October DealsAmazon USOctober deal check: compare before you payAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowOctober DealsAmazon USDeal season is back - check today's better picksAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.See Picks×
Skip to content
CarCodyAdvertise
Service recordThe Garage

10 Best New Electric SUVs for First-Time Buyers (2026)

A U.S.-focused shortlist of 10 new electric SUVs, with dated price and range snapshots plus guidance on charging, trims, and what to verify locally.
Entry181 Date Time6 min MechanicCarCody Team
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

For a first electric SUV, the best choice depends on the exact trim, your charging access, and the way you use the vehicle—not just its advertised maximum range. This U.S.-focused shortlist compares 10 new electric SUVs using available 2026 guide figures and newer manufacturer details where provided. Treat prices and ranges as configuration-specific snapshots, then confirm the vehicle and terms available where you live.

How to choose your first electric SUV

Compare the exact trim and drivetrain you would buy. Range varies substantially within a model line, and an EPA estimate is not a promise of real-world distance. Weather, speed, terrain, and other conditions affect range; one Edmunds test of a 2025 Hyundai IONIQ 5 Limited AWD recorded 282 miles against that configuration’s 269-mile EPA estimate, but that single test does not predict every owner’s results.

A starting MSRP is not the final local price. Destination charges, dealer inventory, incentives, financing, and state availability can change what you can actually buy. Plug In America’s February 2026 guide is a price-sorted sample, not a tested ranking, and warns that availability and specifications can change. Use the list below as a shortlist, not a universal verdict.

  • Range: Match the EPA estimate to the precise trim and drivetrain.
  • Charging: Check connector compatibility, network access, and charging speed for your model year and regular routes.
  • Fit: Try the rear seat, child-seat installation, and cargo area with your passengers and luggage.
  • Technology: Confirm phone integration and driver-assistance equipment; features differ by vehicle.
  • Home charging: Consider whether your home can support charging and what installation would involve. Home charging is useful for many owners, but not every buyer has the same setup.

10 electric SUVs to consider

Plug In America’s February 2026 guide provides a consistent snapshot of starting prices and range spans for these candidates. Those figures cover different trims and drivetrains, so they are not like-for-like comparisons. Newer manufacturer details are included where available; verify the configuration and current local offer before deciding.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
#1 Best Overall
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Fast Charger, J1772, Smart, Hardwired, 50A
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations.
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features. Note: WiFi is needed for certain functionalities and troubleshooting steps if connectivity issues arise.
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations.
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable.
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and requires a 20A or 80A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter.
Model Plug In America guide snapshot (Feb. 2026) Useful current detail
Chevrolet Equinox EV $34,995 starting price; 307–319 miles For 2026, Chevrolet lists EPA estimates of 319 miles FWD and 307 miles AWD, with a $34,995 starting price.
Hyundai IONIQ 5 $35,000 starting price; 245–318 miles The cited May 2025 comparison gives the 2025 model’s estimated range span and discusses Supercharger access for its NACS-style port; confirm year-specific access and network rules.
Toyota bZ $34,900 starting price; 236–314 miles Toyota renamed the extensively updated vehicle from bZ4X to bZ for 2026. The cited June 2026 comparison reports up to 314 EPA-estimated miles for FWD.
Subaru Solterra $38,495 starting price; 278–288 miles Not stated in the cited sources beyond the guide snapshot.
Ford Mustang Mach-E $37,795 starting price; 240–320 miles Not stated in the cited sources beyond the guide snapshot.
Kia EV6 $42,900 starting price; 237–319 miles Kia lists up to 319 EPA-estimated miles for 2026 GT-Line RWD and 270 for GT-Line AWD. The cited May 2026 pricing announcement describes price repositioning but does not establish a current trim price here.
Tesla Model Y $39,990 starting price; 294–357 miles Different 2026 configurations have different estimates: the cited May 2025 comparison reports 327 miles for Long Range AWD, while a June 2026 comparison gives up to 357 for Premium RWD.
Honda Prologue $47,400 starting price; 283–308 miles Honda’s 2026 page lists EX from $39,900 and Touring from $44,200; EPA range is 308 miles for 2WD and 294 for AWD.
Volkswagen ID.4 $45,095 starting price; 253–291 miles Volkswagen lists the 2026 Pro at $45,095 starting MSRP and 291 EPA-estimated miles.
Volvo EX30 $40,345 starting price; 227–261 miles Not stated in the cited sources beyond the guide snapshot.

Chevrolet Equinox EV: a price-and-range starting point

Chevrolet’s 2026 page lists a $34,995 starting price and EPA-estimated range of 319 miles for front-wheel drive or 307 miles for all-wheel drive. It also lists more than 20 standard safety and driver-assistance features. A notable interface trade-off: Chevrolet says Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are not equipped. Consider whether the vehicle’s built-in system suits your phone habits before you buy.

Hyundai IONIQ 5: compare model year and charging access

The cited figures for the 2025 IONIQ 5 span 245 to 318 miles, depending on configuration. In one Edmunds test reported by the Associated Press, a 2025 Limited AWD traveled 282 miles against its 269-mile EPA estimate. The same comparison described the model’s NACS-style port as enabling charging at most Tesla Superchargers. Connector access and network rules can vary by model year and location, so check the precise vehicle and route before relying on that access.

Rank #2
Sale
ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger J1772 - NEMA 14-50 Plug
  • Charge with Confidence: ChargePoint builds reliable, flexible EV charging stations for home, business, and fleets. Get 24/7 support and access to hundreds of thousands of North American charging locations
  • Charge Smart: With the user-friendly ChargePoint Mobile App, you can control your electric car charger, manage reminders, connect to smart home devices, find stations, get data and charging info, and access the latest features
  • Vast Network: Wherever you go, ChargePoint’s network includes 274k+ stations across North America and Europe and 565k+ roaming partner stations
  • Safe & Durable: Rely on this UL-certified EV charger for safe home charging. It can be installed indoors or outdoors by an electrician and includes a cold-resistant cable
  • Fast & Powerful: This EV charger charges 9× faster than a 120V outlet, delivering up to 45 mi/hr., dependent upon your vehicle. It features a J1772 connector for all non-Tesla EVs and plugs into a 240V outlet with a 14-50 receptacle, requiring a 40A or 50A circuit. For Tesla EVs, this will require an adapter

Toyota bZ: look at the updated 2026 model

Toyota’s 2026 model is called bZ rather than bZ4X after an extensive update. The cited June 2026 comparison reports up to 314 EPA-estimated miles for FWD and a $36,495 starting price at that time. Because price and availability can change, confirm the current trim and dealer offer rather than assuming that figure applies to every bZ.

Subaru Solterra: a guide-listed candidate

Plug In America’s February 2026 guide lists a $38,495 starting price and range of 278–288 miles. The cited material does not establish current manufacturer trim details, equipment, or charging specifications, so verify those items for the model year and version on offer.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #3
VDLPOWERVP Level 1&2 EV Charger, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 20FT Cable, 3.5KW 16Amp Home EV Car Charging Station, 110V-240V NEMA 6-20 & NEMA 5-15 Plug Adapter, for All SAE J1772
  • 【Efficient Charging】VDLPOWERVP level 2/level 1 EV charger is equipped with NEMA 6-20 Plug(220V/240V), it offers 16A current and up 3.5kW output. Two charging options, low current charging can effectively reduce battery wear and prolong service life. Choosing to connect the conversion line for charging can realize a full day's commute mileage in one night.
  • 【Level 1 & Level 2 EV Charger Adapter】This portable ev charger is equipped with NEMA 6-20 plug (Level 2, 240V, 16A) and NEMA 5-15 adapter (Level 1, 110V, 12A), you can connect our electric vehicle chargers to a standard household socket or a dedicated industrial socket, use it flexibly from anywhere in the garage or driveway.
  • 【Intelligent Charging-Durable and Safe】The intelligent chip design of its control box can keep monitoring the charging status at any time, provides multiple safety protections such as lightning protection and leakage protection. This electric vehicle charger is made of premuim and sturdy materials and is FCC certified. EV Control box is IP65 waterproof and dustproof.
  • 【Easy Charging and Indication Displays】Just connect to the outlet and the car, the ev charger can work properly. LED indicators that can tell you the status as well as indicate errors while charging your electric vehicle. It can help you get the charging station status information quickly.
  • 【Portable Design】The ev charger has a 20ft charge cable, which is long enough for you to charge without getting tangled.The appropriate cord length and weight allow you to easily put it in the trunk of an electric car whether you are visiting friends or renting a vacation house.

Ford Mustang Mach-E: a guide-listed candidate

The February 2026 guide lists a $37,795 starting price and 240–320 miles across the range. Those figures alone do not identify the right trim for you. Confirm current EPA estimates, drivetrain, equipment, and local price for the specific Mach-E you are considering.

Kia EV6: range depends on drivetrain

Kia lists up to 319 EPA-estimated miles for the 2026 EV6 GT-Line RWD and 270 for GT-Line AWD. These are different configurations, not a single range guarantee for every EV6. Kia’s May 2026 announcement describes price repositioning but does not provide a current trim price in the cited material; check the live listing or a local dealer quote.

Rank #4
NexCyber Level 2 EV Charger(WiFi APP/Plug-Play), 48A Nema 14-50p, 25ft Cable ETL Certified, Home Level 2 EVSE Car Charger w/ J1772 Connector, Electric Vehicle Charging Stations (46)
  • [Up to 9x Faster Charging Speed]: Provides up to 46 miles/hour charging speed via hardwired connection (48 amp - up to 9x faster than a standard wall outlet) or up to 38 miles/hour via the NEMA 14-50 plug (40 amp). Professional installation recommended for optimal safety and performance. [Install The Power Outlet Cord]: No smaller than 8AWG if charge 40-48A, we suggest 6AWG cord.(1.The input side is belongs to the electrician electric automobile regulation scope, need to use three 6AWG cable wires for 48A; 2.The charging cable belongs to the automotive connector certification standard, so the 8AWG cable can meet the 48A.)
  • [DESIGNED WITH J1772 Connector for All North America j1772 Connector EVs/PHEVs. Not fits for Tesla/Nacs Connector Cars(j1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]: Compatible with Tesla cars (Adapter needed, not included), Ford, GM, Audi, Kia, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, Gmc, Chevrolet Bolt, VW ID 4, Nissan Leaf, Ford Mustang Mach-E, IONIQ 5 2024 and before, BMW i3, i4, iX, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, etc. [Not fits for Nac connector cars-Kia EV6 2025/EV9,Ariya 2025&2025 loniq 5(J1772 to Tesla adapter needed)]
  • [Safety & Faster Charging with ETL, FCC, Energy Star Certified]: Meets the Safety Criteria Defined by: SAE J1772, UL2231-1/-2, UL 991, UL 2231, UL 2251, UL1998 and UL 2594. (ETL and FCC certified EV car charger with 3-year Warranty)
  • [Plug-play Mode(The Default Setting), Smart Touch Screen, No APP Needed]: Clearly show the charging amperage, charging speed, input voltage, delay time, etc. For the touch buttons: 1. Pull out the charging gun before press the buttons, otherwise no respond; 2. Long press "Ⓐ" or "Time" button to enter the setting interface, then you can adjust the amperage from 16A to 48A freely or Set the charging start time; 3. You can do "factory reset" if doesn't charging.
  • [Smart WIFI APP, You can Set the Charging Period]: By APP, you can wirelessly check the charging cost, history, fully-charged notification, track the charging status, during off-peak period, etc. [Wi-Fi Reset/Factory Reset Function, Add New Device Quickly]: If you can't find your device or you have replaced a new phone, just pull out the charging latches, simultaneously long press the Ⓐ button and time adjustment button on the product screen until it shows "Factory Reset", then wait 3-5 seconds and re-start your device.

Tesla Model Y: distinguish the trim figures

The range figures cited for the 2026 Model Y refer to different configurations and dates: 327 EPA-estimated miles for Long Range AWD in a May 2025 comparison, and up to 357 for Premium RWD in a June 2026 comparison. Do not treat either maximum as the range for every Model Y. The cited comparisons highlight charging-network convenience, space, and technology, while noting that Apple CarPlay and Android Auto are not available.

Honda Prologue: check 2WD versus AWD and connector needs

Honda lists 2026 EX from $39,900 and Touring from $44,200, with EPA estimates of 308 miles for 2WD and 294 for AWD. Honda says DC fast charging can add approximately 65 miles in 10 minutes under its stated conditions; actual charging depends on the vehicle, charger, and conditions. Honda describes Level 2 as a home-charging option. For the NACS charging-port access described by Honda, a NACS-to-CCS adapter is required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Best Value
VEVOR Level 1&2 EV Charger, 16 Amp, Electric Vehicle Portable Charger with 25 ft Charging Cable, 120V-240V, NEMA 6-20P Plug NEMA 5-15 Adapter, LED Indicator, Home Car Charging Station for SAE J1772 EV
  • Universal J1772 Compatibility: Compatible with multiple electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles. This level 1/2 EV charger features a 25 ft cable, easily reaching across driveways or garages. Ideal for home with multiple EVs or shared charging stations
  • Charge Securely Every Time: Equipped with an intelligent chip, this portable EV charger provides complete protection from surge, leakage, grounding, overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, overheating, and overcharging
  • Portable & Ready to Go: Take this level 1&2 EV charger anywhere with the carrying bag. Plug into a NEMA 6-20 outlet or use the included NEMA 5-15 adapter for flexible use. 25 ft cable is a go-to choice for multiple driveways or garages
  • Clear LED Indicators: Stay informed at a glance. Our J1772 electric car charger is built with LED indicators, clearly showing charging status and alerting you to any issues immediately. You're always in control of your charging experience
  • Built for Harsh Weather: Designed for tough outdoor conditions, the control box features an IP66 waterproof rating. This portable electric vehicle charger ensures you can charge with peace of mind in any environment

Volkswagen ID.4: note the membership terms

Volkswagen lists a 2026 ID.4 Pro starting MSRP of $45,095 and EPA-estimated range of 291 miles. Its page also lists standard IQ.DRIVE and a 12.9-inch touchscreen, plus a two-year Electrify America Pass+ membership with Plug&Charge. Check the current membership terms and coverage rather than assuming they apply unchanged to every purchase or location.

Volvo EX30: a shorter-range option in this guide snapshot

The February 2026 guide lists a $40,345 starting price and 227–261 miles. The cited sources do not establish current trim-level manufacturer details for the EX30, so check the exact vehicle’s EPA range, equipment, and availability before adding it to a final comparison.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How to narrow the shortlist

  1. Set your real driving requirement. Use your typical day and longest regular trips to decide what range is sufficient; compare the specific trim’s EPA estimate rather than a model’s maximum.
  2. Check charging where you actually drive. Confirm compatible connectors, network access, and available charging stops on frequent routes. For home charging, assess the electrical setup and installation requirements before buying equipment.
  3. Price the same kind of vehicle. Compare the trim, drivetrain, destination charge, and included equipment you want. Ask a local dealer for a current out-the-door quote and check applicable incentives.
  4. Test the practical details. Bring the people, child seats, or luggage you need to fit. Check the driver-assistance features and smartphone interface in the actual vehicle.

Sources and price context

The broad candidate and price snapshot comes from Plug In America’s Electric Vehicle Guide, dated February 2026. Its listed vehicles are not available in every state, and prices and range figures can change. Manufacturer details come from the cited Chevrolet Equinox EV, Honda Prologue, Volkswagen ID.4, and Kia EV6 pages. Model comparisons and dated trim details are reported in the Associated Press/Edmunds coverage of the IONIQ 5 and Model Y and Toyota bZ and Model Y.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More from the Garage

  1. Entry001Date09 OCT 26Time3 minWhich Brake Pad Should You Buy From RockAuto or Elsewhere?Section: Blog
  2. Entry002Date09 OCT 26Time5 minThe Pros and Cons of Touchless Car Wash SystemsSection: Blog
  3. Entry003Date09 OCT 26Time3 minCan a Trickle Charger or Battery Tender Properly Charge a Car Battery?Section: Blog

Thanks for visiting Carcody

Carcody.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.co

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.