangeable.
Recall campaigns can concern software and electronics as well as mechanical parts. For example, Edmunds describes a 2026 campaign involving an accessory protocol interface module that may overheat and shut down, potentially preventing the rearview-camera image from displaying. The listed remedy is a dealer or over-the-air software update. This example does not establish whether a particular vehicle is affected or whether its repair is complete.
Recall totals shown on secondary pages can conflict and can change as campaigns are added or corrected. Check the exact VIN with NHTSA or Ford and confirm that any required remedy has been completed; a model-year count is not a substitute for that check.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What is the MPG of the 2024 Ford Bronco?
Cars.com lists up to 18 mpg city and 17 mpg highway for the 2024 Bronco. That is the maximum estimate shown on its page, not a universal figure or a trim-by-trim EPA table. Actual fuel use depends on configuration and conditions, including engine, body, gearing, tires, driving style, and off-road use.
Recommended Free Tools
Best Value
- Authentic Product
- Bishko Autobooks Brand
- Individual Pack
- Bishko Autobooks Part #3518
- Brand new, never used.
Use the window sticker or vehicle records to identify the exact configuration, then compare fuel-economy information for that configuration. Do not treat a listing’s maximum figure as a promise for the specific Bronco you are considering.
How much should I pay for a 2024 Ford Bronco?
Edmunds lists a Big Bend two-door starting MSRP of about $39,630 including destination, and original starting prices by trim reaching about $90,035 for the Raptor. These are original new-vehicle MSRPs, not current asking prices or used transaction values. They provide context for how widely the new-car range varied, not a valuation for an individual used Bronco.
There is no defensible single fair price without a dated set of local comparable vehicles. Compare Bronco listings with the same trim and body style, similar mileage, equipment, condition, title and accident history, warranty status, and recall completion. Account for modifications and tire or suspension condition: a high-spec off-road vehicle may ask more, while its equipment can also raise replacement and operating costs.
Quick Recap
Before agreeing on a price
- Confirm the VIN, trim, body style, factory equipment, and any changes against the window sticker or build information.
- Compare several local listings with similar mileage, condition, equipment, and history rather than comparing only their trim badges.
- Review service, title, accident, modification, and warranty records, and complete an independent inspection.
- Check VIN-specific recalls and include fuel, insurance, tires, maintenance, and likely repair costs in your ownership budget.
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




